Skip to content

Just Get Out of the House

24/03/2010

I’ve been off lately.  I don’t really know what’s up but all I want to do is hide in bed with the covers over my head.  My pillow top mattress and snuggly flannel sheets keep calling to me….Cynthia…Come to bed, Cynthia.  Peanut and Leo don’t mind because that is their favorite place too and will snuggle up with me.  But I think my boss would mind if my job didn’t get done and Hunni gets super bored in the office by himself and spends way too much time on Fox News.com and watching goofy movies.



Last week I was honestly and truly physically sick so I spent most of the week in bed and eating crackers.  I also didn’t get many workouts in and felt like a completely bum.  I enjoyed the two or three walks I did get in with Hunni to make me seem semi-productive.  But this week I wasn’t off to a good start either and I was annoyed.  Yesterday I came home from running errands and put on my gym clothes thinking that would force me to get my butt out the door to the gym.  Instead it forced me into an uncomfortable sleeping position on the couch.  My sneakers dug into my legs and left marks.  I quickly kicked them off to get more comfortable and snuggled up with Peanut.  The gym just wasn’t going to happen so the furbabies and I went to bed early.



I didn’t want to get into this mode where I don’t go to the gym just because I feel down so I made Hunni promise to kick me out of the office at 2PM to hit the treadmill.  I told myself I didn’t have to run but I had to go.  And if I still wasn’t feeling it after 20 minutes I could leave no problems and no guilt.  But once I got going I was fine and actually felt more energized.  I managed to run for 30 minutes and walk on the incline for the rest of the time.  It felt good to have done it and have a bit more energy from the workout even if I took a nap as soon as I got home…sorry I slept in my sweaty clothes on the floor for 20 minute…ewww.



So I’m thinking while whatever is going on in my head and body I’m going to have to revamp my workout schedule.  I’m going to take it easier obviously but I’m also going to switch the timing of my workouts.  Normally I love my evening workouts because the gym isn’t cramped and it allows me to use certain shows like Criminal Minds as purely running shows.  But by that time of night now I’m curled up in a fluffy ball with the dogs and my snuggie and there is no chance I’m getting out the door.  Instead Hunni and I agreed that I’m hitting the right after work or in the morning while Hunni mans the office.  It’s our slow time of the year so this will be no problem.



I think restructuring and changing plans mid-course is key for me.  Otherwise I would totally just skip working out for the next couple of weeks until I “feel better” and then be mad at myself.  Changing it up may freak me out at first but its crucial to survival.  I’m hoping I’m back to normal soon but until then I’m managing it the best I can.



Have you had to change your workouts mid-stream?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 24/03/2010 6:21 AM

    always
    my workouts are ALWAYS evolving
    planned
    unplanned
    midstream
    ANYTHING to get em in and spark my mojo!

  2. 24/03/2010 12:29 PM

    yep! Totally natural. Go with what your body is asking for, or what your mind will allow you to do; you know you want to do a routine, but maybe not the routine you planned.

    Last night I wanted to walk a random incline, but I jogged it instead. I then decided to do a new Yoga DVD, which kicked my arse. You don’t want to be trapped into the idea that you MUST do this and not do that; especially when you weren’t “feeling” it. Good luck.

    • 24/03/2010 1:18 PM

      Thanks! I am still learning this bit that just because I schedule a workout I might not get the exact workout in.

  3. 24/03/2010 12:50 PM

    i’m someone who is terrible at change, so i can totally relate.
    it’s great that you still want to workout and recognize that you need to make some changes to fit the workouts on. if you can, look at the new workout times as an adventure, something to be excited about. you may just suprise yourself and totally love it!

    • 24/03/2010 1:17 PM

      That’s how I’m trying to see it instead of freaking out about the change.

  4. 24/03/2010 10:51 PM

    I am sure that the fact that you were sick has a lot to do with your desire to change up your workouts. I think changing things up and working things differently is always a great idea!

    • 25/03/2010 10:21 AM

      Thanks Diane! I didn’t look at it like that. I just thought I was being lazy but I like that point of view.

Leave a Reply

