Skip to content

Breakfast Challenge

31/01/2010

I’m a creature of habit.  I run as my preferential form of exercise.  I do the same yoga poses if I’m making up my own flow or just standing in the grocery line.  I have a very routine… well routine each morning and night.  And because of this my breakfasts are fairly mundane…down right dull in fact.  I eat oatmeal everyday for breakfast and we’re not talking different toppings each morning ala Kath either.  We’re talking regular old-fashioned oats with a diced apple and a hefty scoop of Trader Joe’s Raw Crunchy Almond Butter…every…single…morning.  And some days it gets boring so I grab a quick Luna Bar from my stash instead.  Both are quick options that take only a few minutes each morning and thus make it simple to stick to the pattern.



This made me realize I might not be using this wonderful meal to its full potential.  They (who are they anyway) say that breakfast is the most important meal of the day but I relegate it to what I can shove in the microwave for a quick few minutes and then in my mouth in the same amount of time.  There are so many more options for breakfast…just in oatmeal toppings alone.  So one of my goals for this past week was to come up with some different ideas for breakfasts in order to challenge myself. 



Enter THE BREAKFAST CHALLENGE! I want to change up my pattern this week and see if I can find some new breakfast options to keep the monotony down and limit my eating of Luna Bars to refueling on the go.  It can’t hurt to have options right.



I’ve done extensive research looked at food blogs and some recipes to come up with some ideas.  I’m still going to enjoy some oatmeal but I’m going to mix it up with some banana chia seed oats like Tina and a menagerie of toppings like the oatmeal queen Kath.  And my oatmeal hating friend Erin has a great egg white breakfast sandwich every morning that I’m going to enjoy this week too (minus the cool Lobster mug of coffee…sensitive stomach and all).  I also want to try some pumpkin yogurt that Caitlin has been raving about and I have a great can of pumpkin just waiting in case I love it as much as she does.  Other ideas might include a Green Monster like Angela or some soaked quinoa and eggs like Mish.



And just in case those weren’t enough options I’m making waffles for dinner on Sunday and I’m going to make some extras to use for breakfast sandwiches with Almond Butter and banana or maybe use up some of my Whole Wheat Tortillas to make a PB and J Quesadilla like Allison.  I’m determined that anything but my regular oatmeal or Luna Bar will pass my lips each AM this week.  So determined that I haven’t replenished my Luna Bar stash this week and will smack my own hand if I reach for the apples.



I think I can do it just like the little engine that could…I think I can…I think I can…I think I can.  And besides I desperately need a change.  When I start getting bored with food I start eating too much or junk neither of which is good for my health.  So I know I need to do this to keep things changing…I mean it all changes right.  I change up lunch and dinner more often now but breakfast is my new challenge.  At the end of each post this week I’ll post what I ate…sometimes with a picture if I’m awake enough to remember to take it or sometimes with the description.  Perhaps if I give myself enough ideas this week I’ll actually keep trying to change it up every now and again.



What do you eat for breakfast?  Is it the same everyday?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 31/01/2010 9:14 AM

    lol– I eat oatmeal in the winter months, and cereal in the summer months. Lately though, I’ve been switching it up and having pb toast once or twice a week– CRAZY!!! 🙂

    I could definitely benefit from joining you on this breakfast challenge 🙂

    • 31/01/2010 10:30 AM

      Join away. I just had a tortilla with almond butter, apple and honey. Crunchy and delicious.

  2. 01/02/2010 2:06 AM

    I eat whatever my mom cooks for me. Or toast. I’m not a breakfast person. Sometimes, I miss breakfast and my body no longer cares. It skips straight ahead to brunch or lunch.

  3. 01/02/2010 12:07 PM

    eggs would be a great idea in the morning. people too often overlook a whole food protein source in the a.m. because it’s not as fast as pouring a bowl of cereal. but eggs are so fast and easy, you can just nuke them too (no fat added!).

    • 01/02/2010 1:34 PM

      Thanks for the idea. I usually forget that you can microwave eggs. That’s tomorrow’s experiment.

  4. trumanmeg permalink
    02/02/2010 1:11 PM

    You are so right about ruts. I eat some form of cereal (we usually have at least 3-4 kinds) every single morning. I could have oatmeal, I could have Carnation Instant Breakfast both which also take the same amount of time but I love, love, love cereal so I eat it every day. I doubt I will ever be making anything for breakfast though, I really do like being able to sit down with my cereal, check my email and relax and know that I have only one dish made dirty. I am trying to eat better though during other meals to make up for my boring breakfast that isn’t always the best for me (yes, I slide in sugar cereals every once and awhile ;-p).

    • 02/02/2010 3:11 PM

      See I don’t like cereal that much although I did try it this morning. It just doesn’t fill me up.

  5. 30/05/2010 9:14 PM

    wow… Luna bar breakfast… I have a similar post about the Luna bar breakfast… I also choose candy and chips…

Trackbacks

  1. Mini Treats + Goals « It All Changes
  2. Motivate Me « It All Changes
  3. Starting Small « It All Changes
  4. Blazing New Trails « It All Changes
  5. Rough Night « It All Changes
  6. Lessons Learned + Goals « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

