Skip to content

Compare and Contrast

25/03/2010

Didn’t you love these essays in school…compare and contrast the two main characters in our story today.  Tell how they are similar and how they are different.  I really was a geek in school and loved writing essays so I got some sort of sick pleasure out of writing these essays and would actually read stories assuming at one point we’d have to write one of these.  Most of my life has been a compare and contrast.  Am I normal compared to him/her?  What makes me different?



I still do it.  I started reading blogs because I thought it was an interesting glimpse into the lives of others around the nation.  People trying to do the same thing I was…just live a healthy lifestyle.  I had been doing it for so long I forgot other people were like me and it was actually a big part of their lives too.  Most people in my immediate circle of friends thought (and still do think) I’m some sort of health nut because I love the gym and prefer whole wheat to white bread.  Seeing that I could compare myself to others was great.  I could compare how happy healthy living made me and made others around the blogosphere.



Even before blogs I would compare myself to others who I knew were losing weight.  2 pounds was the average but was I average?  Some weeks my body went bizerk and lost 4 and some weeks I had the dreaded gain.   Did that make me normal still?  I compared myself to the other women at the tiny gym in town I actually joined and would push myself really hard in the step classes even though I hated step itself.  I would compare my groceries to the other groceries on the belts at the grocery stores.  I even read websites about people losing weight to see their stories long before I knew what a blog was.  I was always comparing myself to them and contrasting my efforts and results to theirs.



When I started reading blogs I was really intrigued.  How could someone post EVERYTHING they ate and make it interesting and pretty?!  My food never looks like that although it tastes good…or else I wouldn’t eat it.  And why did they draw me in so much to read them?  Was it that I wanted to compare my healthy eating habits to theres or was I just contrasting and building up a  repertoire of new foods to compare to my old staples.  And heck I even gave food blogging a try.  But my food was never interesting.  Who really wants to read about my third day in a row of blueberry oatmeal or the fact that I had ANOTHER chicken burger for lunch.  I have fabulous food ruts that I’m just fine and dandy to stick in.



But did that make me a bad blogger?  I couldn’t make food interesting but had a desire to write and have a creative outlet.  So presto chang-o my blog became more about healthy lifestyles instead of just healthy pretty food.  But how did that measure up?  How did I compare to the majority of blogs…or did I want to?  Did I want to contrast.  I just kept plugging along writing what I enjoyed and still in the back of my mind realizing that I am a big contrast to most blogs.



For me a long run is 6 miles requiring a lot of planning and at least 1.5 hours instead of randomly just going out for a 6 mile jaunt around my neighborhood.  I prefer to run on a treadmill not because I like it but because my neighborhood is not exactly runner friendly and I don’t like running in the dark.  And my speed is more of a lack there of as I pace along at 5.0mph never really aiming for negative splits…I still don’t know exactly what those are.  And I’m definitely not the greatest writer out there but love to do so…typos and all.  I compare myself to everyone attempting to be somewhat normal.



But what do I really get out of this?  I’ll never measure up to the standard of a big name blogger or a competitive athlete.  I’ll never be the person running the fastest at the gym although I constantly look over at the others running around me to see how fast they are running.  I’ll never make gourmet meals people want to copy, or eat at fancy restaurants  where the portion sizes aren’t as big as my head and I’ll never own a camera that actually requires me to know anything about photography.  I contrast to so many bloggers in more ways than I compare.



But you know what…who gives a flying flip.  I’m me…like it…lump it…or dump it.  I don’t write this blog for high page views or lots of comments although those days when these are higher I get a little happy.  It’s not my job and I definitely don’t profit from this.  I write because it is an outlet for me from the crazy busy days I have and the insanity that is my life.  I enjoy sharing a little piece of me each day with the blogosphere and it makes me happy.  So whether I compare with other bloggers I don’t care…I care that I contrast because I’m different and I’m me…just the way I am.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 25/03/2010 8:00 AM

    What a wonderful post! I’m guilty of comparing and contrasting my weight lost efforts with those around me on a regular basis. When someone at my Weight Watchers meeting says they lost 3.4lbs, the ugly jealousy monster rears its ugly head.

    Running is another big one for me. 5.0mph is pretty average for me, though I’ve found that pushing the stroller I’m MUCH slower. I read about 8 minute miles on other blogs and I instantly feel like I’m not good enough to call myself a runner.

    I personally love your blog and the focus on a healthy lifestyle vs. just what you ate that day. It’s always so inspiring!

    • 25/03/2010 10:22 AM

      Awww Katie I’m glad to know I’m not the only one who does that.

      Thanks for the compliment. I really appreciate it!

  2. 25/03/2010 8:05 AM

    no need to compare and/or contrast. just enjoy the process, the outlet and the self-therapy of writing. 🙂

  3. Jenny permalink
    25/03/2010 2:30 PM

    I compare and contrast myself to everyone and everything around me also.

    But I’ve also learned to enjoy being different. I like being unique.

    And I like reading your blog because it is different from the others I read. 🙂

    • 25/03/2010 8:11 PM

      Awww thanks Jenny. I like being different but I am constantly comparing myself to others.

  4. 29/05/2010 12:21 PM

    Hehe I am actually the first reply to your awesome article!?

Leave a Reply

