Skip to content

Scar-y

11/02/2010

I’ve had a rough life…okay maybe I’m just a klutz but my body is full of scars.  I would not make a good model for any body part.  There isn’t a day that goes by that I don’t ding up my skin somehow like the paper cut I gave myself opening the mail today or the massive scratch on my pinky from reaching into a drawer filled with unknowns to find a pen….must clean out that drawer.



Just look at some of the wonderful world of scars I have.  Some are easier to see than others.



First there is the lovely scar on my forehead that I acquired at age 4.







It’s there just look a little closer….

There on the left.

I was chasing our new dog in and out the doors to our laundry room…playing in and out the window.  I chased the puppy, dad chased me and sooner or later I ended up square into the dryer.  Oh did I mention that we had just waxed the floors in preparation for moving.  The old wool socks I was wearing made great ice skates until they fell out from under me.  I don’t remember much after that but I do remember getting a nice lollypop because I didn’t cry when they put in all the needles and stitches.  Good times were had by all after my momma put her heart back in her chest.



Then there is the lovely set of scars on my shin; one from my preteen years and one from January.

The more recent one is more visible.

For the older of the two: I’d started getting peach fuzz and some girls at school made fun of it so I decided I was going to shave it…ALONE!  Yeah they didn’t have the nice fancy razors they do now with the guide wires and all.  Nope it was me and Bic in our claw foot tub.  Someone needs put a warning on these things and let girls know that if you shave straight up your shin bone you’ll be missing a piece of your leg.  Lots of gauze and some time to heal and that place still doesn’t tan…uh burn.



The new one is just above that and still more visible. I got belt sanded.  Well really Hunni dropped something on his treadmill on day that scared me so I almost fell off mine.  Still attached to my umbilical cord headphones I got a little to close to the treadmill’s belt and it sanded off some of my skin.  Seriously I couldn’t make this up.



I have a set of finger scars from smushing and slicing.







The one on the left hand is indented because I got it caught in a huge door at the grocery when I was 5 and screamed bloody murder until some lady came out of the restroom and set me free.  Momma left her groceries right there in the store to take me to the ER.  Eventually the nail fell off and I was left with the lovely indent.  The one on the right from accidentally slicing it on a broken window that was behind my bed.  Don’t ask me why it was there…I don’t know.  All I know is I have a funny upside-down U scar from the experience.  I’ll never be a hand model.



And the mother of all scars is on my stomach.

My butt stomach.

Yep I have a reverse butt on my stomach.  Major back surgery that somehow ended up going through my abdomen…go figure.  I already had flabby skin from all my weight loss even before they did the surgery.  Would have been nice for them to clean up the sagging stuff while they were in there but I guess they were too worried with the spine fusion and all.  Now I have a lovely zipper like scar that runs from the top of my bikini tankini bottoms to just above my belly button.  I’m really tempted like Roni to get a tummy tuck and get rid of it all.  But they would have to cut off my tattoo and really like it.  Oh decisions, decisions.



I may not make a pretty model but I’ve got tons of stories to tell with my body.  Some are fascinating and others not so much.  But all the scars on the outside really help me explain a little more about me on the inside.  I’ve gone through a lot with some of these scars and come out better for it.  Now to just try to avoid adding any more to my collection for fear of ending up like some comic book super villain.



Do you have any scars…where? what?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/02/2010 5:32 AM

    I have one on my left eye-brow from my cousin taking a belt buckle across it. I also have a scare under my left knee from the time that i slide down the hill in East Timor.

  2. Toby permalink
    11/02/2010 10:10 AM

    My spinal fusion went through my back… so I just have a really extended butt crack. I have to be really careful that my shirt doesn’t ride up at all in the back because, even if my pants are plenty high, it makes me look like a plumber.

    I’ve got plenty of other scars too, but none really bad. I’ve got a ton of little raised dots on my belly from when I had chicken pox (I didn’t even scratch!), a big abrasion scar on my knee (from alpine sliding. well, from wiping out while alpine sledding). A small one on my hand from an oops with a tile cutter while making a mosaic bench on a kibbutz in Israel. A pretty offshoot from the right side of my bottom lip from smashing my face on a rock while whitewater kayaking (7 stitches, baby!). Some pretty looking scarred knuckles on my right hand from getting a knuckle massage on some rough rocks while whitewater kayaking. One on my calf… I can’t remember exactly what happened there… I think I impaled myself on an exposed bolt or something. It was a long time ago.

    I’m sure there are more… but those are the ones I can think of offhand.

    Scars are hot, baby! hehe. At least that’s what I tell my husband 🙂

    • 11/02/2010 2:07 PM

      I have plenty more than I posted and I told Hunni the same then. Scars mean I’ve done a lot to be proud of 🙂

  3. 11/02/2010 11:24 AM

    Scars make us beautiful and differentiate us. Love this post! My biggest scar is on my right knee from a biking accident when I was little. I have tons of others though, and because my skin is so dark, they are very visible and tend to last for years at a time. Oh well. Happy Thursday!

    • 11/02/2010 2:05 PM

      Thanks for the comment. My light skin makes scars pretty visible even after they have healed.

  4. Chelle permalink
    11/02/2010 3:38 PM

    I have a ton too, all the way from Kindergarten to today. Of course, my biggest is my chest scar. Straight up the middle. I remember after my first surgery just praying it wouldn’t go so far up my chest to my throat so that if I *wanted* to hide it I could. Luckily it doesn’t go up too far. And for my wedding I was able to find a dress that covered it enough because I didn’t want to look at my wedding pics and see the scar.

    Now that I’ve had a second heart surgery, I’m back to keeping it protected for a year …such a pain. But it’s not just a scar, it’s a badge of honor. 🙂

    • 11/02/2010 7:40 PM

      Your scars definitely are badges of honor Chelle. You are very brave.

  5. 11/02/2010 4:30 PM

    I love my scars. I’ve got two big ones: one on my right elbow from falling on the playground asphalt when I was a kid, and one on my shoulder from when I had a pre-melanoma removed.

    I love the scar on my shoulder especially because it reminds me that I dodged a bullet and to always make my health a priority.

    • 11/02/2010 7:39 PM

      Oh I forgot about that scar. I have one of those on my shoulder too.

  6. 11/02/2010 6:33 PM

    I have a small scar on the skin between my thumb and first finger from a small elementary school gym class incident. I also have a small one on my ankle from scalding water the sloshed out of a stock pot.

  7. 11/02/2010 9:54 PM

    I have worse scars…I’ve got about 10-12 all over both of my legs, and that’s one reason why I can’t wear skirts or shorts anymore.

Leave a Reply

