Skip to content

I Hate Vegetables

23/04/2010

Mwwwah!

I’m not becoming a vegetarian because I feel bad for the cute animals …I just hate vegetables.

Okay not really.  Hunni and I were talking about this decision on the ride home from dinner and he mentioned a comedy he saw that a woman told the leading man she was a vegetarian and he said, “If God wanted us to be vegetarians he would make meat taste so good.” The woman told him he had the wrong idea…“I’m not a vegetarian because I love animals I just hate vegetables.” Get it…ha ha.  Okay maybe I don’t tell the story as well as he does.

I’m not joking though…I really am going to make an attempt at vegetarianism.  I’m not doing it in some big Earth Day decision or for the animals…I’m doing it for me.

I’ve eaten little to no meat in the last 2 weeks and noticed something.  The few days I did eat meat have led to major digestive “issues.” When I stick to a plant-based diet with a few eggs and some dairy mixed in I feel pretty good. No fun to realize food you actually like eating is making you sick.  Kind of like when I realized sweets, even in small quantities or sugar-free, makes me sick.  Food restrictions do not make a happy Cynthia.

I’m making a serious effort at avoiding the bad for ME foods.  Not saying that you can’t eat these foods but for me I realize these foods are the source of my stomach issues.  Previously I cut out artificial sweeteners (and I’m getting better at not missing my Diet Coke…most days), sugars (I don’t buy them for my house but some days they sneak in), fried foods (except the occasional onion rings) and limiting my dairy intake (or eating a pint of coconut milk ice cream instead 😀 ).  Okay so maybe I don’t have all the IBS diet rules for me down yet but I’m making more efforts than I have in the past and I’m feeling better, usually. This is the next step to make a big change.

My Gastrointerologist has always warned me that I don’t digest meat very well.  I put him off and only ate it occasionally.  Now even the occasional meat product is hurting my sensitive tummy.  This became painfully obvious when I ate a grilled chicken salad for Hunni’s birthday and felt sick for the next two days.  First I thought it was food poisoning, but the more I pondered the more I realized I hadn’t eaten meat in the last week and that was the only difference of the day. Darn chicken…why must you taste so good but hurt so much?!

This vegetarian thing will take some work for me.  Home is not so bad because I cook with beans all the time and I can buy some things like Gardein and Quorn if I want a meat flavor without the uhh…meat.  I’ve been doing this for a while with the occasional chicken sausage thrown in…bye-bye Mr. Sausage.  However my go to restaurant meal is a salad with grilled chicken.  I will have to pay close attention to menus for veggie options and be even pickier to avoid the grilled chicken on my salad and those pesky pieces of bacon that make the flavor so yummy.  Hunni is being really patient and allowing me to look at menus before we sit down and helping me figure out how to tell the leaders for our conferences so I have food I can eat.

Thank God for an accommodating spouse…I couldn’t do this without you Hunni.

I know I’ll have to be careful to get enough protein too but I don’t think this will be a problem with the mass quantity of Hummus and Nut Butter I consume in a week.  I may eventually decide to add some fish in if I can digest it okay but for now I’m trying to be true vegetarian.  At least until I see how my stomach behaves.  Wish me luck because here goes nothing.

Have you ever made such a drastic dietary change?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. 23/04/2010 9:05 AM

    Good luck! If it keeps you feeling good, I say go for it. No one wants to feel sick or bad all the time, so it’s worth making a change.

  2. Melissa permalink
    23/04/2010 11:20 AM

    Good luck! Your discipline is inspiring! Don’t feel awkward asking organizers of conferences and retreats to provide you with a meal you can actually eat (I know that in your profession food is EVERYWHERE and usually not the healthiest). Most places that conferences are held are used to accommodating for allergies and other dietary restrictions. Like you said, it’s not an elitist thing, it’s a medical thing and you shouldn’t have to pack a cooler for yourself every time you go to a conference.

    • 23/04/2010 12:00 PM

      Thanks Melissa! I’m hoping they remember that at Youth Councils 🙂

  3. 23/04/2010 7:31 PM

    It sounds like you have been slowly moving in that direction for a while. I have gone vegetarian for 30 days here and there but never had it stick. We only eat poultry, and that only 2 times a week. So not much meat around my house either.

    • 23/04/2010 9:01 PM

      I’ve been slowly moving this direction hoping I would only have to go semi vegetarian. Turns out my body had a different theory in mind. I’m easing into the idea. I don’t think it will hit me until a few weeks from now.

  4. Katherine: What About Summer? permalink
    23/04/2010 7:32 PM

    I LOVE quorn! the fact that you have a gastrointernoligist just shows that you’re disciplined with our health. Best of luck to you; no worries. Do what makes you feel right in your own body.
    Katherine

    • 23/04/2010 8:29 PM

      Thanks for the support! I’m glad to hear a good review of the Quorn products.

  5. 23/04/2010 9:48 PM

    Wow, awesome! 🙂 I happen to know that you actually DO love animals, though. HAhaha.

    I gave up meat for Lent, and it’s totally stuck. I don’t miss it at all! Have fun with some new recipes, and check out a Moosewood cookbook from your library. They’re awesome!

  6. Meg permalink
    29/04/2010 9:00 AM

    I’ve never made any changes to my diet, and I probably should. I don’t eat nearly enough veggies and fruit.

    Good luck with making your changes. I hope you find the balance that your body needs.

    • 29/04/2010 10:09 AM

      Making changes is hard. Routine is my friend so when I make changes my body tries to rebel.

      Good luck on making your changes too.

Trackbacks

  1. First Big Challenge « It All Changes
  2. It’s Not Dairy, What? « It All Changes
  3. Happy Birthday America! « It All Changes
  4. Where Did the Time Go? | It All Changes
  5. Chipotle Remix | It All Changes
  6. Meet Cynthia from It All Changes
  7. How is 2010 Going? | It All Changes
  8. Potato & Pea Coconut Curry | It All Changes
  9. Weight Watchers Points Plus + Goals « It All Changes
  10. The Yogurt Dilemma « It All Changes
  11. 2010 Goals in Review « It All Changes
  12. Bacon Eggplant?–Recipe « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

