Skip to content

My Own Bake-off Begins

13/04/2010

For as talented as Hunni is cooking is not one of his skills.  But he is very talented at assisting and tasting.  And since this weekend is our first bake sale to raise some money for kids to go to camp this summer the day of The Pillsbury Bake-off was the perfect day to start prepping.
First I got out of the office today to make a trip to BJ’s.  We don’t have a ton of baking stuff at the church and we are planning a bunch so I had to go by the basics.

Just some of the wares.

Don’t mind the dog treats in the picture.  We have to bribe Peanut and Leo to leave us alone while we bake or they’ll go nuts.

They just stare at us hoping for a treat.  Hunni kind of stares at me the same way if I don’t let him be the taste tester.  😀



On tonight’s agenda was making the dough for some cookies and baking some brownies.  I cheated with the brownies though.  I don’t have time to make fancy brownies in the short time frame so I came across these…

Triple Chocolate chunk!

What can I say they looked great and /were easy. I’m only one woman. But I did print off a ton of other recipes to try this week. At our bakes sales last year we had some requests. Apparently people around here love whoopie pies, oatmeal raisin cookies and Peanut butter cookies. I’ll happy to make PB cookies since my Mother-in-law left this behind…

Not our style.

I think it was her subtle hint to me to make Hunni some PB fudge since there was a jar of Fluff left with it.  But Hunni and I don’t normally eat this stuff so into the cookies it went.  I also made up the dough for the oatmeal raisin and double chocolate chip that I can bake off on Thursday while I sit in my office.  Who wouldn’t want to work in their office while they smell great cookies in our oven.



I’m also prepared to make diabetic treats with my ladies group on Wednesday…

Should have worn and apron 🙂

My women are diabetic and so are a lot of people in my community so we are baking with Splenda this week.  I’ll spend my afternoon googling diabetic treats tomorrow.  Until then I’m doing arm curls with 10lbs of sugar in on arm and 1.5 pounds of Splenda in the other.  Hey the bag says the equal cup for cup…I guess they didn’t mean weight 🙂



I might or might not have tasted a bit too much of the dough for quality control and now I’ll be sick on the couch for the evening.  Darn sugar addiction.



Any ideas on how to avoid “taste testing” all my other recipes this week?

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 13/04/2010 11:03 AM

    first of all, what a great idea to do a bake sale to raise money for camp!!!

    but wow, that is a good question! when i bake, i try to make things that i don’t like so that i’m not tempted by them. but you are making so many things. i think you need to make a plan – like one cookie of each, only of the things you really like, and really try hard to stick to that. if you don’t think you can eat just one, them skip it and let someone else taste it for you.

    good luck!!!

    • 13/04/2010 11:53 AM

      Thanks for the ideas. I think I’m going to have Hunni babysit me so I don’t do a ton of taste testing.

  2. Momma permalink
    13/04/2010 11:22 AM

    Your Grandmom looked like that after baking and so do I. I guess you inherited wearing your baking naturally.

  3. Elizabeth A. permalink
    13/04/2010 7:22 PM

    I pop a piece of gum while I bake so I don’t eat any of the baking, then at the end I keep one or two treats and send the rest to work with my hubby.

    • 13/04/2010 8:25 PM

      I would love to chew gum. I miss it but most of the gums have sugar alcohols that make my stomach hurt.

      • Elizabeth A. permalink
        15/04/2010 2:55 PM

        They should probably have some gum somewhere thats more natural….hmm I’ll have to look into it

      • 15/04/2010 8:29 PM

        I’m definitely looking into it at Whole Foods tomorrow.

  4. 13/04/2010 8:35 PM

    Sounds like you had a lot of fun! Great idea for a bake sale.

    I enjoy baking and find it I don’t eat ANY then I’m okay, but the first bite sometimes sends me down the winding path. . .

  5. 13/04/2010 11:32 PM

    I ALWAYS taste-test. Sorry, just have to! It’ll be a torture not to. Why not just cut back a teeny bit on meals, and so leave a little space for taste-testing? And just have ONE bite, and then give the rest to someone else who’ll probably love you for it. 😉

    • 14/04/2010 9:38 AM

      Oh I love taste testing. But I’m addicted to sugar and it aggravates my IBS so I shouldn’t. I have to figure out a treat I can eat so that I’m not going to make myself sick eating the sweet.

Trackbacks

  1. Ill Timed Start « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

