Skip to content

Roll It Out

16/04/2010

I may or may not have injured myself at my 10K.  After the race the back of my knee and my foot on my left leg were stiff and hurt.  I stretched it out but probably not nearly enough.  I was too excited about taking a cool shower and trying out the diner we were headed to for lunch.  I just muscled through it like I have in the past with my back injury and hip injury.  I figured I could push through and the pain would go away.



I took a week off while the two cutest little girls on the planet visited.

Enjoying the world's largest jawbreakers.

It was more fun to run on the playground and walk these two cuties…

True love 😉

than to go to the gym.  They (the girls) were only here for a week so I couldn’t waste a second.  We’ll just consider it cross-training.



But back to the injury.  I don’t know exactly what I did but the pain is still there.  I forced myself back to the gym after a week off.  Why is it always so hard to go back after a long time off (I hadn’t gone for 10 days before the race either)?  I figured I’d give running a go and see where it took me.  My foot wasn’t hurting in normal shoes and my knee wasn’t acting up on a regular day so what did I have to lose.  I could only run 5 minute intervals but I enjoyed it.  But then I stopped.  And ouchie, ouchie…the pain was back just like it was post race.



I stretched it out for a good bit in hopes that it would go away.  Some downward dogs, rag dolls, calf stretches, ham string stretches…basically anything I could think of quickly I did.  And the tightness loosened a bit but not completely.  So today at the gym I focused on the Elliptical and bike.  Then stretched again.  And I’m still sore.  So ice it is tonight.  That and some ibuprofen.



I’m trying not to Google things like stress fractures because I don’t want the same problems that some of my favorite bloggers like Chandra had after their marathons..even though my 10k is nothing like a marathon (although it was a 1/4 marathon 😀 ).  I’m taking it easy at the gym for the next week or so and investing in something I should have gotten a long time ago with my IT band troubles.  A foam roller!  I have to drive to Boston and back on Friday so I can hit up City Sports when I stop at the world largest Whole Foods in Dedham for lunch…okay I don’t know for sure if it is the World’s Largest but it is the biggest I’ve seen and I love to wander all the selection just dreaming of fun things to buy.  Now I’ll have another fun toy to add to my already overburdened corner of fitness gadets…I mean look at it…

It's a tortured mess

One more thing doesn’t matter right?  Besides it’s for my health…at least my running health 🙂



How do you ease back into exercise?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/04/2010 10:11 AM

    I hope it starts feeling better soon!

    We’ve been easing back into running after taking 5 months off 🙂 It’s SO easy to push it too much or do too much too soon, so taking breaks and resting is always a good thing.

    • 16/04/2010 11:22 AM

      Thanks Brandi. I have definitely had to change my running intervals from 20 minutes to 5. Its annoying but I prefer to feel better.

  2. 16/04/2010 11:35 AM

    speedy recovery!

    Aaahhh, City Sports. I lived across the street from one when I lived in Boston. I spent quite a bit of work study money. I miss their T-shirts and loose shorts. Not quite the same stuff when I look at their online store.

    • 16/04/2010 11:49 AM

      I only get to go there when I’m out in the Boston area so I love to roam the store 🙂

      • 16/04/2010 8:54 PM

        I haven’t gotten it checked out because I don’t want to be told no more running. If it still hurts on monday I’ll get it checked out.

  3. 16/04/2010 12:09 PM

    ugh, i’m sorry it feels sore again. i know how that sucks. have you gotten it checked out yet by a doctor?

  4. 16/04/2010 2:03 PM

    It sounds like it might be time to have it checked out! I’m so sorry it is still hurting. I hate it when I’m injured and can’t work out so I know exactly how you feel.

  5. Meg S permalink
    22/04/2010 8:11 AM

    I probably don’t ease back into exercising as much as I should. I tend to go full gusto too. I have been lucky thus far to really not hurt myself but I know I should start off more slowly.

    I am doing C25K, which does help me break down what I should be doing so I don’t go super crazy.

    • 22/04/2010 10:15 AM

      C25K really is easing in. I need to take that advice when I can get back to running again.

Leave a Reply

