Skip to content

Mini Treats + Goals

01/02/2010

I think Luna Bar invented the best thing ever…Mini versions of their favorite styles.

Perfect bite-sized package.

Oh yeah baby now I can have them as a treat for 1 point instead of chowing down on a full-sized for 3 points.  I can even get them in multiple variety packs and choose my treat each day.  I love the chocolate peppermint flavor but 3 points for a bar just for a snack was always too much…not that it stopped me all the time.  I tend to save them for quick breakfasts (though not this week) and for right before a workout.  But now I can actually enjoy the little mini ones as a dessert after a very nice lunch or dinner.  They are three lovely bites of bliss that don’t make me feel guilty for wasting a bar or the points.  Thank you so much Luna.



I’ve heard in the blog world that Lara Bar does the same thing with their bars but I’ve yet to find them.  I love Lara Bars but don’t purchase them as often.  Even with a stellar list of ingredients I can’t see eating a 4 point bar of yumminess and I can’t stop at half the bar like some amazingly controlled bloggers I read.  Cherry Pie made only with nuts and real fruit is just too irresistible to stop half way.  But the second I find the minis you can be sure I’ll scoop them up by the cart full and savor each little desserty bite.



Other little dessert treats I like are No Sugar Added Fudgesicles but they aren’t as healthy.  But I recently did buy some to cool the fire in my throat and think they will be a more regular purchase when a chocolate fit attacks and I don’t want to have a tummy ache.  Besides Hunni loves them and they are “healthy” treats for him too.  Must remember to buy enough to share 🙂



Having a little treat helps to keep me from wanting real junk food.  It keeps me from ordering dessert at a restaurant (so does the cost quite frankly) and it keeps me from digging into Peanut’s ice cream.  I need to keep this in mind when it comes to other delicious tasting but not so good for me foods.  Sure I have things I can’t have due to stomach issues but things like cheese and pasta aren’t all bad as long as I keep the portions mini like the Luna Bars.  Food…any food can be good in moderation.



What kind of treats do you enjoy?



And now onto the goals because I’m super excited…maybe.

Last Week’s Goals:

  • 3 workouts. Okay so I didn’t get 3 real workouts in but I did get two and then I scrubbed my kitchen and other living spaces over the course of two days.  That’s has to count for a workout right.  I wasn’t allowed to get to the gym no matter how much I ached to so I’m counting it and I’m super glad that I can finally be back in the gym for real now that the symptoms are gone…Thank you God (and Zpack).
  • Brainstorm new breakfast ideas. Thanks to reading of some lovely food blogs and reading some of my favorite new cookbooks I have a list of breakfasts to try this week.  Yeah for a new challenge to my own mind and health.
  • Catch up on work. Even with being out of the office a bunch this week so I didn’t scare the clients with my superb hacking skills and full on faucet of a nose I still got a lot of work done.  I submitted all my grants and only have a few minor things left for monday morning.  Score one for productivity.
  • Set up strength training. I called Boot Camp Steve and he hadn’t started the boot camp that we discussed.  But I didn’t know how to ask if he’d be my trainer.  So I called up the trainer at my gym and I will schedule an appointment as soon as we can afford it.
  • Plan meals and stock pantry. God bless the dented can section at the grocery.  My canned goods are pretty stocked now with diced tomatoes and beans which are the staples of many of our meals.  And I took inventory of all the food I had realizing that we have a ton of meat (read: six packages of chicken sausages).  Dinners may be boring for the next few weeks but I don’t need to be Julia Child every night.



This Week’s Goals:

  • Start strength training. I’m going to schedule my first trainer appointment for the middle of the month.  Until then I need to push myself at the gym and with Wii Active to do some strength on my own.
  • No eating out. There is no reason this week for us to eat out.  I have menus planned and need to stick to them.  We’ve gotten lax of just eating out for convenience when we are in a hurry.  I have so many quick options for meals up in my noggin and in my cabinets so even if I can’t cook the full meal I have planned we have no excuse.  Hunni and I have an agreement on this so we’ll remind each other.
  • No frivolous spending. It’s gotten so easy to buy one thing here, a few things there and it all adds up.  This week Hunni and I agree no excess spending even if we beg each other.  This is going to be hard because we’ve gotten in the habit of just picking up some Fuze teas while out.  But I have a cabinet of tea so I don’t need it…you hear yourself Cynthia…you don’t need it.
  • Back to 10K training. Now that the illness has vacated my body I need to get back on track with my training.  I’m going to take it easy my first run back but I need to get a move on…but safely…so that when race day hits I’m proud of my effort and time.
  • Rework my budget. I’ll fully admit with the frivolous spending we haven’t been keeping to our set budget as much as possible.  And with adding the trainer back into my routines I need to rework it so that we are on track.  Besides we need to start saving for our up coming vacation to see friends and entry fees for races we want to run in the spring, summer and fall.



A little bit of this… a little bit of that.  All my goals are achievable and I’m bound and determined to have another week of full on green.  I’m so freaking proud of this week even with the sickness from hell.



What are your goals for the week?



And in accordance with my Breakfast Challenge here’s what I ate Sunday morning before church.





Whole Wheat Tortilla with sliced apple, Almond Butter and a swish of honey.  Filling and crunchy.  And a quick easy change from my oatmeal.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/02/2010 8:57 AM

    I love the mini ones! There are mini clif bars as well!

  2. 01/02/2010 9:33 AM

    That brekky looks amazing.

    I have muffins in the oven from your Gluten Free book.

    I heart you.

  3. 01/02/2010 11:13 AM

    I’ve never seen mini Lunas but LOVE the full-size ones. I used to eat one every single day for breakfast in high school — not the best meal replacement but better than going on an empty stomach.

    • 01/02/2010 11:28 AM

      It used to be my go to meal replacement…especially during Kettles when I had no time. But I do love them.

  4. Stacy @ Larabar permalink
    01/02/2010 5:54 PM

    There is a box of Larabar minis for sale at Whole Foods! A both of 12 minis, 4 of each Apple Pie, Cashew Cookie, and Cherry Pie!

    • 02/02/2010 9:52 AM

      I’ll have to look harder the next time I go. I always just skim right past it since I didn’t see them the first time I looked. Thanks Stacy.

  5. 02/02/2010 12:34 AM

    So glad I saw your post today! I agree- 3 points is a lot for a snack, but I keep the Lemon Zest Luna Bar in my glove box in the car for days like today. Horrible traffic and I was STARVING when I got off work. It got me thru a 40 minute commute (no fast food stops!), and gave me enough energy to make a light dinner.

    I’m on an ice cream kick lately, and I love the WW Turtle Sundae!

    Next time I’m at the store I’ll look for the mini Lunas!

    • 02/02/2010 9:44 AM

      I used to keep one in my purse for the same reason. Now the little ones are just enough to hold me over instead of going cannibal and eating my arm.

  6. 02/02/2010 9:34 AM

    Mini-treats? I try to just eat fruits when I’m craving something sweet. It’s much healthier. When I can’t say “no”, I eat a low-calorie crispy bar (about 90 cal). And it has no hydrogenated oils!

  7. 02/02/2010 9:41 AM

    great job on the goals!

    I wish I could find the mini Larabars, too – I think they’d be great to carry around in my purse.

    • 02/02/2010 9:51 AM

      Thanks…I worked hard to get them all in. Yeah until I find the mini Lara’s I’ll carry the mini lunas.

  8. trumanmeg permalink
    02/02/2010 1:29 PM

    I am a granola bar person. I love them, they are so quick and can be somewhat filling, so I eat those a lot. I’m trying to be better about having fruit/veggies as a snack as well.

    My goals, well you know my workout ones ;-p. Besides that I really want to take at least 1/2 an hour every night to read. I love reading but I let the tv trap me in and I don’t get to it as much as I would like.

Leave a Reply

