Skip to content

Stop Light Foods + Goals

22/03/2010

Ever play that game Red Light, Green Light as a kid.  You know the games where the leader said “red light” and you had to stop in your tracks and at “green light” you would run your heart out to catch the leader and win.  Why is it I’m the same way with food.  I have red light foods that if I even keep them in the house I would go nuts and consume them all so I don’t even place them in my cupboards.  For example I ate half a box of Kashi Crackers in 2 days…I ate them with hummus but that’s a heck of a lot of crackers.  I have to stop them like a red light before the binge begins.  One pound of fudge purchased at Christmas intended to last a week barely made it past my van and dinner.  It was good but it was sugar!  And I have green light foods that I can eat and eat and eat some more and stop when I’m full.  I love green light foods and my house is full of them.



For me my red light foods are:

  • Chocolate
  • crackers
  • sugar stuff
  • candy
  • fancy cheese
  • fried foods
  • jam



And I have some definite green light foods that I always have on hand:

  • Veggies, veggies, veggies
  • Hummus
  • Yogurt
  • Fruit
  • Edamame
  • Eggs



And honestly I have some yellow light foods that I can go days without binging and then I jump off the deep end.  Things like:

  • Nut Butters
  • Bread
  • Pretzels/chips (baked)
  • Cereal
  • Sugar-free baked goods



Sure I eat more than that.  Trust me I eat a ton more than that but these are things I know I have to be conscious of especially when I’ve had an emotional day and want to turn to food.  But knowing what I need to be conscious of helps me to stay on course.  Red light, green light…I am in control.

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

This week was rough with workouts.  I had the best of intentions but my stomach had the worst.  After my great 6.5 mile run on Sunday I was raring to go with my workout schedule.  But then Monday I woke up with stomach pains.  And I know you are thinking that I always have some sort of stomach pains for IBS but this was more like the flu where food didn’t sound good and all I wanted to do was sleep.  I actually took a half day of work on Tuesday and full day on Wednesday to kick this bug in the pants.  Then Thursday I gave it one more day so I could hang out with my friend Chelle and teach her some quilting stuff.


I intended on running Friday but settled on a walk with Hunni to the grocery for this week’s goods.  It took 45 minutes and the wind in my hair made me feel like a movie star.  Saturday was great for a 45 minute Galloway run and then a walk around the tiny town of Lee after dinner.  Great date night and double workout right?  I think so.  I didn’t get nearly as many Activity Points this week but my body needed the rest.


This week I’m going to be a bit relaxed because I want to make sure that I am ready for my race in 2 weeks.  Here we go with my master plan…

  • Monday-60 minute Galloway Run, PT Exercises
  • Tuesday- 45 minute Galloway Run
  • Wednesday- Walking Intervals
  • Thursday- Hill Run
  • Friday- Calorie Scorcher, Mixed Body Circuit
  • Saturday- 5.0 Mile Galloway run on trail
  • Sunday- Long walk with dogs, Bike Ride with Hunni.



And all this week I putzed around and didn’t get a ton done.  I waited until Saturday to do most of my tasks.  But the push of having them on the list really got me to do them at all.

  • Finish cutting out quilt and start sewing. So the cutting is done although I will still have to buy some border fabric and the dust has been blown off my machine.  I picked a simple pattern so I could sew it as quickly as possible.  The dogs hate the sound of my sewing machine but are intrigued by all the pieces all over the folding table in the living room.  But I’m loving vegging to the TV while sewing instead of checking and re-checking the same websites each night.  Right now it’s about hitting the quilting zone so I have a present to take to the wedding in 3 weeks.
  • Request vacation time. Forms are printed and filled out to hit the mail Monday morning.  I don’t know why I put it off so long but now that it’s done even if the vacation doesn’t happen I will be taking time off.
  • Yoga 2 times. I just wasn’t up to it this week.  With the illness yoga was the last thing on my mind.  Perhaps I’ll have to plan on getting up for Namaste Yoga at least twice this week.  It’s only a half an hour earlier…I can do this right.
  • Plan romantic date for Hunni. I asked Hunni to finish his stuff for Sunday on Friday instead of Saturday and we enjoyed exploring Lee together.  It was great and unexpected.  We enjoy little towns and fun new stuff so it was great.  And a nice dinner out was a great time after the stressful week we had.  Yeah for fun date time!
  • Make at least two phone calls to friends. My friend Teisha and I talk to each other a lot less than we would like.  But when we do we love it.  So I called her and we chatted non-stop for over an hour.  We love to vent to each other and I can’t wait til I can travel down south to see her.  And my friend Beth is pregnant with her first little one and has spring break off in a few weeks.  So we called to catch up on her little visit out my way right after Easter.  I love living vicariously through her pregnancy since we are adopting and can’t wait to spend a day with her soon.  I miss her tons.  This was a great goal!



This week I’ve got a bunch on my plate and need to get cracking.  So here ya have my top 5 for the week.  If other stuff gets done I’ll be happy but I have to get this stuff done.

  • Plan activities for my cousins’/MIL’s visit. I don’t know how smart Hunni and I are but we have both my two young cousins and my MIL visiting the same week after Easter.  It’s Spring Break for the girls and the week of Hunni’s birthday so my MIL is visiting.  I’m definitely planning on getting the girls to bake a cake from scratch for Hunni and taking some long walks with the dogs since the love Peanut and Leo (I mean who doesn’t).  I want to have one night where Hunni and his mom can go out together.  Me and my lists will be at work this week.
  • Menu plan for Spring Break. Okay so normally I’m two weeks ahead but I wasn’t planning on having 3 extra people in my house that week.  So it will take a little finagling on my part to make kid and meat-eater friendly meals that I can eat too.  I know some of the stuff that my cousins like after their month-long visit so I have that planned but I need to get cracking on the rest of the stuff since I can’t just hope and pray that food will appear in my cupboards and they won’t really want go grocery shopping with me.
  • Buy a baby gate. Nope there is no little change growing in my tummy but we do need a baby gate.  We are staying with a friend the night before our Quarter Marathon and he wants us to trap the dog only in his downstairs so we need a baby gate.  I also need to get some other stuff on our list for that trip like more raisins for fuel and possibly a fuel belt or hand-held water bottle for the run since my Sigg isn’t easy to hold while running 6.55 miles.  Again attack of the lists.
  • Get at least 1/3 of the quilt squares done. I have the cut and the assembly line begins.  Zoning out to TV and making sure my workout schedule isn’t as time-consuming are key this week.  I’m going to end up covered in string and praying I don’t sew though my finger during a key moment of Criminal Minds.  I don’t think the bride and groom want a splash of red on their quilt.
  • Prep bikes for riding. The weather has been gorgeous lately and Hunni keeps begging to go bike riding.  You’ve noticed that I put a bike ride on the workout schedule but that involves getting air in the tires and looking at bike shorts so my lady bits don’t hurt.  And who knows eventually I might get number 62 accomplished this summer.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/03/2010 9:13 AM

    it’s great that you have a good grip on what your triggers are, and more importantly, taking a look at the emotions before you eat them.
    and yes, the bike shorts are a must for your lady parts. 🙂

    • 22/03/2010 9:27 AM

      THanks! I learned the bike shorts bit the hard way. Even with a bike seat it wasn’t enough.

  2. 22/03/2010 2:21 PM

    Wow you are one busy lady! I’m glad your stomach is feeling better. I think your exercise of identifying those danger foods for yourself is so important! Oreos are still one of mine!

    • 22/03/2010 2:28 PM

      Diane…busy isn’t even the word for it. I sometimes just wish I could have a real day off.

      Since learning about my sugar problems oreos hold less of a draw to me but chocolate is huge.

Leave a Reply

