Skip to content

Ah Push It

09/02/2010

So I realize I just said that I’m starting small with training and I am…really I am.  I scaled back how much running I’m doing to follow my Run University Plan and I’m looking into the Galloway method for longer race distances.  But I’m pushing myself harder in other areas.  I was a slack butt for months on strength training.  I pushed to get in at least some cardio throughout Christmas but I just dropped weights like a bit thud of the heavy lifters dropping their weights at the gym. 



But my new plan has me doing strength training both at the gym and at home.  I’m working hard to get in all the Wii Active workouts that part of the 30 day challenge.  What can I say I’m motivated by the little trophies I can win like the 100 squats I just got today and 1000 calories burned.  Who cares if the calories are only estimated by my Mii game I did it.  I never played sports as a kid so I didn’t have shelves of trophies for each sport played.  But I did collect the medals I got from all my nerdy science competitions and I have a stack of band t-shirts from each season I marched. 



But I must say that Bob (yep I named him after Biggest Loser Bob) the trainer on my Wii is a dictator.  Not only did he have me doing jump squats today but I had to do them twice along with two rounds of jump lunges.  I don’t think my legs have ever felt like lead so much in my entire life.  I’m now sitting on my ice pack to numb my sore hiney.  Doesn’t Bob know I just ran 2.25 miles for my 10K training?  Does he care.



Even though it may sound like I’m complaining I love it.  I’m the kind of girl who loved the I can barely walk feeling after her first session with a trainer.  I knew I had worked my muscles and they were screaming.  I don’t like pain but I like push.  I’m going to feign naïve and think this is what Salt ‘n Pepa were talking about…Ah push it, Push it good.  You tell ’em Pep!



So I’m enjoying pushing myself and thinking maybe I can save the money I was planning to spend on a trainer and just keep posting my workouts here.  I feel pushed to workout when I have them in writing and so I’m pushing myself at the gym in ways I thought only a trainer could do before.  I might actually have some sort of intrinsic motivation after all.



Back to hunting the internet and blogs for more fun exercises for cross-training and weights.



Do you enjoy pushing yourself at the gym?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/02/2010 11:23 AM

    I always liked the feeling of really pushing myself. I think the best way (my favorite way) was taking Body Pump classes last winter. They were killer, but i loved every minute.

    • 09/02/2010 12:00 PM

      I wish my gym had classes. That’s one thing I really want to find in a gym when we eventually move.

      • 09/02/2010 1:54 PM

        I love pushing myself at the gym or even during workouts at home. My HRM monitor is a major motivator. I always want to push to the next 100 calorie mark or beat my burn from the day before.

      • 09/02/2010 2:04 PM

        Katie we are long lost twins. I do the same thing. I love to see it go higher and look at the file to see the chart 🙂

  2. 10/02/2010 3:44 AM

    I love pushing myself to the limits. So much so that I sometimes overwork myself. I sometimes need to control myself.

Leave a Reply

