Skip to content

Food Detective

16/02/2010

Hunni was a sweetheart on Valentine’s Day.  He surprised me with delicious sugar-free truffles from our local chocolate shoppe appropriately titled I Got Goodies.  The owner is so sweet and makes delicious sweets…seems perfectly fitting.  And her sugar-free stuff tastes just like the regular so I inhaled the entire box of 10 treats before I could take a picture.



The only problem with the deliciousness that I ingested was whatever she used to sweeten them.  Most sugar-free stuff is full of sugar alcohols…malitol, dextrose, yada…yada…yada…and that doesn’t agree with my digestion.  I spent the rest of our wonderful Valentine’s Day on the couch in pain and watching a combination of the Olympics and Criminal Minds.  I didn’t get much sleep and woke up every hour.  Finally I just rolled out of bed at 7am to watch an Intervention Marathon on A&E.



My sugar-free mishap set me on a mission to be the food detective.  I’m still figuring out this what I can and can’t eat bit with IBS but I’ve learned that all those sugar alcohols wreak havoc on my system.  So on my grocery trip to Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods this afternoon reading every food label.  I admit I have a sugar fixation and I’m always looking for something sweet to feed this.  Sure I know the healthy sweet things to eat like fruit but the lure of the bad for me stuff is still there.  So I wandered TJ’s and WF for over 2 hours looking at any sort of snack that would fit my IBS and sugar needs. 



But anything without sugar had sugar alcohols in it and the stuff without the sugar alcohols was loaded with the real stuff or way to expensive.  I did finally find the elusive mini Lara Bars that are a great sweet treat.  Other than that I’m sadly disappointed with my options.  I walked out with bags full of healthy groceries but little healthy sweets. 



I guess my inner Nancy Drew has led me to add one more goal this week to find a sweet treat that I’ll enjoy and not feel deprived.  What I’m doing now isn’t working so I need to come up with some more options.  I’m honing my detective skills with recipes this week and indulging in mini Lara’s and Luna until I have a better plan.  I see some fun baking options in my future. 



Any sweet treat suggestions?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 16/02/2010 6:57 PM

    My friend with IBS also can’t eat sugar free candy. It really really hurts his tummy!! That’s really sweet that Hunni gave those to you, though!

    I just bought some Dark chocolte Adora disks, so for the next few weeks I’ll be getting my chocolate fix along with a healthy dose of Calcium! 🙂

    My “hunni” got me a sweet card, a flower pen, and the book Food Rules for Valentine’s Day! (So funny! He had know idea that Mal gave Tina the same things for V-Day!)

    I guess we healthy bloggies are all starting to rub off on our significant others in a healthy way, huh? 🙂 Yippee!!

    • 16/02/2010 9:45 PM

      Yeah…I’m buying Food Rules soon so I can read it. My library doesn’t have it.

  2. 18/02/2010 9:29 AM

    Sweets also don’t agree with me. I know that now. Sorry, but I don’t have suggestions. =/ I just really try to stay away from sweets. And when I do eat anything sweet, I suffer. Dang. It sucks to have such a sweet tooth.

Trackbacks

  1. I Am the Huntress « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

