Skip to content

You Can Wear It Again

26/03/2010

If you’ve ever been a bridesmaid you know this phrase and probably loathe it.  Every bride says this about pick for bridesmaid dress.  We all want to believe that the dress we work so hard match our “theme” was worth the price tag our friends and family had to fork over to participate in our nuptials.  Heck I did it to my friends too.  But I really picked a dress they could wear again…honestly.

Like a tea dress.

I think I did a pretty good job too.  In fact my one bridesmaid wore it out to a fancy anniversary dinner with her husband last year.  Score one for me.



As I lost the weight I really tried to buy clothes I could wear throughout the weight loss.  I wanted pants that would look good when the butt started to sag as I lost the cushion in my rear and shirts that I could rock when they fit and would look nice and blousey when the rest of me started to shrink.  No one told me that losing while making me look better in the long run would make me look like a shlub in the short-term.  I just couldn’t afford a new wardrobe every 10 pounds.



Now that I’ve lost all the I actually still have one dress from my rehearsal dinner that I would love to have taken in and I could definitely wear again.  And I’m sure you remember this oldy but a goody…

Me in my college sweatshirt that used to fit.

Sure it doesn’t fit or I could ball my entire body into the thing.  But I love the thing and I’m not expecting to win any beauty pageants in it.  It is totally something I wear to be comfortable.  I have a sweater like this that I wore today because it is soft and doesn’t look that bad.  What can I say I don’t follow the rule from What Not to Wear.  I’m all about comfort.



Now my focus of clothing has changed.  Everything I buy needs to last.  I’m on a shoestring budget for new clothing purchases so they need to serve multiple purposes.  Besides I’m not to trendy so I have classics in my drawer that I have had for many seasons.  No pre-ripped jeans, gauzy baby doll tops or espadrilles for this girl.



And it’s for this very reason that although I would love to go buy a new dress for the wedding we are attending in 3 weeks just because I can actually wear a dress and not my uniform I’m not gonna.  Oh I want to but I won’t have a reason to wear anything beautiful I can find.  Hunni and I aren’t the fancy dressed up for dinner kind of folks and pretty much every wedding or church event I have to go to I have to wear this…

Standard formal dress.

So it is for this reason and my penny-pinching ways that I’ll be wearing a dress I got two years ago.  I bought it on mega sale after staring at it in the store every time Hunni and I went window shopping.  I promised him when I bought it that I would get tons of use out of it.  I promised him I would wear it for our anniversary but we were driving long distance from PA.  And I’ve not really had a reason to wear it since.  Perhaps I’ll wear it for this year for our anniversary but for now I’m going to follow the policy I gave myself for my bridesmaid dresses.  I wanted to them to be able to wear them again and I’m going to finally wear this dress again.  In fact the last reason I wore it was to a wedding in the fall.

Me and one of my Best Friends at her wedding

Beautiful dress huh and it fits great.  So I’m going to save my money for the cool biking capris Hunni and I saw at LL Bean tonight since I’m more likely to use them for dates with Hunni than another pretty dress.  Darn practical decisions.



Have you ever worn a bridesmaid dress after the wedding?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Emily permalink
    26/03/2010 6:18 AM

    I’ve never re-worn a bridesmaid dress, but 3 out of my 4 bridesmaids re-wore theirs 🙂 It helps I let them pick their own styles.

    I have one of those gigantic college sweatshirts that will never fit yet I refuse to get rid of it also. Sure the cuffs are shredded and there’s a hole in it. I still love it.

  2. 26/03/2010 10:49 AM

    You know something funny? I have never been a bridesmaid! One time I was supposed to be one but then 9/11 happened and the wedding still went on but none of us could get all the way to CA!

    I’m sure none of my bridesmaids ever wore their dresses again. They were not cute like yours!

  3. 26/03/2010 2:00 PM

    i think i was only a bridesmaid twice and nope, never wore the dress again.
    the blue dress in that last photo is beautiful!

  4. Jenny permalink
    26/03/2010 3:20 PM

    My friend and I were in each others wedding the same summer, and both of us had separates from DB for the dresses. I’ve worn the top since with jeans to a bar, I think she’s worn her top for something also. I’ve never worn the skirt and probably won’t for anything that I can think of.

  5. Marney permalink
    27/03/2010 11:40 AM

    I am absolutely determined one of these days to go visit Kayla and get off the plane wearing the yellow halter top I wore in her wedding. Travelling dress!

Leave a Reply

