Skip to content

Read Me Happy

03/02/2010

I was a geek in school….well actually I prefer to be called a nerd.  I spent my recess indoors during elementary school reading and would bring my book outside to read under a tree when they forced me to go outside.  In middle school and high school I had a laminated permanent library pass that I would use instead of lunch (I was a food snob even then and didn’t want to eat fake junk).  I would spend my entire lunch time in the library at one of the big tables with my nose in a book.  I even carried my current book in my stack of books (no back packs allowed in the halls) so that I could read when I finished my school work.  And I think I was more proud of my library card than anything else I carried in my cute purple fake designer wallet.



Books were a passport for me to worlds I have never seen or may never get to see.  I mean come on who doesn’t want to go visit the Hobbits even if it is only in your mind.  I had such a vivid imagination I could picture all the worlds that I was reading about even if I could never actually go there.  And I was always sooooo disappointed at movies made from books because they never got it right to what I had pictured….heck I still get mad that the cliché of “The book was better.” is so true.



But life happened and I kind of got away from reading for pleasure.  There were so many text books to read in seminary and assignments to do and places to be outside of class that I forgot about the Kilimanjaro of books I had brought with me.  Sad to say most of them sat in a tote for the entire two years I was in seminary.  And I only got a library card near my seminary so I could rent movies.  Soooo sooooo sad and my mom (who started my love of reading) would have been so disappointed.  I even would longingly look at the book section in Target (hello best friend) or wander the shelves at Barnes and Noble only to either purchase a book that would sit on my shelf for collecting dust or go back on the B&N shelf for someone else to enjoy.



I miss reading.  I missed it so much that I’ve made the time to do it now despite my busy schedule.  Just like making appointments for exercise I had to make an appointment with myself to read.  I started small with “reading” books on CD while on my long car trips to and from Boston, Albany, Springfield and Hartford.  I forced my book choices on Hunni when I was driving because driver chooses the mode of entertainment, right?  Then I picked up a book from my shelf and didn’t put it down until I was lost in the story I had to force myself to close the book and go to sleep.



And now I can’t stop.  My blog yesterday wasn’t written/posted until 10am (I normally post it the night before) because I needed to unplug and took a bath with my new book.  I had to be careful because as a kid I dropped a library book in the tub and my mom had to pay for it.  It’s not exactly in the budget to pay for a large print version of Michael Pollan’s In Defense of Food (more on this in another post).  But I stayed in there until I was nice an prune-y and then went to bed to keep reading.  I have another book sitting on my night stand ready to read as soon as I finish this one which should be tomorrow.  I can’t even allow myself to take my book to the office for downtime for fear I won’t do any work at all. 



And my mind is more relaxed and enlightened all at the same time.  I enjoy relaxing with a good book, a cup of tea and my snuggie.  I forgot it was the little things in life that made me enjoy it…and I enjoy reading.  I’m glad I’ve found my love again.  I proudly hold my library card and even use inter-library loans like a pro.  I’m finding my joy for little things again and it makes me healthier all around.



What’s your favorite book?  Recommend me something to read next.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 03/02/2010 3:51 AM

    the Curious incident of the dog in the night-time, Jodi Picolut

  2. 03/02/2010 8:47 AM

    Have you ever read Middlesex? It’s a good one!

  3. 03/02/2010 2:32 PM

    I second both of the recommendations above!

    Also, I love all of David Sedaris’ short story collections; they are hysterical and perfect if you only have a short time to read each night. I’m reading one of his books on my nook while I workout…gotta multitask! 🙂

    How did you like Ali Vincent’s book btw?

    • 03/02/2010 2:52 PM

      I loved it! It really brightened my day and I couldn’t put it down. I read it in one night.

  4. 03/02/2010 2:55 PM

    I love this entry because I loveee reading. I spend most of my money on books even though most people think I spend most of it on clothes and make up. I always carry a book in my bag and when I was in school, I use to read everywhere too (on the bus to school, during breaks, etc.). I can’t even begin to explain what books have done for me.

    What are your favorite genres?

    • 03/02/2010 3:08 PM

      I love chick lit and then random stuff like The Time Traveler’s Wife and The Lovely Bones. Right about now I’m for anything that isn’t complete fantasy or vampires.

  5. 04/02/2010 4:12 AM

    I also love books. I spend more money on books than on clothes and accessories. Some of the other girls I meet think I’m weird. Well, I’m not like other girls. =D My favorite book is Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli.

  6. trumanmeg permalink
    08/02/2010 10:50 AM

    I am finding my way back into reading again too. I have a small book club with a few girlfriends that pushes me to read things besides the fluff that I usually read. Right now I’m reading one book at home and one book on my lunchhour at work. I find this allows me to clip through two books pretty quickly.

    No recommendations that I can think of right now since, like I said, I mainly read fluff but if I find something good, I’ll let you know!

Leave a Reply

