Skip to content

And We’re Off…

09/04/2010

**As you read this I’m probably somewhere driving the highways of Pennsylvania to get back from dropping off my cousins….or I may be sleeping in since I don’t have to wake up early for them.  🙂  Either way they are on their way home and I’m getting back to my semi-normal life…even if I don’t want to.**



Part of my semi-normal life that I’m actually looking forward to is being me again.  Not me in the sense that I couldn’t have fun with my cousins here but me in the sense of being able to try new and random recipes without thinking if an 9 and 10-year-old would even try it.  Me in the sense that I can go exercise when I want and not worry about who is watching the girls.  I love having them around but it is a change from how we normally live…not a huge change but definitely a change.



So now that they are gone Hunni and I are making a commitment to each other to stop letting the depression we both had been dealing with effect our healthy habits.  It was a really good excuse to binge on extra Easter candy, eat baked goods, not cook and definitely not exercise.  But we are both feeling much better and kind of missed our healthy lifestyles.  We actually missed taking long walks with the dogs together, and biking the trail to the mall for a quick drink before heading home, and eating random healthy desserts like banana soft serve.  We missed it because to us it’s life.



Today is the last day of excuses for excuses sake.  Saturday I will make my Weight Watchers meeting even though I don’t want the number on the scale to be up.  It doesn’t matter because I’m working on it.  And then I’m going to the trail to run.  My legs are completely recovered from my race last weekend and besides Hunni will be watching Saturday Morning Cartoons…he’ll walk the dogs with me later.  I will plan exercise for this coming week and actually make it to the gym.  No excuses this time I miss the place.



I will actually go grocery shopping so we have meals we can eat instead of just throwing them together.  Family makes it hard to plan…I’ll have to work on this skill before we have kids of our own.  But I have my organizing stuff set to go for Sunday afternoon and meals will be planned to be eaten.  Until then we have leftovers taking over our fridge that must be consumed.



And finally we will be purchasing our biking shorts.  Hunni decided he doesn’t like running and was just doing it for me.  So we agreed that we would bike together and he would do that as his main form of exercise.  So padded butt pants it is.  LL Bean has some great ones we want and we’ll head out there next week to get them.



We’re off to being our healthy-selves…excuses will pop up but I have muscles to beat them down.



Do you consider healthly living a part of who you are?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/04/2010 8:01 AM

    yup, having company sort of forces you to make adjustments to your “regular” days. it’s good to shake things up once in a while, but it sounds like you are ready to get your “regular” life back up and running again, which is great.
    the bike shorts are a good idea and props to Hunni for being honest.
    and yup, i consider healthy living to be a part of who i am. i’m lucky that exercising always came easy and naturally to me, even went i felt like a slug after bingeing.
    have a great weekend!

  2. 09/04/2010 11:30 PM

    Good for you for hopping right on that horse…or bike…

    My habits are definitely ingrained in who I am. I think my not-so-healthy external family finds it annoying, but I’ve learned to not let it bother me and just be happy that I’m able to live the life that I want!

  3. 10/04/2010 1:10 PM

    Absolutely. Plus I hate the way my body feels when I step away from it for too long. (too long being more than two days)

  4. Meg permalink
    12/04/2010 6:36 AM

    Yay Cynthia! It is good to see you allowing yourself to take a break but realizing when the break is over and you have to get things going again.

    I try and be as healthy as I can but sometimes I allow myself too many breaks. I think I am healthier than many, but can I improve? Sure.

Leave a Reply

