Skip to content

This Is Worth It

18/04/2010

After all my over indulging on sweet treats I was baking this week I realized most of them weren’t even worth it to eat.  Sure they were sweet at the time but I normally wouldn’t waste my time, Weight Watchers Points, money etc on them…except maybe the butter cream icing 😀



But Diane at Fit to the Finish had a great post today about something that she enjoyed over Easter that was worth it to her despite being higher in calories than she normally eats.  And she’s right there are some things that despite the calories, points, etc are just worth it to eat.  I thought I’d list my exceptions to healthy eating here because it is all about balance and who doesn’t want a good treat every now and again.



  1. Tiramisu– This divine italian dessert is perfect if made right at a real Italian restaurant.  Just don’t remind me that the good kind is made with liquer because I don’t drink.
  2. Onion Rings– Crispy deep-fried onions are irresistible from time to time.  I splurge occasionally and order a side order with a salad at the greasy burger joint near my old seminary.  They make a great addition to the salad.
  3. Maple Syrup– A little goes a long way and the real stuff tastes a ton better than the fake stuff.  I can handle a little of the sugar involved in the real stuff than the tons of fake sugars I’d ingest if I ate the fake stuff.
  4. Toblerone– Forget the fake chocolates like Hershey’s and other American imposters.  Give me some good old fashioned European chocolate and I’ll be happy.  It is so rich I can eat just one (okay two) triangle of this chocolately delight and be fine.
  5. Cheese– I’m guilty of eating reduced-fat or fat-free cheese when a recipe calls for a lot of it.  It does seem to not bother my stomach as much like this.  But there are times when a simple slice of smoked gouda or a sliver of brie is just better.  And if you break the brie I’m sold.



Sometimes a bit of the good stuff is just worth it no matter how many calories are involved.  They aren’t everyday things but a wonderful treat is worth it to me.  What is life with out a little food fun from time to time.  You have to enjoy what you eat right?



What are your splurge worthy foods?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 18/04/2010 8:08 AM

    i totally agree, there are definitely splurge-worthy foods. i mean, life is about enjoyment and a few hundred extra calories once in a while on something REALLY good is not going to cause any serious damage.

    my splurge-worthy foods are basically anything special that has dark chocolate in it. 🙂

  2. 18/04/2010 9:37 PM

    My splurges tend to come in the form of dessert….the sweeter the better!!

  3. 19/04/2010 11:10 PM

    My biggest weakness is Original Chex Mix!!!! LOL I don’t think I’ll ever be able to kick that one.

    Can’t wait for our bloggie meet-up tomorrow! See you in Dedham!

  4. Meg S permalink
    22/04/2010 8:16 AM

    Ohhh good post topic!

    We share a lot of the same splurge foods.

    1. Sweet and Sour candy (like Sour Patch Kids). I love the gummy yumminess of them.

    2. Ice Cream, but only on the the perfect ice cream days (where the weather is just right) any other day and I can usually avoid it.

    3. Bake Sales in general. I always find the need to buy something (and of course eat it).

    4. Cake. I don’t get it very often so I usually allow myself to have some when I do get it.

    5. Chicken Wings. I don’t know why I am obsessed with them lately, but it seems every time we go out to watch a sporting event I want them.

    • 22/04/2010 10:15 AM

      I used to be a sucker for chicken wings. I think it has to do with going to The Anchor Bar in Buffalo while in college. Home of the buffalo wing 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Explorer « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

