Skip to content

One Thing That Scares Me

04/05/2010

The serenity of my weekend has worn off…maybe.  I went from views like this…

Yep that's snow.

Forgot my sunglasses.

To views like this…

Burnt Popcorn :0(

At one point that was a cool souvenir popcorn thingy I bought for Hunni in North Conway but now it is a smokey burnt cob with a messy microwave.  The serenity is gone as I inhaled the fumes to get this picture.



In between I had lots of fun.  My ladies did too.







North Conway is beautiful.  I packed my Lululemon bag and explored on my free time.







Fully of reading materials for the park down town.  I got a ton of compliments on my bag.  Even the maintenance man in the elevator loved the quote “Do one thing a day that scares you.”  He asked me what mine was and I hadn’t done anything yet that day so I intended to get that in during my exploring time.



Downtown North Conway, New Hampshire is so cute.  There are a ton of little shops and cafes and a huge park surrounded by those gorgeous views you’ve already seen.  I had to stop and get lunch first because apparently the hotel we were staying at didn’t understand that just lettuce and carrots wasn’t enough for a vegetarian lunch.  I was starving for protein (especially after just fruit for breakfast).  Enter the Stairway Cafe.







Yep the cafe is up the crazy winding staircase on top of an insurance agency.  I chose to sit on the porch and enjoy the beautiful weather and the view.  The porch was small but the weather and view were worth it.







I ordered water which came in this cool bottle that made me feel like I was in a fancy restaurant and a goat cheese, spinach and roasted red peppers with a side of the best homemade applesauce ever and some rye toast.







I was starving and parched so this water bottle was drained before I left and I demolished the plate.  Not a bite was left…

So much for portion control.

Vegetarian or not I’m used to protein at every meal and after 3 meals with not a speck of beans, yogurt, tofu…nada…I was starving.  And it was good too.  No shame here.



I explored around town and got a great gingerbread latte and explored this cute little toy store full of the kind of toys I grew up with before coming upon the little general store.  I was intrigued.  As I should with all this wonderful fun.



Hunni made me promise to take him there when we go for vacation in October.  After a little more exploring and some reading I stopped in a local place appropriately called The Local Grocer in hopes of picking up some almonds I could carry for the rest of the weekend anticipating the lack of protein at the remaining meals.  At the counter they had something that made me drool and remember my need to try one thing that scared me.

Why is this scary?

Looks like a yummy chocolate dessert so it shouldn’t be scary right…wrong.  It was a maca ball.  And the idea of maca has scared me even though I’ve seen it on a ton of blogs.  But what the heck I don’t see things like this very often and I was feeling adventurous.  So I bought one and quickly bit into it.

Yum!

Totally worth it and so yummy.  Now I wish that they weren’t a 4 hour ride away to get another.  I should have bought a few to take home.  Best thing I ate all weekend.  If only I had the brains of Mama Pea to recreate this recipe.  If only I knew how to describe it to her and could watch her kids in repayment for her recipe skills.  PLEASE!!!!!



I had avoided the outlets near our hotel all day because I didn’t really need anything but there was one outlet that wasn’t there last year that I just had to check out.  LLBEAN!!!!  I’ve been addicted to this store even though I don’t wear the clothes and I’m not too outdoorsy.  I just like dreaming that I am…I have an over active imagination.  But I did make one purchase that made me smile.







I love totes of all shapes and sizes and have been dreaming of a LLBean tote for a while but didn’t want to pay the price.  However the outlets had the returned ones on super sale.  The ones that people didn’t like the monogram, color or font.  Their loss is my gain.  And after searching an entire boat full of them I found two I like.  One said Eloise and made me think of Tess and her cute kitty and this one.  I got this one in homage to my girl Chelle.  I thought she would get a kick out of it.



So I was pretty relaxed even with the stress of the work stuff going on this weekend.  I guess some of the leftover zen is still around because I just laughed at Hunni’s burnt popcorn and joined him on the couch to munch.  Maybe we need more weekends like this 🙂



How do you getaway from the craziness?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/05/2010 7:33 AM

    I love getting away. It’s the best feeling ever.

  2. 04/05/2010 8:43 AM

    sounds like a great weekend overall 🙂

    I love having weekends with family. It’s a nice break from being in our normal routine without being a full-out vacation.

    • 04/05/2010 10:06 AM

      I love weekends with my mom. It is a nice getaway and allows me to relax for even just a short time.

  3. Melissa permalink
    04/05/2010 10:10 AM

    I’m so annoyed that they didn’t accommodate you. It makes me wonder if it was the hotel, or if it was the organizers that didn’t push the issue… Seriously, next time, the week before the getaway, call the hotel yourself and explain your dietary needs and find out how they WILL accommodate you. I mean, seriously, the organizers shouldn’t have to PAY for your meals either if you aren’t going to eat them … grrrr… I’m so annoyed!

    • 04/05/2010 11:31 PM

      Oh it was the hotel. The organizer was so annoyed and cornered the staff but they didn’t do much to fix the situation. Next year they are going to get more specific because another person was not accommodated well with a Gluten free diet either.

  4. 04/05/2010 5:55 PM

    I always head to the beach when I need to get away. ❤

    • 04/05/2010 11:29 PM

      I’m not a big beach fan…I don’t like sand. But I can see how that would be relaxing to some.

      • 04/05/2010 11:50 PM

        I grew up swimming in the ocean. I live in Cebu where the beaches are 30 minutes, 45 at most, away. I guess that’s why I love the beach so much. =D

  5. 04/05/2010 11:13 PM

    When I need a get-away…I guess I take comfort in hiding in the online world sometimes. Or just hang out with my church friends, and forget about all the stuff I need to do, etc. 🙂 Glad you challenged yourself with that yummy dessert. See, it’s worth it to do one thing that scares you!

    • 04/05/2010 11:29 PM

      I miss my church friends sometimes now that I’m the pastor. I try to go visit them when I can even if it is just for the day.

  6. 05/05/2010 5:34 AM

    loooove the pictures.
    I slathered em like a serenity lotion on my frazzled morning mind.

  7. 05/05/2010 9:02 AM

    How fun! I’d never heard of Maca before – it looks yummy. Thanks for sharing your lovely day (except the popcorn thing.)

    I’ve killed two microwaves by accidentally leaving the popcorn on too long. The smell was so bad we had to buy a new microwave – twice.

    • 05/05/2010 9:37 AM

      I’m thinking we may have to do the same thing unless I can get the popcorn smell out. It still reeks.

  8. Chelle permalink
    13/05/2010 9:08 PM

    Yay bag!!! I don’t know how I missed this because I swear I read this post. I had to come back and find this 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Food Stasher Extraordinaire | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

