Skip to content

Running Geek

27/03/2010

Cynthia…Running Geek, at your service.  That’s the new name Hunni gave me today when he decided to try running outside with me for the first time this season.  It was a bit nippy but I was excited since I only have one week until my 10K race.  If I couldn’t run outside in the weather today I had no chance next week.  So I geared up.  New running hoodie, some running tights, my new shoes, HRM and iPod loaded with 80’s classics and I was ready to go.

Running Geek...Hurray!

Notice my new running geek tool.  Kind of like my batman tool belt.  Well not really but it is my new favorite running gadget.

Hydration is key.

On my normal outdoor runs I don’t bring water because I’m gone less than an hour.  But with the longer distances I’m running now to train for I’m getting dehydrated while running.  Not so good for anyone and definitely not good for me.  Merry wrote a great post about water and how important it is especially now with her kidney stones and the same is true with my IBS.  I drink like a fish and we aren’t talking vodka here.



Hunni and I searched the mall yesterday for a water bottle I could wear since I’m not talented enough to run and hold anything in my hand.  I really would love to get a Camel Back eventually if I stick with longer distances but I don’t want to cough up the money right now while I’m in the trial phase.  That left me with a water bottle belt.  I took a cue from my friend Meg and got one that sits on my back.  I was super worried it would bounce while running so I saved the tag and receipt.  LL Bean has this great return policy and I was quite positive I would have to use it.



So we set off on our run and Hunni quickly pulled ahead.

Leaving me in the dust.

I ran for about 10 minutes and completely forgot about the bottle on my back.  The sucker didn’t move.  Or maybe it did but the presence of my back brace well uh braced the impact and I didn’t notice it.  My new geeky gear was perfect and I wouldn’t have to make the drive back to Albany to return it.



It also has this cool little pouch to put my mid run fuel (I’ve been using raisins pretty successfully) in so I don’t have to carry it either.  Butter fingers and all.  Besides pockets wouldn’t look good in my running tights.

A pocket and it's neon yellow.

But I didn’t get a chance to test out how I would manage the bottle or fuel on the on the run because I got the crap scared out of me.  Hunni came up behind me and tapped me on the shoulder quickly flashing my mind to and episode of Criminal Minds where a couple went out for a job and got murdered.  Perhaps I watch too much of this show?  But who can resist the adorable geekiness of Matthew Gray Gubler…

Geeky Gorgeous!

But it wasn’t a serial killer…just my out of shape Hunni.  He’s been battling illness on and off for a few months and hasn’t trained properly for our race.  Today was his attempt to see if he was going to run the race with me next Saturday and still be alive for Easter church services the next day.  Apparently not.

Worn out.

At least he got to test my water bottle.  Poor guy decided that as much as he loves me and wants to spend time with me his body can’t handle it and from now on he’ll be designated photographer.  So instead of running the full hour Hunni and I walked hand-in-frozen hand back to the van and took in the sights while chatting.

ooo pretty.

We agreed we’d get some cool bike shorts for both of us next paycheck to work on number 62 together.  Maybe eventually he’ll wear one of those cute tight cycling jerseys.  A girl can dream right 🙂



Perhaps I’ll try a real run for my bat gear tomorrow and practice my race day breakfast too.



Do you and your significant other exercise together?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 27/03/2010 10:14 AM

    when i started running longer distances, back in the day, i wore one of those back water/gu holder things too. i was worried it would bounce all around and possibly chafe, but wow, it was great. the camel back thing is good too, but like you said, it is an investment. if you do get to that point, try it on with whatever top(s) you plan on running in, because they can chafe around the shoulder/armpit area which sucks. also, they make male and female camelbacks. ok, enuf ’bout that.

    nope, don’t work out with my husband. i am a morning workout person and he is an evening one. occasionally, we end up at the gym at the same time, but don’t work out together cuz we do differerent stuff. still it’s fun to see each other across the gym floor.

    • 27/03/2010 10:47 AM

      Thanks for the heads hup about Camel Backs.

      Hunni only really likes to go to the gym when I’m there because otherwise he leaves early.

  2. Jenny permalink
    27/03/2010 11:47 AM

    I bought a camel back back in college because of all the hiking I did and we bought John one shortly after we met. I absolutely love them and they are one of my most used items of anything in my house. If you’re gonna be biking, get one because they’re a heck of a lot easier than water bottles. And you can carry food and a book (which is I used to do while hiking… sit on top of the mountain and read) or extra jacket, or whatever.

    Right now mine is still in ND with John, and I can’t wait for him to bring it over now that I’m hiking again. 🙂

    And to answer the question… nope. He would have to be home. Although we will start playing raquetball on the weekends again now that we’ll have access to a gym again.

    • 27/03/2010 12:42 PM

      Thanks for the tips on the camel back. I really want one since we like being outdoors in the nice weather.

  3. Mandy permalink
    27/03/2010 12:57 PM

    I love the hoodie! You are so cute!

  4. 29/03/2010 10:00 PM

    HA!! Funny question. Nope. My husband likes his couch way too much. And because he’s slender, he seems to think he’s healthy, despite my best efforts to educate him. He makes me sigh. Lucky he’s cute.

  5. 04/02/2011 11:50 PM

    I bought Jason and I memberships to a BRAND NEW GYM for christmas… and it opens next friday!! we are SO excited!! 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Pigged Out + Goals « It All Changes
  2. Bundled Up of Nerves « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

