Skip to content

Anything You Can Do…

12/05/2010

Many years before I met Hunni he was really into weight lifting.  He got picked on a lot so he started weight lifting in his early teens to make himself look bigger and fight back.  It served him well because he was on the football team and even did some amateur wrestling…you know WWE style.  But he broke his elbow in his early 20’s and gave up on it because he couldn’t lift the heavy weights.



When I started losing weight I thought that strength training was counter productive.  I wanted to shed pounds and not bulk up.  I had visions of those crazy Ms. Olympia ladies and I didn’t want to be one of them.

No thank you.

Nope I wanted to shed the flabby bits but not add the muscle ones.  I was under the impression that women would gain muscle the same way that men did…and I am not a man.



But then my weight loss stalled when I had lost about 80 pounds and I needed to tone up.  I wanted to lengthen and stretch them so I tried Pilates.  And try as I might I couldn’t even do a roll up.  that was a big fail.  So I reluctantly began lifting weights.  But I used those pretty pink ones in my gym.  You know the ones that only go up to about 8 pounds.  I read up a lot on proper form and did my best.  But it never really did much.



I got away from strength training except for the few moves that all my Physical Therapists recommended figuring they knew best.  And then a good friend of mine recommended a book that might help me strengthen all over and not just my hips from tendonitis or my back after surgery.  So today I bought this…

Can I have those shoulders please!?

I tweeted MizFit this morning to see if the queen of lifting herself recommended it and she did so I was happy to give it a try.  I’ll admit like she does that the tag line of “Lift Like a Man, Look Like a Goddess” put me off.  I’m just looking to look strong not like a goddess and why must the plan be a man’s plan…women are strong a powerful too.  But I like the idea of having plans to use and some meal plans as well to help out with the process.



So far I’m liking the chapters I’ve read.  I like that he debunks the words “tone”, “shape”, and “sculpt.”  Muscles need to be built…that’s why its call body building.  Even though that is a scary concept for women (see my fear above).  I like that the author is honest that it will be work instead of just a quick flash in the pan that I can run in and run out of the weight room.  And I like the results description for how women build muscle.  I’m looking forward looser pants and better fitting dresses.



I am woman hear me roar…but I have the same kind of muscle fibers as my cute Hunni so I can and will build muscles.  And these muscles I’m intending to build will help me well into my older years…not that I intend on getting there anytime soon…I’m only 28.  But I’ve got to do something because if I keep doing what I’m doing I’m going to get what I have always got…nothing.



But I love the bonus of being a woman.  I can do anything that a boy can do even if I don’t get the same results because of my lower testosterone.  But I also have the ability to recover faster.  Which I will say I have totally experienced.  Hunni and I both ran the same 5K on Thanksgiving and he was tired and sore for days after barely able to move and I was up and at ’em the next day.  And As if we didn’t know women experience less soreness than men post exercise.  I may feel pretty sore for the first day or two but it will dissapate while you poor boys will be sore for days after and be much more dramatic about it.  Kind of like when Hunni gets sick and it is the worst thing ever even if it is just the flu.



So this is my current reading (at least until I get to the library tomorrow for a “real” book) and I’m enjoying it.  I need to get in some strength and I want some muscles.  Here’s hoping I’m a quick learner and can adapt the meal plan for a vegetarian diet much like Mama Pea has adpated Body for Life to her vegan lifestyle.  I may be emailing her for some tips.



How do you feel about strength training?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenna permalink
    12/05/2010 7:03 AM

    As you know, I’m a HUGE proponent of weight lifting. I went heavy and low, and never built huge muscles. I LURVED NROL4W, as well as NROL (the original, for men…Lou got a lot of e-mail from women about the original, and decided to then customize the whole thing to us). There are some great workout plans in there, and Lou’s writing style is funny and engaging. I blew through the book in under two days, because I just couldn’t put it down. Love, love, love!!!

    Let me know if you have any questions on it when you get further in. 🙂

    • 13/05/2010 10:07 AM

      Thank Jenna! I remembered you talking about it before which prompted me to look into it. His style is hilarious so I’m flying through it too.

  2. Brandi permalink
    12/05/2010 8:53 AM

    I love doing it, but unless we belong to a gym (which we don’t), it’s really hard for me to make myself do it.

    I fell in LOVE with Bodypump when we had our gym membership last year, and I could really tell a difference in my body.

    • 12/05/2010 9:57 AM

      I hear so much about body pump that I really want to move near a place with a gym that has it. I’m hoping this will be a place holder until that happens.

  3. 12/05/2010 3:51 PM

    I’ve heard of that book and I’d like to read it as well. Off to Amazon for me!

  4. 12/05/2010 5:54 PM

    It still scares me. Because these wing things on my shoulders get big pretty quick. O.o

    I love Pilates, though. And it does help give my body a nice shape. It took me several weeks to finally get my heavy body do a roll up, but I did it. (It gets easier when you finally start losing weight. And when your body becomes stronger and more flexible.)

  5. 13/05/2010 1:39 AM

    Actually, I HATE strength-training…I prefer sweating it out by running, but I’ve always been a wimp when it comes to weight! Interesting perspective on the difference between males and females in muscles, though!

    • 13/05/2010 10:05 AM

      I’m a wimp too but my back needs strength so I don’t end up back on a surgery table so soon.

Trackbacks

  1. Through His Eyes « It All Changes
  2. Prior Proper Planning + Goals « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

