Skip to content

Microsurgery

06/03/2010

So yeah on Friday I was supposed to get to explore the lovely city of Boston.  I had scanned Tina’s blog and knew the places I wanted to check out and just enjoy the day with Hunni.  Instead I spent the day here…

Unfinished a few months ago.

Yep that is the building that now houses the state headquarters for The Salvation Army in Massachusetts and I was there to get some surgery done.  Sounds kind of stupid but my laptop needed a bit of micro-surgery.  The hinge on it was busted, snapped, cracked, jacked.







You see this time last year Hunni snap, crackled and popped the hinge on MY laptop when we were on the same trip we just took.  He dropped it straight off the bed in the hotel and just giggled.  See he got a new one for doing the same thing to his a bit back but mine still functioned.  It just held the screen on by one very thin wire that could snap at any second.  Yet it hung on for a year.



We live 3 hours from Headquarters so this was the first real-time we could get out there to get things updated and fixed.  And lucky me they had a computer that was about to be tossed since it didn’t work and fit my computer perfectly.  About a half an hour later and one extra screw my computer is bad to being as good as new.

Brand spanking new or at least it feels that way.  They even cleaned the screen and keyboard with their fancy schmancy computer cleaners.  I’m excited that My computer isn’t going to die at any second but kind of bummed that I don’t get a new one.  It will have to wait for another day.



But the best part is that I got to watch the IT tech perform the cool surgery on my sickly laptop.  All the screws and pieces taken apart very carefully and then artfully put back together so skillfully kind of like how the surgeon fixed my ailing back.



It’s a lot like Weight Loss.  I have an acquaintance who is doing one or two things to lose weight but is doing several other things to hinder her weight loss.  Weight loss sometimes feels like micro-surgery to me.  Not in the complexity of it all but in the fact that a lot of little things can add up to a great final product.  Here are some of the little things that add up a much easier weight loss:

  • Portion Control
  • Smart Eating Out
  • Exercise
  • Smart Snacking Choices
  • Sleep
  • Education on nutrition
  • Trying new foods
  • Trying new recipes
  • Family and Friend Support
  • Feeling a Sense of Accomplishment

Sure you can lose weight with just a few of these just like my computer could have gone back together without all the screws…The IT Tech warned me that he often has screws leftover.  But the more of these you have in your life the greater your weight loss.  And heck if you are lucky you can be like my computer and find a few more screws to help you hold together a healthy life.



So do some micro-surgery on your own Weight Loss and see what you can change-up or add to your plan to make it even more successful.



What are your key tools for Weight Loss?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/03/2010 11:25 PM

    Aw I hope you get a chance to explore Boston! There’s a lot of good eats! For example, my faaaaave restaurant, The Helmand in Cambridge. It’s Afghan food- totally healthful, crazy delicious!

Leave a Reply

