Skip to content

Buffalo Chik’n Salad?

28/04/2010

Monday I wrote about the fear of being a vegetarian because of my love for Buffalo Chicken Wings.  Silly I know.  Kara and I could argue all day over the merits of Duffs versus Anchor Bar but the fact remains I was missing those little drumsticks and bony parts covered in lots of hot sauce and butter.  Never mind the fact that I haven’t eaten any in at least 6 months.  It was the only meat I craved and wanted to fulfill it and quickly.

So at Whole Foods I bought some Gardein Chik’n strips.  It couldn’t hurt to try them right?  In fact it might not hurt my stomach as much as the real thing would.

The object of my fascination.

The ingredients and nutritional info looked decent too.  Nothing I couldn’t pronounce and nothing that would cause me to writhe in pain on the couch just for my love of food.  That’s what normally happens when I indulge in something like this.

Sure the list was a little longer than a can of black beans or a block of tofu…but not too bad for mimicking my favorite finger licking food.  It was worth a try.  Gardien even offered a variety of ways to cook them and turn them into a meal.

Fun meal ideas.

This time I had my own idea…I wanted a buffalo chicken salad.  It is my absolute favorite way to eat wings.  Either boneless on a salad or traditional wings with a big side salad.  Protein and veggies all in one.  I made a big spinach salad with an orange pepper and a sprinkle of cheddar for color.  Then game my own dressing of hummus and yogurt because of the not so short list of ingredients on most bottled dressings.

A bit of this and a dash of that.

The chik’n went into the oven for about 14 minutes while I prepped the salad so they could get nice and uh…warm.  They definitely weren’t crispy like normal buffalo chicken and the texture was slightly off, but the flavor was there.  Nice and spicy.

Onto the salad and topped it with my dressing mix.  Just before I satisfied my craving for the tangy hot buffalo goodness I pretended to be a food blogger and found the best natural light in my apartment to take the picture of the finished product.  Not so easy when it is slightly rainy outside and the sun is toying with me.  But I pulled it off and felt pretty proud of my picture.

Almost like a real food blogger.

But I’m sure you are all wondering about the taste right?  Like I said it wasn’t exactly the same as my normal buffalo chicken salad and we aren’t just talking the dressing I made.  The chik’n was squishy and not like real chicken but it will suffice.  But the sauce was quite good.  Just hot and tangy enough to fool my craving and help me stick with to being a vegetarian through this craving.  I’m sure I’ll try some of the other Gardein products like BBQ chik’n at another time after all the success with this one.

Have you tried a replacement food that fills your craving?

Disclaimer:  I was not paid to review this product.  I bought it at my “local” Whole Foods for my own taste test and was not compensated in any way.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/04/2010 11:26 AM

    Thanks for the review!

    I haven’t tried a lot of meat replacements, but I do like a lot of the premade veggie burgers, especially the tomato basil and spicy black bean ones.

    I’ve actually never tried any of the faux-beef or chicken items.

    • 28/04/2010 11:28 AM

      I’m like you and love the burgers but had never tried the meat. I would eat them again and probably will the the leftovers for lunch today 🙂

  2. 28/04/2010 1:29 PM

    These look awesome! I’m going to look for them at Whole Foods. I’m not big on meat replacements (because I do eat meat) but I love the low-ish calorie and convenience factor in these.

  3. 28/04/2010 1:33 PM

    Hmm…I’m bummed the texture is a bit off, but I might still give them a try. Think I can convince Matt that they are actual boneless chicken wings and not fake meat? 🙂

    • 28/04/2010 4:13 PM

      No I don’t think you could convince him. You would do better with the chik’n nuggets covered in sauce. But they were good.

  4. 28/04/2010 2:40 PM

    I use morningstar farm crumbles in place of ground beef since we eat no beef. My youngest 5 kids have never had a hamburger and their idea of a burger is a Bocca burger!

    • 28/04/2010 7:17 PM

      I’ve always had the boca crumbles because I don’t like beef that much. I love that your kids know no different.

  5. 28/04/2010 3:45 PM

    Oooooh! I am ALL over this! THANK YOU for the idea! 🙂

  6. Meg permalink
    29/04/2010 9:33 AM

    Ohhh. I might have to find these to help calm my hot sauce craving. I’m glad you liked them!

    • 29/04/2010 10:04 AM

      They were pretty good. I will buy them again when I get the craving.

  7. MOM permalink
    29/04/2010 11:28 AM

    Try spraying a little oil on the sub chick and broiling them. they might crisp up

    • 29/04/2010 11:51 AM

      Thanks for the tip Momma! I think I’m going to try making my own with chik’n nuggets next time.

Trackbacks

  1. Round Two « It All Changes
  2. Everything I Want I Already Have – Carrots 'N' Cake - A Blog Devoted to a Healthy Balance

Leave a Reply

