Skip to content

Mr. & Mrs. Jones!

11/04/2010

I love weddings.  I love celebrating with friends and enjoying their joy on their big day.  I don’t remember a ton about my wedding day because I was on a lot of medication waiting for back surgery.  The pictures are beautiful and I’m glad we got married when we did but some day I would like to renew our vows so I can actually remember the ceremony and spend more time with friends.



But yesterday was Jaye and Erik’s big day.  I know them from my internship in Schenectady 3 years ago and have remained friends with them since.  They have known each other since their teens.  They are such a cute couple and I love spending time with them.

The new Mr. & Mrs.

This was the biggest wedding I’ve been.  Lots of friends and family came out to support them and I was excited because I know lots of them from different aspects of life.  Some of them didn’t recognize me since the last time I was with them I looked like this…

Taken right after internship.

But it was great to see such awesome people and to enjoy a night of dancing.  I wish I could upload video but I’m too cheap pay for the upgrade.  But Hunni got some funny videos of the dancing including me doing the chacha slide and the bride and groom’s fancy first dance that they practiced for weeks.



The decor was fantastic with very simple centerpieces and a great and totally “them” cake.  And the flavor was perfect.  White amaretto cake and buttercream frosting.  I only had a bit to spare my stomach the pain but I enjoyed it very much.

I enjoyed my date who graced me with a few dances and managed to spare my toes.

My groom.

He has no rhythm so this was a miracle.  And I would swear he has two left feet but tonight’s excuse was he just had two different shoes.

They don't match.

He didn’t even notice his mistake until we went to the mall to replace his wedding ring.  The story is that Hunni lost weight after we got married (about another 20 pounds) and his ring got loose.  But we had bought a tungsten ring that couldn’t be sized so we just hoped and prayed he wouldn’t lose it since it was about a size too big.  Well one snowy day he was helping someone out of the van and he notice his ring was missing.  He searched for about two hours in a snowbank for it with no luck.  We’ve been saving since to get him a new one.  We finally had enough and the wedding was a perfect reason.  Made me smile to have him wearing his ring again.

Trust me it's under there.

When Hunni wasn’t dancing with me one of my great friends from college and I danced the night away.  Neither of us are very good but it felt great to act like a middle school student at a dance 🙂

Melissa and Me!

It was an awesome night full of great laughs and lots of friends.  I was so happy to celebrate with the new Mr. & Mrs. Jones.  Can’t wait to spend time with them when they get back from Mexico.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/04/2010 8:58 PM

    SO fun! good for you to go out and let your hair down! You exuded fun in your writing. added bonus that people didn’t recognize you because you looked different now. 🙂

    • 11/04/2010 9:14 PM

      Yeah it was definitely fun to be recognized as different for a good reason 🙂

      • 11/04/2010 9:49 PM

        i bet that made your night even better!

        hey, not be to totally obnoxious, but… i don’t know if you were aware… i have a blog about my recovery from compulsive overeating/bingeing… in case you have time to check it out. 🙂 http://www.confessionsofacompulsiveeater.com.
        no pressure, just wanted you to be aware, as i know how much i benefit from our wonderful eating disordered/health/weight loss/fitness blog community. 🙂

      • 12/04/2010 9:24 AM

        I love your blog but can only get it through my reader thanks to my work filter. But I do read it ALL THE TIME 🙂

      • 12/04/2010 12:21 PM

        um, if this was in my obnoxious comment 🙂 … aw, thanks!

        i just have seen your comments on a lot of the same blogs i read/comment on, and thought it would be cool if we could support one another. 🙂

      • 12/04/2010 1:55 PM

        Thanks! I do love your blog.

  2. 11/04/2010 9:14 PM

    Thanks!

  3. Meg permalink
    12/04/2010 6:43 AM

    Awww yay for a great time Cynthia! It is nice to have weddings to look forward to and great friends to visit. I’m glad you had a good time!

Leave a Reply

