Skip to content

I’m a Puzzle

11/05/2010

Sometimes I feel like a big riddle or puzzle.  You know “Riddle me this, Riddle me that…who’s afraid of the big black bat?”  Anyone remember Jim Carrey from the 90’s?  No maybe its just me.

Only I can't bend my knee like that 😀

But lately I’ve felt like a big puzzle to Boot Camp Steve.  I went in for pain behind my left knee.  And during the first appointment he determined that the pain was actually a combination of pain in my ligaments and my calf.  Okay good right we have an idea of where the pain is so we can fix it.  He gave me exercises and sent me home to do them until my next appointment.  The only restriction on cardio he gave me was no running.  I can do this.  I’m a rule follower and will do what you tell me.  I always did my homework in school and people tried to copy.  Peanut and Leo weren’t too keen on copying this homework.

Momma you look nuts.

But it hurt…alot!  I had to take some medication and spend a good bit of the evening after Steve’s tutorial laid up on the couch with ice on my knee.  So when I saw him this we and he asked how I was I told him the truth…”That HURT!  A LOT!”  Not words he’s used to hearing from me.  I am the one who does the homework and gets better quick.  So he started scratching off the exercises that hurt and went back to the drawing board.  Suddenly I was a big puzzle again.







Sure he knew where the pain was but what was causing it.  Lucky for me he had a bunch of cancellations and spent part of his lunch break figuring it out.  Did I mention I love this guy…he’s awesome!  Does this hurt..nope.  How about this…YES!  Okay and this…Nope.  And this…YES!  This went on for about 30 minutes until he figured out that the pain in my LEFT knee/calf is actually caused my RIGHT hip.  Yep you read that right.  It’s not my knee at all.  Sure the pain is there but it is due to the lack of rotation in my right hip and thus my knee over compensated for it.  So now he has to fix my pain in my knee/calf and increase the rotation in my hip to prevent it from happening again.



I asked Boot Camp Steve if he liked puzzles and he said he liked helping people but he stinks at puzzles.  He usually has trouble getting the borders together.  😀  Made me giggle.  Then I asked him why runners put ourselves through so much pain that is caused by running.  And he said it is the sport we love so much besides we are sort of masochistic for our sport…just not in the dirty way.  I guess he’s right.  I could quit running and find a new sport but I love it so much I want to keep doing it even if it means I get injured and have to go to PT a bit quite a lot.



Boot Camp Steve had all these new funky exercises for me to do and I asked him how he thought of them so quickly.  He confessed that he has the same problems and he has the philosophy of Doctor Heal Thyself in many ways.  So he kind of enjoys when I come in because it allows him to think of new stretches for himself so maybe he’ll one day qualify for Boston although I’ve already given up that dream.  I’m glad I can be of assistance to him.



So that’s just one of my big puzzles for the day because I have a pile of work and this blog post is already late.



What kind of puzzles do you have in your own life?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. MOM permalink
    11/05/2010 11:22 AM

    more yoga, ballet squats and round houses might helps

    • 11/05/2010 1:15 PM

      Thanks Momma! Steve has me doing lots of stuff like this….slowly.

  2. 11/05/2010 8:30 PM

    puzzles (real and in life!) can be so frustrating! I hate not being able to figure something out!

    • 11/05/2010 9:23 PM

      I’m usually pretty good at puzzles except when they involve myself.

  3. 12/05/2010 12:53 AM

    I think the puzzles in my life are really just my own jumbled thoughts…I probably think too much. Other than that, I don’t have a significant puzzle in my life yet.

    I hope yours get figured out!

    • 12/05/2010 9:54 AM

      I definitely think too much. That doesn’t help with the puzzles. But they are there even if some are made up.

Trackbacks

  1. I’m Not a Machine « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

