Skip to content

Totally Deprived…Not! + Goals

26/04/2010

I’ll admit when I finally made the decision to go completely vegetarian I thought I was going to be completely deprived.  I have no idea why because I’ve been eating a semi-vegetarian diet for months now and haven’t felt deprived at all.  Sure I was eating the occasional chicken breast here or chicken sausage there and of course you can’t forget sushi too.  But other than that its been a ton of beans, nuts and legumes.



But the idea of uttering the words “I’m a vegetarian” for the whole Blog World and everyone else to hear just kind of triggered a mini freak out.  Suddenly I was worried all I was going to be eating was salad like the DJ Rod on Jaime Oliver’s Food Revolution.  My options suddenly seemed much more limited and I panicked that I would never enjoy food again.



But nothing could be further from the truth.  In fact having to focus on what I’m putting in my mouth again has given me renewed inspiration when looking at menus and cookbooks.  I’m no longer looking for different ways to cook chicken.  I’m looking for new tastes and sensations of food that will enter my palette.  Like the divine grilled polenta with morel mushrooms in butter that I had yesterday for lunch.  They were definitely worthy of being on that Food Network show…THe Best Thing I Ever Ate.  It is the one time I wish I was a food blogger and had a picture for you.  I will be attempting to recreate this sometime in May so you’ll get to see my interesting version that I hope is half as good.



And grocery shopping brought some fun exploration to find yummy vegetarian foods.  I enjoyed the ideas of a few faux meats but books to make my own fun.

My take away.

The funny thing is when I was looking at this picture with the exception of the Gardein product and the Vegetable Masala burgers I already bought these things on a regular basis…uh until I forgot to go grocery shopping for a month 🙂







Soy in two fun ways.  I love steaming the edamame and popping them out of the pods while vegging to TV or Twitter 🙂  And the tofu will be used in a fun burger recipe and some great baked tofu courtesy of Iowa Girl Eats.







And the only thing I have really been craving since my Veggie days have begun is Buffalo Chicken wings.  Call it the curse of going to college outside of Buffalo and knowing what a good wing tastes like…I’m totally and Anchor Bar fan.  I’m hoping these Gardein ones are comparable and will feed my fix.  And I know these Vegetable Masala burgers have great flavor because I accidentally bought them a few months ago when looking for my chicken burgers.  I love the spice in them and they taste great on a salad or as a burger.  Flavor is so important.



I’m still not brave enough to try tempeh or seitan.  I may need to get brave enough to try them eventually but who know.  Hunni just wants to try seitan because he thinks it’s funny to say that he ate Seitan (Satan) like Mama Pea eluded to 🙂  Thanks Mama Pea he’s cracking up at thinking about it and really want to try your recipe.  I think I need to ease into it a bit more.  One faux meat at a time.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++



One of my biggest goals this week that I didn’t put on the list last week was to make the final leap to full vegetarianism.  And after talking Hunni’s ear off about it I finally made the decision to do so.  I get two big thumbs up for that 🙂



Here are my other goals:


  • Hit the Bike Path. Okay so maybe I wasted the money for the capris…no not really.  I wanted to go out but I was in Boston Monday and Tuesday, Wednesday was crazy with work stuff and Thursday I almost went bald pulling my hair out.  Then Saturday I was in NJ all day so that wasn’t happening and yesterday was grocery day.  I actually complete forgot about this because I was so busy.  But it will happen soon.
  • Restock the staples. I should have realized that not doing any grocery shopping for a month would leave my cupboards looking like Old Mother Hubbard.  But I finally got menus made and went grocery shopping yesterday and spent about twice what we normally spend.  Good thing I was semi prepared for it when I looked at the size of my list before I left the house.  Bonus is that I don’t have to buy meat now so that saved a good chunk.  Go Veggies 🙂
  • Replan my vacation. The great road trip plans are coming in order.  Hotel Momma is open for us to bed down at while we travel that week.  I’ve contacted one friend in DC and we have tentative plans and Hunni is super excited to drag take me to all sorts of museums for the day we are there.  The fun for me is that I get to explain to every security guard that my back beeps because of metal in it from surgery.  But I’m looking forward to a day of just roaming DC and enjoying some free Vitamin D. Other plans are still in the works.
  • Get checked out. Step one done…I have a script for PT and an appointment with Boot camp Steve for Thursday.  Step two…go and do the work.  Darn it why do I have such bad injury luck.  Maybe I do need someone to teach me to run properly.
  • Get ahead on work. All my work for Sunday was done early even though I could have done it at the last-minute like I normally do. And I have a good bit of stuff done for this huge work weekend.  I’m pretty proud of myself for getting ahead.  Now only if I could stay ahead that would be a miracle 🙂



This week I have some new goals based on what’s going on in my world.



  • Work out 3 times. Okay I have to take it easy because my knee is achy and I don’t have an appointment until Thursday for PT.  But my butt is getting antsy sitting at home and not going to the gym. The first few days were fun and not I’m just anxious.  Off to the gym I’ll go and just walk or bike.
  • Stretch daily. The benefits of working out at least 4-5 days a week is that I got some great stretches in.  Now that I’ve been sitting at home for a few weeks trying to rest I haven’t stretched.  Which leads to a pretty uncomfortable Cynthia.  So I started this morning with stretches and I’ll be getting them in daily so I don’t feel like an achy rubber band that is about to snap.
  • Visit with friends. One of my friends just had a baby and I’m hoping to visit her this week and meet her new sweetie.  And this weekend is a work conference that I’m hoping to spend time with friends that I haven’t seen in a bit.  I just want to spend time with friends.  And I need to schedule some visits with other friends to just hang out and quilt.
  • Eat at home. I have food, I have menus and I have a desire for home cooked food.  I enjoy eating out but not so often.  And since I have to eat out this weekend for the conference I really want to eat at home this week.  Hunni and I have a plan and we will do it!
  • Pack away winter stuff. I have large wool coats and snow boots still hanging around in my closet.  And my apartment is small so these things along with the hunters socks, long johns and huge sweaters need to go in their tote and in the attic.  Hunni was nice enough to bring the tote down for me now it is my job to stuff it full of winter stuff for him to heft back into the attic…how nice of me 🙂



I have a few other things I’d like to get done this week but I know that if I overload myself I will not get anything done.  If I get the other stuff done it will just be icing 🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/04/2010 2:26 PM

    Aww…Duff’s wings are WAY better than Anchor Bar! 🙂 Let me know how the Gardein wings are — I’ve been meaning to try them.

    The Amy’s cheddar veggie burgers are amazing, especially when covered in a nice layer of hummus. Matt hated them — they are very grain-y and don’t taste or have the texture of fake meat — but I could eat them every day!

    • 26/04/2010 6:42 PM

      Sorry I’m a Anchor Bar fan through and through.

      I’ll let you know about the wings. And thanks for the recommendation about the burgers.

  2. 27/04/2010 9:01 AM

    yum – aren’t morels just ridiculously delicious? I want more right now.

  3. Meg permalink
    29/04/2010 9:23 AM

    Buffalo Wings are a downfall for me too (or hot sauce in general). I seem to have to have them every time we go to a sports bar (which is a lot).

    Good for you for looking on all of the changes positively. You’ve done great at getting your tasks done. Hopefully you can continue to rock your list.

    • 29/04/2010 10:07 AM

      Sports bars would be hard for me because I love wings and onion rings.

      Thanks for the compliments on my task list. I hope to do as well this week.

Leave a Reply

