Skip to content

What’s With the Obsession

31/03/2010

As I sit here on a Tuesday night I’m a bit perplexed.  Part of it comes from the fact that I was totally looking forward to my typical 8 o’clock hour of TV.  Tuesday night equals flipping between America’s Next Top Model and the repeat of LOST.





It’s my amazing thumb workout as I try to catch up on any little LOST tidbits I didn’t catch (re: understand at all) last week and who is going to be staring in the next Wheat Thins commercial…you did know that it is Ann in that commerical right?  I love that girl.



But tonight neither show is on 😦  The cheesy attempt to resurrect one of my favorite shows of the 90’s (90210) and Dancing With the Stars were taking over the airways.  I’m not a fan of either show so I had to find something else to hold my attention for an hour.  A bit of channel surfing later and I landed on…





I used to love this show.  I watched it religiously every week and dreamed about one day being on it.  Kind of like my dream to be on the Real World only cooler because there wasn’t a lot of alcohol and sleeping around involved.  I loved the idea of someone teaching me how to cook healthy meals quickly and being able to exercise with the awesomest trainers.  I even bought all the Biggest Loser DVD’s and books and pretended I was a contestant on the ranch the summer before seminary when I had nothing to really do.



But now I’m noticing more and more how obsessed with weight everything has become.  I’m an admitted Reality TV addict and in addition to The Biggest Loser there is Celebrity Fit Club and all the other things about celebrities losing weight on VH1.  I’m guilty of watching it all and seeing how all the celebrity momma’s got their bodies back and how awesome Queen Latifah looks now.



But it really disturbs me when healthy looking celebrities who are my size are called fat.  Are you kidding me?!  And a plus sized model is a size 8/10….I’m not plus sized thank you very much. I shop in a regular store. I have worked hard to get over my fat mindset.  I’ve thought I was fat my entire life even when I was pretty average.  So why do we let everyone call people who are already in much better shape than me call them fat?  I wouldn’t dare call my best friend fat or let them call me fat.



The entire concept of fat versus thin instead of healthy and unhealthy really irks me.  There are plenty of skinny “fat” people who don’t take care of themselves just because their late night nacho habits don’t show on their outsides.  And I happen to think that I’m one of the healthy “fit” people who will never be stick thin.  And I for one am okay with that.  I don’t want to be obsessed with skinny I want to be happy being healthy.  I hope Hollywood and America gets the idea.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 31/03/2010 4:01 PM

    I too wish that Hollywood would start portraying healthy, fit women as just that – and not plus sized or in need of a makeover. I don’t really watch Biggest Loser much either. Not at all this season.

  2. 31/03/2010 5:34 PM

    I wish that we could find a happy medium. I feel like we are either focused on the really skinny or the plus size…what about all the in-betweens??

  3. 02/04/2010 12:25 AM

    I agree- I am SO FED UP with our culture being so weight and appearance obsessed! Can we please focus on helping the less fortunate or ending war and hunger, or making healthy food more readily available to the poor? I’m just so sick of how shallow the media and reality shows are!!! I hate to say it, because I loved the show, by I really think Sex and the City wasn’t so helpful in showing our society or young people what’s important- even my middle school students are appearance obsessed! Ok… sorry. My rant is over. I’m just really angry about it all today! :/ grrrrr!!!

Leave a Reply

