Skip to content

Bring Back the Greens

30/03/2010

There is something about winter that makes salads just so unappealing.  I chomp down on greens all spring summer and fall long but the second that first frost hits the greens flee from my fridge.  Something about the cool crispness of the leaves hitting my sensitive teeth is not a fun experience and I avoid salads like the plague for a few months.



Now don’t get me wrong I will happily order a salad at a restaurant during the cold months or load up my bowl at the Whole Foods salad bar but I think that has more to do with it being one of the healthier options out than the warmer meals I could eat.  I also blame it on the fact that my apartment and office are in a cement block building that makes the temperatures feel almost colder inside than out sometimes.  It gets so cold sometimes that in the winter I dress like this for work…

Running thermals to keep me warm.

I told you it was cold in my office.  Sometimes I’d even wear my coat too.  What can I say I’m cheap and don’t want to turn the heat up too much.  But don’t worry I still look professional with all the layers underneath.

Boring office me.

But now that the sun has broken through the snowy skies and the temperature has been consistently above freezing (although not by much for the past few days) I’m feeling an itch for salads.  I’m not a boring salad girl so I enjoy coming up with random toppings for each lunch.  They all start this way…

Big box o' spinach.

Occasionally I get adventurous and go the arugula or mixed green route but only on a rare spark of insanity.  Then the toppings are as random as any thoughts coming out of my brain.  I love leftovers for toppings and recently had lentil chili as a topping.  I also love to grill up random thing from my freezer to add as toppings.  Last week was last vegan burger from Trader Joes as well as the pepper mix and mixed veggies and some sliced creminis from my fridge that needed to be used up.

Random toppings.

Fill a big serving bowl full of spinach because obviously my salad bowls are just not big enough.  I’m a big quantity eater…no dainty bowls for me.

Fill it up.

Top with the sautéed good ness from my freezer to wilt the spinach a bit and make me drool from the smell of the wicked combination I thought up just minutes before.

Still missing something.

Then the final crucial decision comes in one how to dress the salad.  Somehow a nice sweater or a new running shirt didn’t seem appropriate for my wonderful creation.  Had to come up with another idea.  And I’m definitely not a fan of bottled dressings since they are loaded with hidden sugars and cost way too much for the stuff they put in.  Instead I raid my pantry again and come up with these wonderful ideas…

Oil, vinegar and hummus.

Why not make my own dressing of some great Roasted Red Pepper hummus thinned out with a few sprays of olive oil in my favorite kitchen gadget and several good sloshes of my new favorite vinegar.  All it was missing was a nice hunk (hubba-hubba) of avocado.

Finished perfection.

It was good and as for the avocado I’ll settle for the hunk I got to eat my wonderful creation with.  He definitely made up for the avocado 🙂

Hubba Hubba!

Do you eat salads year round?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 30/03/2010 9:36 AM

    yum, that salad looks perfect 🙂

  2. 30/03/2010 10:11 AM

    I’m like you and really prefer salads in the spring and summer. The warmer weather lately has me craving them.

    I’m also a random salad topper. If it’s in the fridge, it’s fair game. You can’t go wrong with most things if you throw them on a bed of lettuce.

  3. 30/03/2010 7:42 PM

    I too prefer salads in the warmer weather. I think I substitute salads for soups in the fall/winter!

    Yours looks amazing.

  4. 30/03/2010 10:55 PM

    Not really. I go thru fits and spurts of salads. I don’t always define salad with lettuce, though. I make a couscous salad of whole wheat couscous, tomato, avocado, oil and Frank’s red hot. That would be more of a winter salad to me. 🙂

    • 30/03/2010 10:57 PM

      I love adding whole grains to my veggies too. I make a great quinoa salad.

Leave a Reply

