Skip to content

It’s All In How You Look at It

12/04/2010

Yesterday I shared a bit about my great friends’ wedding.  In that post was this picture…

Melissa and Me!

Me and my nutty best friend Melissa who was the celloist.  We boogied the night away on the dance floor.  But this was the good picture we liked.  It was a great shot of both of us.  Me with my silly half closed eyes smile and Melissa looking gorgeous as ever.  What you don’t see is the picture that we too just before this.  But in view of all fairness I’m going to show it here to you.  Brace yourselves… Are you Ready?

Oh My!

Not only do I look kind of drunk in this picture (and I don’t drink) but I look like I am back at the weight I used to be.  Still the same me and all but the angle is horrible.  Sorry Tyra it took us a few shots to learn our angels.  I much prefer the first picture.



It’s all about the perspective you look at.  From the right angle I look great and thin but just a slight twist and oh my goodness.  In life, and my healthy journey, I sometimes need to remember it is all about my perspective.  If I look at it from the negative angle that I usually favor anything can be bad.  But if I just switch my view for even a minute I can see the better side.



I may not be happy with the weight gain I had during my depression and I could beat myself up.  But if I look at it from the angle that it could have been a lot worse like it had been in the past and my depression is getting better than I feel a lot better.  I need to keep my mind in the right perspective.


++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++


Now onto seeing how nice of a perspective I can keep this week with goals.  I didn’t have any formal workouts this week but I did go on some fun walks with my cousins while they were here so I feel pretty good.  This week I’m working on getting in 3 workouts.  I’m not saying what yet but I’m going to get them in.


As for goals here we go….Last week’s Goals:


  • Cook healthy meals for visitors. I cooked good meals most of the time.  But it doesn’t count my Mother-In-Law and my other In-Laws offered to buy us some meals for occasions such as Hunni’s Birthday and Thursday 🙂  The meals I did cook were healthy and I made many of them…especially lunches for the girls 🙂
  • Pick a training plan for my Half Marathon. No decision has been made but I did look at several plans.  And I’ve counted the weeks until Philly so I know how many weeks I have to run.  There may be a few things to throw a wrench in my training this summer but I can’t talk about them just yet.
  • Lots of family fun. Healthy cookies… Touching turtles at the museum…lots of dog walking… The Princess and the Frog… and just being bums.  What else is family for 🙂
  • Stick to schedule. Let’s just say I’m WORN OUT!  It all got done and on time.  But I am drained.  So drained in fact that I whacked my head but good and put a small dent in it when I went to get shoes to go for a walk with Hunni, my MIL and the dogs.  Ouchie, ouchie.  I will be hitting the sack early to start another crazy week…just this time sans family.
  • Yoga stretching. Okay I did no organized yoga this week.  But I did random poses here and there.  When I was in my office and bored out of my wits I’d do a few poses.  And like always I do poses while standing around.  But I didn’t do any official yoga and I’m so thankful my body rested and stretched itself out anyway.



This week may feel like it will be a bit easier but I have a feeling it will not be for some sick reason.


  • Get in 3 workouts. Okay I said this already but I’m serious about it.  I haven’t had a real workout in over a week and I need to ease back into it.  I’m planning on testing my running at least once and doing some other things like biking for the other two.  Three is definitely not shooting for the moon..but I’ll settle for a nearby asteroid.
  • Strength Train at least Once. I can do this at home during TV since I have a bunch of equipment I bought during my PT days.  I’m thinking Glee would be a great time to try this.  Who doesn’t want to rock out strength moves while listening to mash-ups of Madonna 🙂
  • Buy bike shorts. The weather is great and Hunni and I really want to go for a long bike ride.  But my lady parts can’t handle a long bike ride even with my padded seat.  So LL Bean is calling my name with their cool bike shorts this week.
  • Mail off taxes. Okay so they have been done and sitting on my desk for over a week.  I just need to get those suckers in the mail.  April 15 is looming over my head so I better get cracking on this.  Just not like cracking my head.
  • Buy groceries. Our house isn’t devoid of food…just the food I want to eat 😀  I need some yogurt and other basics from Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods like Luna bars and veggies.  I’ll be hitting them up tomorrow while on a day long trip.
  • Bake, Bake, Bake. Hunni and I weren’t too bright and scheduled a bake sale for or Women’s Group this Saturday.  So we have to bake every night this week.  I’m going to hate cupcakes by the end of this week.



I will survive…I hope 🙂

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Meg permalink
    12/04/2010 6:46 AM

    You can do it Cynthia! I’ll help get you through this busy week if you do the same :-).

    As I like to think… one day at a time… what do I need to do TODAY to make it great?

  2. 12/04/2010 12:18 PM

    wow, it is fascinating how a bad angle on the camera makes such a difference. i like how you linked that to real life and how it’s all in your perspective – so true!

    i think now that your company is gone, you will find it easier to get back into your groove.

  3. 12/04/2010 3:13 PM

    It will be easier now that your company is gone. And as to those pictures – everyone has an angle they like themself better from. Think about those National Enquirer magazines at the grocery store – some of those celebrities look terrible (even though they may be photoshopped!)

    I hope you have a wonderful week.

    • 12/04/2010 5:36 PM

      I know it has been easier even today without the company. I love them but they are work (even the adult company 🙂 ).

      The angle that some of those tabloid pics are taken at is ridiculous.

  4. 14/04/2010 12:32 AM

    you’re so brave for putting that other picture online!! LOL I made a friend take down an awful picture of me from facebook today from a party this past weekend. you look pretty in both of yours, tho! maybe we’ll see each other on friday!! 🙂

    • 14/04/2010 9:36 AM

      It was just so interesting to me that they are both me but look so different.

      Hoping to connect on Friday.

  5. 14/04/2010 1:48 PM

    I love your goals. Sometimes it’s so much easier to take things step by step and not get overwhelmed when you know exactly what the next step would be. And that color of blue is gorgeous on you!

    • 14/04/2010 8:53 PM

      Thanks! I try hard to pick goals I can actually accomplish. And I love that dress too 🙂

  6. Elizabeth A. permalink
    15/04/2010 2:58 PM

    Its so weird about the angles! I had a church picture of me and hubby taken for our photo directory and I honestly looked like I had put on 60 pounds! I was so upset about it, but then a few days later hubby took a picture of me at a theme park and I looked thin! Crazy!

    • 15/04/2010 8:29 PM

      Yeah I’m definitely learning I’m better straight on since my arms still have loose skin from losing weight.

Leave a Reply

