Skip to content

Reviving My Library Card

14/05/2010

I was a total and complete bookworm in my earlier years…heck until about 2 years ago I was a book-worm.  Like a lot of bloggers lately I’ve been thinking about books….lots and lots of books. And yesterday helped solidify my need to get back to reading.



While Hunni and I had about half an hour to kill before picking up our tickets for the ballet Wednesday we decided to wander down the street.  Then Hunni saw this interesting alley he wanted to go down.  I’m not one to normally wander down random alleys but then I saw this sign.

Mecca!

I love the smell of old books…my grandma had a great collection of them and I loved the smell of helping her move them.  Kind of like the old collections in the library.  And this place was no different.  It was full of shelves upon shelves of great books both young and old.

Just a smattering of the joy.

And there were all sorts of fun little quotes everywhere related to reading and books that I could have just spent the day looking a just them.

My favorite of them!

And there was all sorts of fun decor like a cute chair in front of a working fireplace to just enjoy the ambiance of the store.

Lined with books 🙂

And my favorite part of this store was the resident kitty cat.  I am allergic to cats but love playing with them from time to time.  And this one was chasing around little scraps of paper and playing with his feather wand.

Such a cute kitty and definitely ruled the shop.  After browsing for almost too long (we still had to pick up our tickets) we settled on two books and vowed to go back the next time we are exploring Boston.  I was a bit sad to have to leave it in Boston as I drove home to the Berkshires.



But then I remembered we have our own little gem of a library here in North Adams.  Our library is the former mayor’s mansion and is gorgeous.

And they have all sorts of cool things like a message board for local events and a puzzle table to just hang out 🙂

And I love to grab one of the many magazines they have and read them.  Who needs to subscribe to everything when you can just read them at the library.

Tons to choose from.

And the best place to read them is in the formal sitting room that has an amazing fireplace and chandelier.  Makes me feel like I’m living in the days when this was a house and I can enjoy the silence to just read.  Sometimes I go to just relax.

Outdoors is just as beautiful with a cool bench to sit and read, a bike rack that I fully intend to use as I ride to make use of my library card this summer, and other beautiful things to decorate like a really old rock and a stained glass window listing all the donors.

All of that alone is enough to just want to go visit and take in this little piece of North Adams history.  Such is the beauty of small towns.  But today was even better because I was armed and ready to take back my book-worm status.  Jenna posted a summer reading list a few days back and I was ready to go be a good student and start my summer reading early.

The List!

I had looked up the titles because the one fault in Jenna’s list was not many of the authors were listed.  So I spent a few minutes on the computer looking up the authors to make sure my trip was efficient.  And unfortunately my library didn’t have some of the books.  But I found most of them.

I’m scared of Beloved after hearing how horrible the Oprah movie was.  But I’m willing to give it a chance sometime soon.  I like good recommendations…actually it is the only way I choose books.

I’d heard of these two but never actually pulled the trigger on reading them.  But I know that Jenna is right and I need to read the Kite Runner first.   And I should trust Oprah on this one and finally read The Poisonwood Bible…yes I did hear about it years ago on her book club.

Yes this is the same book.  It must be good if my library has two copies of it.  And after looking at these two covers who wouldn’t want to read it. 🙂



But alas I made my choice and left…wait a second and I’ll tell you…you can wait a minute can’t you 🙂  These little babies took me to my next errand stop today.

Rocking the pink.

These babies serve me well in a small town to get around on a regular basis.  I love walking my little town and some day I’ll show you around.  But today they took me here.

The GYM!

I’m working on getting my mojo back still so I took my book and headed off to the gym.  I figured it would be a great time to start my new book.  And the book I chose was….

The American Wife!

After Jenna’s glowing recommendation and the fact that she flew through it I knew it would be a great place to start.  And so far I find her to be absolutely correct because I read for over an hour while walking at 3.5 mph and at 2.0 incline.  This is no small feat because I’ve been forcing myself to just make it to half an hour walking.  I miss running desperately and get really bored just walking.  I’ll have to step it up with some walking programs I have but until then this book will be a great distraction.



But I have an addiction to multitasking and had to get two books.  I used to be able to read several at a time.  I don’t know if I’m as talented now but I did pick this up.

Perfect!

I have lots of long drives weekly (see the 3 hour trip to the ballet the other day and multiple trips to Albany) so I already finished 2 CD’s today.  And it is so hilarious.  Hunni and I were dying laughing during the ride.  Why didn’t I read this sooner.



So like any good student I’m already ahead on my summer reading and I intend on getting it done early and even going for extra credit 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/05/2010 6:59 AM

    I absolutely LOVE the library and books!

    I recently just got my library card after living in my town for over a year. I’m sad I waited so long!

    I love having access to all those books for FREE! 🙂

    I’ll have to check out some of the recommendations you made here and I’ll give Jenna’s list a look. I need some good summer reading.

    I picked up Committed by Elizabeth Gilbert the other day. I’m already in love with it, but I knew I would be since her book Eat, Pray, Love is one of my faves.

    Alright…I’m rambling now! Enjoy your books!! 🙂

    • 14/05/2010 8:49 PM

      I was happier to get my library card as a kid than I was to own a book. All those books for FREE!

      I want to read Eat, Pray, Love too.

  2. Toby permalink
    15/05/2010 11:02 PM

    LOVE the library. Right now I’m reading (and loving, even though it feels weird to “like” this book since it is disturbing) The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood (from the library, of course). Highly recommend. I need to get another audiobook going too since I just finished one.

    FWIW, I read A Thousand Splendid Suns and have yet to read Kite Runner. I don’t think they’re a series, even though they’re by the same author.

    • 16/05/2010 7:01 PM

      Aww thanks Toby. It is hard to like a disturbing book but if it is well written it is hard not to.

  3. 27/07/2010 1:37 AM

    I have so many books and never take the time to read them! Damn technology lol.

    • 27/07/2010 11:11 AM

      I used to be like that and then I realized I missed it. So now I try to turn off the computer at least half an hour early to so I can read. I don’t finish them as fast as I used to but I love it.

Trackbacks

  1. Where Did the Time Go? | It All Changes
  2. Potato & Pea Coconut Curry | It All Changes
  3. Prior Proper Planning + Goals « It All Changes
  4. Stop Global Whining « It All Changes
  5. Big and Small Scale Goals « It All Changes
  6. Speed Reader « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

