Skip to content

Rain Yoga

03/05/2010
tags:

Gently falling rain makes a perfect background noise to do some yoga.  It’s fun spring kind of rains where it doesn’t get really dark as you see sheets of rain just fall from the sky as the dogs stare at it out the window with the breezes blowing.  Yep this is my kind of day 🙂  Although right now it is getting darker which means my favorite kind of rain is about to happen.  As soon as I finish this post I’m going to join Peanut and Leo at the window to watch the thunderstorm roll in 😀



As soon as I saw Kate of What Kate Ate tweet about the idea of May being Yoga Month I was stoked.  I want to learn some new poses to do at home until I can find a studio I’m happy with.  And after reading Tina’s post on Carrots and Cake I knew I wanted to be a part of it.  Yoga has been a huge deal in my rehabing process since my back injury days.  Both my surgeon and PT recommended I do it semi regularly to keep my other joints loose since my back doesn’t move as well.  Now I’ll admit my definition of semi-regularly may be different from theirs but I try to do at least a few poses every day to stretch out my hips and doing a video or take a class as often as I can.



I have to modify poses a lot but Warrior III is one I do not have to modify.  I actually have pretty strong ankles.  The best way I’ve found to start Warrior III is to ground your foot on your mat and place the other slightly behind you.  Lift your arms in the air in preparation.

Ready...

Then slowly hinge at the hips…slowly because you may wobble at first.  You goal is to have your arms stretched out straight front and your free leg straight behind you.  Be careful not to hyper extend the knee on your standing leg…that hurts 😦

I'm flying.

If you can’t get your leg completely straight behind you, lower it and work on moving it higher.

Slightly modified.

This pose is great for the hips as you work to move your free leg higher and for the knee on the standing leg.   I know it definitely works your standing leg because currently I can’t do it with my knee injury on my left side.



By the way…Don’t mind my sweat band.  It was on my head keeping my bangs out of my eyes when I was exercising and popped off when I started taking pictures.  Darn thing just hung their and I didn’t notice until I uploaded the pictures. 🙂



Enjoy your yoga!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/05/2010 3:41 PM

    You make that look so easy. I think yoga would be good for my back too. Anything to strengthen my back!

    • 03/05/2010 3:48 PM

      Thanks. Truth is I fall out of it occasionally but it is great for my back.

  2. 03/05/2010 4:35 PM

    I didn’t know it was Yoga month this May! That’s so perfect because a girl friend and I were planning to enroll in a beginners class this month. Weee!

  3. Mandy permalink
    03/05/2010 10:25 PM

    I really want to do more yoga!

    Maybe I will netflix a dvd or two…

  4. 05/05/2010 11:14 PM

    I love this – seeing pictures of people doing yoga poses really inspires me to just get up and move. While yes it’s better if I do a whole yoga series, I just got up and did Warrior III, stretching through my hands and out my feet. Thanks for the suggestion & inspiration 🙂

    • 06/05/2010 9:39 AM

      I’m glad that the pictures inspired you to get up and do the pose. Learning several you can put in a series is great so you can do them anywhere.

  5. 06/05/2010 12:02 PM

    That pose looks tough. Great job!

  6. 10/05/2010 7:59 PM

    You have impeccable balance!

Trackbacks

  1. Yoga Pose May Recap « What Kate Ate
  2. How is 2010 Going? | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

