Skip to content

Food Fix

16/03/2010

I’ve read a bunch of bloggers talking about the post long run hunger.  And Sunday was my longest run yet at 6.5 miles.  May seem puny to some runners but for me it means I’m ready.  My race on 3 April is a Quarter Marathon at 6.55 miles so I am going to rock it!



But after my run I wasn’t feeling too much in the realm of hunger.  I ate because I knew I would probably pass out if I didn’t so I made a big egg bagel sandwich thingy that I wish I had a picture of because it was messy and delicious.  Egg whites, avocado, roasted red pepper, hummus and chicken sausage all on a toasted whole wheat bagel.  I think I should patent this and sell it to some bagel place like Einsteins.  I could be Richy Rich 🙂  It’s a good thing I have a big mouth (Hunni tells me so) because this sucker was huge.  Huge yet didn’t really have that many calories and I was happy with it.  My stomach just wasn’t up to food.  And I didn’t have the ingredients for a Green Smoothie ala Kath.  Somehow my body did not register the 1000 calories I burned running.  Yep you read that right 1000 Calories!



But today my body more than made up for it.  I woke a bit sore and did some yoga stretches before devouring two pieces of toast slathered in almond butter and raspberry.  It took a lot less time to toast that up than it would have to make my oatmeal creation.  And good thing too because my arm was looking pretty tasty.  I’ve been a bottomless pit ever since.  Snacking on pistachios, a mini Luna bar or 3, half a honeydew melon, a hefty serving of crackers, something Hunni calls Orzo and Shrimpless Greek pasta (based on my Greek Shrimp and Orzo dinner but using different grains and no shrimp…Silly Hunni it’s still yummy).  And finally I realized I needed something sweet and the Luna bars weren’t cutting it.



I dug out the recipes I found on my favorite IBS treat friendly blog and picked the one I had all the ingredients for.  I present to you what I adapted to call Secret Almond Butter Blondies.

MMMMMMM.....

I made some normal substitutions for things I had on hand and to suit my needs.  I’m not gluten-free so I subbed in half all-purpose flour and half whole wheat pastry flour.





I doubled the recipe but didn’t double the almond butter.  I was scared because just one cup of it left my brand new almond butter jar looking like it was almost ready to make OIAJ.  I guess I can handle that 🙂

Almost ready for oats.

And then I added the secret ingredient to these Secret Almond Butter Blondies…

Currants!

My family uses currents in a traditional tea cookie recipe so I was excited to try them in something else.  And they look like chocolate chips to fool Hunni 🙂



Ingredients:

  • 1 stick(s) unsalted butter
  • 1 1/4 cup(s) Agave Nectar
  • 4 oz FAGE® Total 0%
  • 2 item(s) egg
  • 1 cup(s) Gold Medal All-Purpose Organic Flour
  • 1 cup(s) Whole Wheat Pastry Flour
  • 1/2 cup(s) dried currants
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup(s) almond butter



Instructions
Preheat oven to 350 Degree F. Butter 8×12 pan.
Put melted butter and agave in medium bowl and mix until light.

Add yogurt and mix thoroughly.

Pardon the counter...I'm a messy baker.

Microwave almond butter for 45 seconds to one minute until soft and slightly runny.

Melty perfection

Add almond butter, eggs, vanilla, and if desired orange zest.
Sift flour with salt and add to bowl in two steps. Stir in currants.
Place batter in prepared pan

Into the oven.

and bake for 40 minutes or until cake tester tests clean.

Let cool on wire rack,

Cooling off.

of course I’m not patient and had to taste the goods before they fully cooled.  Hunni and I split a piece of the corner.  Twas worth the burned taste buds 🙂

Just a taste.

remove from pan and cut into 28 squares.   I used the tea towel to catch it from the pan.  But my normal knife was not working to cut the squares like I wanted so I broke out the big guns.

To store, refrigerate in air tight container.  In order to prevent me “having” to eat them all too soon.  Some went into the freezer and a smaller batch into the fridge.


And lest you think I’m a civilized baker, Hunni and I licked the batter bowl and ate the crumbs from the dish towel.

Those fallen comrades were yummy too.




Now I’m off to taste test a second one since my hunger is insatiable tonight.  I need one more food fix for the evening so that I can stop eating after almost devouring my entire house today.  Perhaps I’ll eat a middle piece and give Hunni the edge.

Oooey gooey goodness!

Oooey gooey goodness!




I hope this hunger isn’t too permanent but I have a feeling it might be with all the running I’m doing.  We’ll wait and see.


Do you get really hungry after a lot of physical activity?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/03/2010 12:10 PM

    Hey there! I always tend to get hungry after an intense work out! I noticed that when I do Yoga though I get less hungry…

    xo

    Jocelyn

    ps your blondies look delicious!

    • 16/03/2010 2:30 PM

      Thanks. I think my body is still adjusting to the more intense workouts too.

  2. 16/03/2010 2:12 PM

    6.5 miles is NOT puny! Are you kidding me?! That is a great distance. That is one thing I wish were different about the blog-world…everyone’s standards for running get so high and crazy! You should be proud 🙂

    Oh, and the almond butter blondies look HEAVENLY!

  3. 16/03/2010 3:20 PM

    I too am hungrier when I workout hard – especially if I swim! I like the sound of the bagel you had – yum!

    • 16/03/2010 3:41 PM

      Good to know I’m not the only one. And trust me the bagel was sooooo good!

  4. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now permalink
    16/03/2010 5:23 PM

    You’re right, that’s completely normal! Hope your hunger is more “normal” now!

Trackbacks

  1. Cut It Out « It All Changes
  2. Happy Patriot’s Day! « It All Changes
  3. Blog Bake Sale « Carrots 'N' Cake
  4. Welsh Cookies–Recipe « It All Changes
  5. 2010 Goals in Review « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

