Skip to content

Chasing Down the Wagon

25/04/2010

I’ve been off the wagon for a bit…I’ve chased it for weeks and weeks and I’m about to pass out because I am not in that good of shape.  But I’m ready to get back on.  Ready, set, go!



First I’m planning my menus for the next couple of weeks.  I’ve completely ignored this duty for the last…uh… 3 weeks and we’ve been surviving on Subway and random eating out.  I’m actually sick of eating out.  I dread the idea of picking a place to eat (this might have something to do with the fact that we have very few choices around here) yet we don’t have a lot of food to make stuff at home.  So tomorrow after church I’m finishing up my menu for at least this week and Hunni and I are hitting up Trader Joes and Whole Foods.  We are in need of some good staples to make some fun new vegetarian meals.  Hunni isn’t going veggie but we agreed that we wouldn’t buy any more meat until we use up what we have in the freezer for him…and with the stockpile we have this could take a few months.  But I’m looking forward to perusing the bulk bins for new beans to try and the frozen section to pick up some faux meats for me.



I actually spent an hour in the cookbook section at Barnes and Noble yesterday exploring vegetarian and vegan cookbooks.  I bought one on super-duper discount and one simple one that only requires 5 ingredients per dish.  I almost bought Veganomicon but that will be my next purchase after I have tried a week or two of this new twist.  But I did find a fun cookbook that I enjoyed the title of…The Cuisines of the Axis of Evil and Other Irritating States: A Dinner Party Approach to International Relations.  Completely random and fun recipes from around the world and the author deserves some sort of award for the best cookbook title to force you to pick it up.



Hunni and I also spent about an hour in the humor section exploring books buy some of the blogs I love to laugh at.  Cake Wrecks, I  Has a Hot Dog, Fail Blog and other randomness.  I can’t wait to be able to roam Barnes & Noble to be able to find books by Tina, Caitlin and Jenna.



I’m hoping there is still a seat for me back on the wagon because I’m ready to jump on. I’m taking a break from Weight Watchers Meetings for a bit but I want to enjoy eating again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    29/04/2010 9:14 AM

    I need to get back on the wagon too. Too many social events lately had me eating a lot of junk. I now have some time to focus back on doing what is right for me. We can do this!

Leave a Reply

