Skip to content

Feeling Off

28/03/2010

I’m just off.  I have been for a few weeks and I’ve been trying to get past it but my mind is just off.  I’m overwhelmed with work and stress and not sleeping or sleeping too much.  It’s just made me a bit off lately and I’m not liking it.



Normally I love to cook and my meals have been more of the quick tortilla pizza type and leftovers instead of all the wonderful menus I actually have planned for these past two weeks.  I actually made Lentil Black Bean chili the other day and Hunni and I ate it for several days after because I’ve just been so tired.



I haven’t been tracking my food and this wouldn’t be a big deal if it didn’t show on the scale.  I have no excuse.  I’m a huge stress eater and I’ve stress eaten all the rest of my Almond Butter Blondies, helped Hunni finish off a loaf of Cinnamon Raisin bread and successfully polished off a box of Kashi TLC crackers on my own.  Sure they tasted good I guess but I wasn’t really tasting them I was just consuming them.  I had to promise myself that I wouldn’t buy more agave to make more sweets until I could enjoy them in moderation instead of inhaling them.



And my running mojo is waxing and waning.  I still love it and can’t wait until my 10k race next week but right now I have no energy to run the distances I was running.  I don’t want to push to hard this week being the week before my big race and hurt myself.  So I’m relaxing and just getting in some activity and not the huge mileage I was getting in.  I’m hoping as my stress ant mental state relapse I’ll be ready to start training for my Half Marathon.



Being off is something I’ve dealt with in the past and know I’ll have to deal with again in the future.  But since the last time I’ve learned a few things.  I’m not beating myself up for the lack of exercise but just making sure I get it in when I do have the energy.  I’m not freaking out over the little weight gain but I’m not going overboard and just giving up my healthy eating habits.  I may be eating more but it’s more asparagus and baby carrots not cookies this time.  And I’m not hiding out in my apartment avoiding the world.  I’m getting out with Hunni occasionally and spending time with friends for a nice little pick me up in hopes to help shorten this spell.



So there you have the honest truth.  I’m not sick with IBS or the flu this time.  I’m just feeling off and it will be okay shortly.  Comes with the territory of being me and learning to handle life.



How do you handle the ups and downs of life?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 28/03/2010 8:08 AM

    you are right, everyone does go through times of feeling off and yes, it sucks. it sounds like you have great awareness this time, which is really great. overeating vegetables is fine in my book and you should celebrate that accomplishment. it sounds like you are, because beating ourselves up gets us nowhere.
    as for your race, you are supposed to taper off the last week, so the timing is perfect. 🙂
    hang in there, this too shall pass.

  2. 28/03/2010 9:38 AM

    It happens to the best of us, and I’m sorry you are going through it right now. It sounds like you have the right attitude and understanding about it right now.

    Take care!

Leave a Reply

