Skip to content

Doctor’s Orders

26/01/2010

After a bit of a mix up this morning I finally got in to see the nurse practitioner this afternoon.  I’d done the waiting game and I’m not the patient so I had to get some answers to fix this.  I guess I’ve been coughing so hard in my sleep that I had a dream about coughing out all my fillings and asking Hunni to save them so the dentist could put them back in later. I also scared Leo and he slept under my side of the bed instead of at my feet.  Poor little guy.



Anyway the NP said she would do the exam and we could make the decision together about the treatment…I like that since I’m kind of a control freak.  And I watch a ton of Discovery Health and Dr. Oz so I’m qualified right?



Turns out it’s not a chest infection but since I have extreme exposure to the public I probably got an upper respiratory infection.  The dry winter heat in our apartment had dried out my breathing passages and left me open to any germs our clients and congregation walk in with.  How nice of them to share.  I did get a really bad case of bronchitis a few years back for the same reason so sounded reasonable to me.  Anyway here was the NP’s and my decision to start with for getting this fixed.  If this doesn’t work in 2 days then she’ll prescribe some antibiotics…I’m not all pro-antibiotics since I had so many as a kid and developed allergies so I’m willing to try anything else first.  Well almost anything…I don’t think I’d like to stand on my head and spit wood and nickels (my dad’s suggestion).



First the doctor ordered something I had to think about for a second but only a second.  She prescribed one of these every hour.

A cup of hot tea every hour with a nice teaspoon of honey.  Instead of some of these Honey Bunnies I’ve been snacking on out of boredom…

I had to buy this Honey Bear-y instead. Just like my mom had growing up. Supposedly its the best cough suppressant…even better than codeine…I can handle that.

So stoic.

But Hunni thought he’d be lonely and asked if we could get two so he could enjoy some PB and Honey Sandwiches.  I couldn’t resist him (the bear Hunni) so we got twins…

Aren’t they adorable.  They’ll probably go real quick with my tea addiction and Hunni and his honey sandwiches.  But what can I say it was doctor’s orders.

She also prescribed the traditional inhaler to help with the coughing fits which I hope works real quick.  I’m so thankful I don’t have one of these for asthma because I forgot how tricky they are to use.  Too many complicated steps.  How do I puff and breathe in at the same time…any help?



And she also prescribed a little friend. I guess Peanut and Leo aren’t enough?

Isn't he cute?

Well she told me to prevent the dry air that is causing the problem I needed to get a humidifier.  She didn’t tell me it had to look like Skipper from Penguins of Madagascar but why not.  I think Leo might be a little territorial and has been avoiding Skipper like the plague.  But he is super quiet and will make a nice addition to the family.  Hopefully he doesn’t turn into the crazy Ricco penguin… can you tell we watch too many children’s cartoons.  It’s that and History Channel in our house all the time 🙂



I should have known I needed a humidifier because my doc said the same thing back when I had the bronchitis.  But the old one is kind of nasty from sitting in storage for so many years so the new little guy was needed.  You can get it in the shape of a frog or elephant too.  I might get a frog for my office…Ribbit, ribbit.  You’d think I’d have learned a lesson from before but I guess the old noggin just hasn’t been thinking clearly.



Off to Tar-zjay we went to find our new little friend and decided to stop in to Panera for some fun time.  My throat is killing me and doc ordered the tea and other hot liquids so dinner was a bread bowl of black bean soup with a cup of chai tea latte.  Brandi has got me thinking about sourdough with all her yummy treats so a sourdough bread bowl was just what this doctor ordered.

And one more little treat to help soothe the throat when the heat of the honeyed tea just isn’t enough.

What can I say…Hunni twitsted my arm.  It really was purely decadent and notice the organic spinach I also bought.  Kind have to balance it out.



So I’m on the mend slowly but surely.  The NP said call on Thursday so I’ll give our plan until then.  Here’s hoping and praying it works.  I’d really like to stop sounding like Peanut and get back to my 10K training.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. 26/01/2010 3:40 AM

    I hope that you feel better. My grandma always spread Vicks on my chest and covered it with a thin towel. it works.

    It’s funny cause some people are like “I can’t eat when I am sick”…God, I could eat the whole time.

    • 26/01/2010 1:02 PM

      I ate a ton yesterday…and wanted more so I just went to bed. carbs are my best friends when I’m sick.

  2. Celia permalink
    26/01/2010 4:12 AM

    You’ve got to be the most chipper sick person I’ve seen (well, read). It was very thoughtful of you to buy a friend for your Honey Bear. Hope it works and you feel better soon!

  3. 26/01/2010 3:51 PM

    I hope her alternative therapies work for you! That would be great to avoid antibotics. We always try the simple things first and surprisingly, they often work!

    Hope you feel better soon.

  4. 26/01/2010 5:32 PM

    I hope you feel better soon! I am all about the pb & honey sammies!

  5. Jenn Eats Nutritiously Now permalink
    26/01/2010 6:07 PM

    I hope you feel better SOON!

  6. 26/01/2010 10:41 PM

    Oh my gosh . . . this is so weird. I just had a dream the other night that all my teeth fell out and the dentist had to glue them back in. What is THAT about?

    • 27/01/2010 3:05 PM

      I have no idea but it was trippy. I woke up checking all my teeth to make sure they were still there.

  7. 28/01/2010 7:14 AM

    It’s so awesome how you still maintain a positive attitude even when you’re sick. I always feel down in the dumps when I get sick…. Anyway, with regard to Mish’s comment. My mom also did the same thing before.

    • 28/01/2010 12:53 PM

      Thanks. I have to keep laughing because I’d cry otherwise. I hate being sick.

Leave a Reply

