Skip to content

High Maintenance Me

19/01/2010

High Maintenance is not something I would think about when describing myself.  I think I’m pretty laid back.  I mean I can get ready for work or to go out in a few minutes…sure my hair may be pulled into a pony tail and I’m wearing the same jeans as yesterday but I don’t care.  And I’m not the type to try on multiple outfits before going out with Hunni on a date.  I did that the first few times but it got old quick.  Besides I don’t have many nice clothes so I tend to wear the same combo of outfits.  *Hint Hunni…I might like a new dress.*  I’m just pretty boring.


 

But the other day Hunni called me high maintenance…ME!  Apparently to him I’m a bit demanding and needy but not in a negative way.  Let me explain.

 


For example we went to Starbucks today before wandering around TARGET.  I had to use the bathroom so I asked him to order my normal drink for me.  A look of horror flashed across his face and he quickly shook his head back and forth almost causing himself whiplash.  “It’s too complicated.”  I guess a Tall Decaf Skinny Cinnamon Dolce Latte was just too much and he didn’t want to get it wrong.  I guess he’s right because one day he was trying to order it for me as a surprise and asked for a skimpy latte.  Eeek the idea of a latte in tight clothes just had me laughing hysterically. 

 


Continuing with food he laughs at my When Harry Met Sally ordering skills.  I never order anything the way it is on the menu.  I’m sure I’d tick off some fancy chef if I went to a nice restaurant.  Dressing on the side, take off the bacon, extra veggies.  Yep I do it all.  I’m not as bad as Sally but I’ve had my moments.  What can I say I know how I like my food and if I’m going to eat out I want it to be Burger King style…you know Have it your way.

 


He also laughs at my abundance…or in his words over abundance… of exercise paraphernalia.  The entire front corner of our living room is full of a step, medicine ball, several weights, yoga stuff, etc.  And I love to hang out in the fitness section of Target or in Dick’s Sporting Goods.  He’s actually had to cut me off from any new “toys” until I show him I can use the ones I have.  But I get around that deal by purchasing more workout clothes so I can use the gear 🙂

 


And speaking of workout clothes I have a special laundry basket for it.  I workout almost every day and the laundry was filling up far to fast for my fluff and fold master.  Besides I sweat like a hog and it was stinking up our other clothes.  So we purchased a special basket and keep it near the bathroom.  And I have special instructions on how to wash it to keep the technical fabrics at their highest potential.  It’s like a mad scientist in action when I watch him wash my clothes.  I think he does it so specifically so I won’t buy more….sorry Hunni it’s not going to work.  I just need a new dresser for it all 🙂

 


I guess I like to sleep a lot by Hunni’s standards too.  I mean I don’t sleep well and don’t fall asleep easily so when I finally do I like to keep going.  My alarm is perpetually set for at least 30 minutes before I have to get out of bed so that I can hit the snooze several times.  I used my cell phone for an alarm and Hunni has actually thrown it across the room once and hides it under my pillow all the time.  I think he assumes the vibrations will wake me up…they just lull me into weird dreams that I’m a bee or something.

 


But I think the most high maintenance part of me that Hunni notices is that I spend a TON of time with him.  I mean we work together everyday and I like him ot be in the office with me to keep me company even if he doesn’t need to and can do other things around the building.  I just get lonely in the office by myself for 6 hours.  I can only listen to so many show tunes on Pandora without wanting to act out my own musical.  And then at night since I have no local friends we are always together.  Luckily I’ve started making more friends that I can visit or call so I don’t drive him too nuts.  But I like the guy a lot so I like spending time with him.

 


Okay so maybe I am a bit High Maintenance when you put it that way but at least I don’t look like this…

Heidi Montag 😛

Chanel nails and all.  Nope not me.  So I’m okay with my version of high maintenance.



In what ways are you High Maintenance?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. 19/01/2010 3:02 AM

    omg I hate going out, I hate it when people want to have me over for dinner..cause I am like ‘yeah I can’t eat hardly anything’.

    I always ask if there’s sugar and/or gluten in stuff.

    I totally know what you mean though.

  2. 19/01/2010 7:16 AM

    I’m the same kind of high maintenance as you. My boyfriend looks at me all funny when I start acting up. He’s also afraid to do stuff for me because I have my standards.

  3. 19/01/2010 9:27 AM

    Oh, I know I am high maintenance. Especially when it comes to cleaning – I always tell Carl that there is one thing I need in life – a clean house.

  4. 19/01/2010 10:10 AM

    ha, love it 🙂 YOUR version of high maintenance is not a bad thing 🙂

  5. 19/01/2010 10:32 AM

    lol– my husband makes fun of my excess of exercise materials as well…especially all my t-shirts and sports bras! 🙂

  6. 19/01/2010 12:02 PM

    LOL – I can be that sort of high maintenance too! I’m always relieved when someone orders something ridiculously specific before me @ Starbucks; makes my venti skinny vanilla latte sound better 😉

    Thankfully (for him!) the husband hasn’t called me out on it yet, or he’d be hearing from me about his 30-minute showers!

    • 19/01/2010 2:39 PM

      LOL! Yep Hunni has ridiculously long baths because he doesn’t really like showers. But that’s the way it is.

  7. trumanmeg permalink
    30/01/2010 12:49 PM

    Hmmm. Me high maintence. Ha! I am pretty low key. I do like to spend a lot time with my hubby too and I tend to get antsy if we have a lot of stuff going on where we can’t spend time just the two of us. I also like to just have plenty of me time. But besides that, I’m not too picky.

    • 30/01/2010 12:51 PM

      Sometimes I wish I was low maintenance but normally I’m just fine as is. Just makes me me.

Trackbacks

  1. “Real” Blogging Lessons | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

