Skip to content

Why set goals?

21/01/2010

I used to watch Futbol (or what Americans call soccer) all the time.  My favorite part was when some overly excitable Spanish man would shout GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!!!!!!!  I lived for that moment.  And it doesn’t happen that often in a true futbol match so it was always a big deal.  And my college only had a soccer team and not an American Football team so lots of weekends were full of watching the games including Homecoming.  My guy friends were dorks who would mimic the announcer all the time.  I can still hear it.



So what does FUTBOL have to a healthy blog.  I do not play soccer because I’m just not that coordinated with kicking and running at the same time.  I mean I can run….and I can kick but you put the two together and I look like a new-born giraffe.  But for me the key is in the word goal. 



Goals are little things we should all set.  I’m sure we all made New Year’s Resolutions in one way shape or form.  Whether you wrote them down or just thought about something you wanted to change this year.  And then the long-term goals we set for ourselves that can take a while sometimes even years to achieve.  And all the mini little goals we set for ourselves that help us get to the bigger goals and make them seem smaller.



So here’s why I set goals. 



When I started to lose weight the entire amount I needed to lose seemed insurmountable.  So instead I broke it down into little mini goals that made it seem more possible.  Weight Watchers is great at this and celebrates every 5 pounds lost and then the bigger things like 10% and higher poundage.  All these little things for me added up to a big total and ultimately goal.



For me I set little rewards for each mini-goal I achieved.  Sometimes it was something as simple as a bubble bath with a nice candle. Or then a new book that I could read in the steamy bubbles.  I tried to make them as cheap as possible since I had so much to lose and didn’t want it to be my cash.  But with the bigger things like 25 pounds or 1 mile run I was more likely to spend money for a movie in the theatre (hey they’re expensive these days) or a new CD.  Each goal gave me an excuse to pamper myself which I’ve told you have a problem with doing.



If I set goals I could meet I got a sense of accomplishment.  I was proud of doing things I set out to do…imagine that.  I tried not to make them so out in left field that I wouldn’t be able to do them but just far enough that I had to work.  When I had failed so often in the past at losing weight or getting fit I needed to have some early success.  But now I set them higher and with more work necessary because I know I can do it.  I need to kick myself in my own butt…hey thats a new challenge maybe 🙂



And now I keep setting them every Monday to keep going.  I already accomplished all my weight loss goals and now I set goals for my health and fitness so that I keep moving forward.  If I were to just stay still I would get bored and probably put on all the weight back on.  But I enjoy the push just as much now to remain healthy as I did when I was getting healthy.  I need a challenge and something to keep going forward.  I don’t want to go back so forward I go with new goals all the time.



What kind of goals do you set for yourself?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 22/01/2010 12:42 AM

    I joined WW on Monday and my first goal is 5% of my body weight! It’s about 10 pounds. (20 more after that… ughhh)

    I set mini goals throughout the week (walk to this errand, take this yoga class, do this many sit-ups…) and I cross them off as I reach them.

    I also try to stay focused with hydrating! I am so often dehydrated, and that makes me feel tired and grumpy, and makes losing weight hard!

    So excited for you- I cant wait to reach my goal! Hopefully by September when I turn 30!

    • 22/01/2010 10:36 AM

      That’s Great! You can do it and WW is a great program. Sounds like you have great mini goals too.

  2. 22/01/2010 7:51 AM

    I agree that breaking down big goals into little goals really help make things less overwhelming. Plus this keeps you from biting off too much than you can handle. I totally loved this entry. Very enlightening.

  3. trumanmeg permalink
    30/01/2010 12:55 PM

    For me, I’m trying not to focus on weight loss since I think I only spin my wheels when that is my primary focus. I’m not even stepping on the scale frequently. Instead, I’m trying to get weekly goals of working out and eating right. I really want to get at least 1,000 fitness minutes a month and 25/30 days of tracking what I eat. This would be huge for me.

    • 30/01/2010 10:33 PM

      Setting goals you think are attainable. It took me about a year to lose 10 pounds so I had to send other goals for myself that I could control. Good for you for seeing fitness goals and tracking goals you can achieve.

Leave a Reply

