Skip to content

Going to the Chapel

20/02/2010

Going to the chapel and we’re gonna get married…Okay not me.  I’ve been married for almost 2 years now.  But two great friends of mine are getting married the week after Easter and the bridal shower is today!  I’ve never really been to a bridal shower.  For reasons unknown to me I didn’t really have one and I went to one little one thrown together at the last-minute for a rushed wedding last year.  It was full of goofy games and junky food.  But it was so fun to see friends.



So today I’m going to my friend Jaye’s bridal shower that should be full of wonderfulness and seeing old friends I haven’t seen in ages.  Jaye and I met on my summer internship right after my first year of seminary…that would make this almost 3 years ago.  She attended the church I interned at and hung out with me and all the other young adults all the time.  It was a blast getting to know her that summer.  And the entire summer I watched her be super sweet to Erik.  Erik was the music director for our church and that region.  The two had dated in the past and stated they were just friends.  But knew there was something more.



I bet Erik one boring day in the office that he and Jaye would end up back together when the time was right.  They were just kids when they had dated in the past but stayed in touch since The Salvation Army is one tight-knit web.  I mean he even had a picture of the two of them from before in his little cubbie in my office.  If that doesn’t say  love I don’t know what does.  I bet him $20 they would be dating by Christmas…and I was right.  I never did collect on that $20…I don’t think now is the time to ask for it though.



The are so adorable and even attended Hunni and my wedding as a couple and helped out a lot.  I’ve gotten to spend a bit of time with them recently since they live just an hour away but not as much as I’d like.  So this shower is a chance to hang out with just the girls and enjoy the excitement that is bubbling up in her as she has all her friends come out to support her.



There will be food and games that I’m usually not to fond of but then there will be presents.  Who doesn’t love presents?  I enjoy giving them more than getting them.  So Sarah and I made a trip to Target to accomplish my mission of making a fun present that won’t break my little bank.  Besides all the fun stuff was already purchased and I didn’t want to walk in with an iron.  Nothing says “Have a happy marriage.” like an iron….wrong.  Totally not my style.



Instead we went the creative route.  We decided to purchase all the left over kitcheny items and make a bouquet out of them.  Not that I’d want her to toss that one and hit me with it.  I have a strong suspicion that a pizza wheel and meat tenderizer could do so serious damage.  But I wanted it to look cute.  Something like a cross between these two…







Sounds cute right?!  Much more fun than a Bissel spot bot.  I sure hope she likes it.  Anyway off to have fun with the girls.



What is your favorite gift you have ever received?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Lyds permalink
    20/02/2010 2:58 AM

    I loooove the bouquet gift for a bridal shower! Almost as much as I like showers themselves 🙂

    I have pics on my Flickr of one I did, if you want some help!

    • 20/02/2010 7:13 PM

      Thanks Lyds! The bride loved the one I made. She joked about carrying it down the aisle.

  2. 20/02/2010 11:33 AM

    Cute idea- i love it! Have fun! I wish you had been given your own shower… Every bride deserves one!

  3. trumanmeg permalink
    22/02/2010 5:25 PM

    My favorite shower gift is my wine fridge. I love having something completely impratical that is so me. I can’t see myself living without it at this point and my husband thinks it is has only encouraged my wine problem ;-p.

  4. 23/02/2010 5:48 PM

    great idea! so creative!

Trackbacks

  1. A Day Without Internet :0( « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

