Skip to content

Eat Your Vegetables

20/01/2010

I’m not a vegetarian but I love vegetables.  I take that back I love all vegetables except cauliflower.  Something about little bleached trees does not appeal to my appetite.  The smell of them make me gag.  But I love all other vegetables even some of my former hated ones. 



I recently discovered that any veggie roasted is so sweet and caramelized I could eat them by the bowl full.  Including my former nemesis.  I used to avoid them like the plague.  Something to do with my dad telling me they were baby Cabbage Patch Kids when I was younger.  Thanks Dad!  But after all the hype on the blogs about roasting those little things I had to try them.   At Whole Foods I added some to my salad and never looked back.  Sorry kiddos those things are yummy.



Well recently learned some interesting things about veggies.  On my budget I’m not usually pretty likely to buy fresh veggies.  I love them and all buy my budget doesn’t have a ton of green itself.  So I stick to fresh for baby carrots, celery and potatoes.  Almost everything else I buy frozen.  My freezer is a smorgasborg of the veggie kind.



I was reading recently and found some awesome nutritional nuggets about my veggies.



Did you know…

  • Frozen Peas have up to 4 times as much Vitamin C as canned peas.
  • A typical serving of potatoes has nearly 5 times as many antioxidants as a typical serving of broccoli.
  • Women who take a forward-thinking approach to food and cooking (that means they try new recipes, plan meals and shop with a list) have a higher intake of vegetables.
  • Frozen produce often has higher nutrient density than fresh.  But a study in The Journal of Science of Food and Agriculture found that for some vegetables canning degraded as much as 95 of the vitamin C and damaged ever B vitamin in the food.
  • People who eat more than two servings of vegetable a day have a 40 percent slower rate of cognitive decline than those who eat one serving or less.
  • If you shop at a farmers’ market, you are 3.2 times more likely to eat 5 servings of fruits and vegetables a day than if you shop at a supermarket.

– Source : Cook this, Not That.



Who knew my favorite snack foods were so good for me.  I think I’ll stick to them and find some new ones to try at my next trip to the Farmer’s market or grocery.



What is your favorite veggie?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 20/01/2010 4:01 AM

    I LOVE brussel sprouts..LOVE them.

  2. 20/01/2010 9:12 AM

    Yeah, I eat about half fresh and half frozen…but typically stay away from the canned stuff 🙂

    I’m a reformed cauliflower hater as well 🙂

  3. 20/01/2010 9:46 AM

    I LOVE roasted veggies, too. It just makes everything taste better 🙂

  4. 20/01/2010 2:19 PM

    I need to try roasting beets. I don’t like the red ones from a can.

  5. 20/01/2010 5:29 PM

    Thanks for the info on the antioxidants in my potatoes! i think I’ll stick with them! 🙂 yay roasties!

    • 20/01/2010 10:17 PM

      That’s what I thought too. I used to avoid them for too startchy but I’ve changed my mind recently.

  6. trumanmeg permalink
    30/01/2010 12:53 PM

    I love peas and corn. I could eat both all day. I do a lot of the frozen stuff for budgetary reasons as well but I try to eat least 1x a week eat the fresh stuff.

Leave a Reply

