Skip to content

Blazing New Trails

05/02/2010

I was driving to Albany today for a regular meeting I have every Thursday and my GPS suggested a new route due to some high traffic volumes (don’t I sound like the traffic reporter on the radio 🙂  ).  I’m not normally one to go a different direction than one I know works.  I know how long it takes me to get there even with traffic.  The sights are familiar and the landmarks let me know approximately how long I have left of the drive.  It’s familiar and helps me relax on the drive since I already get anxious driving.



When I would drive home from college to my momma’s or dad’s for breaks I always took the same roads.  This was pre-GPS era and I knew that the road would get me to my destination eventually even in those awful snowstorms that always seemed to fall right around Thanksgiving and Christmas break.  My dad would freak me out the few times he would come pick me up for break and would take all these back roads and short cuts.  It was wasn’t normal and I liked my path best.  I could break up either trip into three sections….Houghton to Binghamton, NY….Binghamton to Albany if I was going to Dad’s or Delaware Water Gap to Momma’s… and then finally home for either.  It was safe and comfortable.  Did I mention I don’t do well with change?



But back to tonight’s trip.  I took a risk and blazed new trails.  Instead of going the way I knew would eventually get me there I followed Nuvi’s advice and turned off the well-worn path onto …well another well-worn path but not my own.  And much to my dismay she was right and I got there faster without sitting in the normal Thursday evening traffic.  And I learned some new landmarks to help me take that trip again should traffic rear its ugly head.  I took a risk and it paid off.



I’ve been doing this a lot lately.  Well not with driving because it still causes me anxiety due to many accidents in my past.  But I’ve been blazing new trails in life in general.  This whole maintenance thing is new to me and I’ve been handling the new challenges that come along with it.  Not relying on the scale as much as other goals for the week.  And setting new running goals so I don’t slack on my favorite sport.  And even going slow at it so that I can let my body adjust instead of being a bull in a china shop and breaking a bunch of stuff.



And even with food I’ve had to blaze some new trails.  Sure I know what to eat to maintain my weight but how I eat has been an eye opener.  Realizing when I’m training hard for a race (by hard I mean not just running willy-nilly like I have been for the past 3 months) I am ravenous (yeah SAT word) and need to plan for healthier snacks so I don’t inhale a bag of pretzels or all the carob chips I bought to try on the ride home from the co-op.  Yep bad planning on that front led to nights moaning on the couch in bloat hell.  And even the stuff I normally eat I’ve had to adjust for recognizing my body is more sensitive object than I thought.  Things I used to inhale in my past (*cough* Girl Scout Cookies *cough*) are now not so good for me and really don’t taste as good when I think about the pain I’ve caused myself eating it in mass quantities to deal with pain.



I’m learning still that new things are important to stay on this journey and I don’t think I’ll ever have it down to a science.  But I love the adventure even if I don’t like the detours.  I love learning more about myself through learning more things about my health.  I’ve got many more trails to blaze now to just get off my hiney and do it.  I might actually learn some even more fun things to share with you all.



What new things have you tried lately?



Oh and just for the sake of a challenge I tried another new breakfast this morning.

Looks like a muddy pool.

I made Mexican Chocolate overnight oats.  I always loved making Mexican Hot chocolate for my students when I taught Spanish so I wanted to recreate the flavors in oats.  I made overnight oats and then stirred in my dark chocolate hot cocoa mix and a generous helping of cinnamon.  Swirl it all around and dive in.  tasted like a cold mushy version of my hot drink but in a delightfully delicious way 🙂  It only would have been better if I had added some fruit for fun dipping.  Now off to dream up tomorrow’s breakfast creation.  I’m drawing a blank right now.  You’ll just have to show up to see what I come up with.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/02/2010 6:58 AM

    The most surprising and wonderful things happen when you open yourself up to change.

  2. 06/02/2010 8:47 AM

    what a creative oat combo!

Leave a Reply

