Skip to content

I Keep Stepping on Myself

18/01/2010

I had the perfect plan to do #10 on my 101 Things in 1001 Days list.  Yep I was going to go snowshoeing with Hunni at a great nearby place called NotchView.  These babies arrived on Monday…

Hunni testing his out.

And I’ve been itching to use them.  Okay maybe I needed an antihistamine but I wanted try some new outdoor activity with Hunni ala the Snow Challenge from Angela at Oh She Glows.  But then the cold from Hell bared down on me and I kept pushing the date back.  Finally today I just said to heck with it and bundled up after church to head out.

Notice the scarf, headband, hoodie and fleece.

The trip took a bit longer than we thought but once we were there we were pleasantly surprised at how nice the weather was.  Thank God because after we finished it was sleeting up a storm.  Apparently there is a big storm coming tonight.



Now I’m not the greatest at reading topographical maps so we just headed out with the map in our bag and hoped to find the trail.  We were still learning how to use them and kept stepping on our own feet while looking for signs.  And we did find a trail soon enough after crossing the highway.  It was like a big game of frogger.  Unfortunately I think we found the hard trail we were trying to avoid…oops.



There was lots of this

To go around...

and this…

not so bad...

we went through this...

tiny little bridge...

And then we came across this…

DOWN HILL!

Yep there were a few of these.  I almost tumbled down more than one.  It would have been cool just like the cartoon I watched as a kid and laughed hysterically.  Kind of like this…

We saw some beautiful scenery like the animal tracks that looked like a baseball lace pattern…

I have no idea what made this.

And a great little break through of water that was rushing so calmly.  I was afraid I was going to fall through something like this too.  I hope someone didn’t to make this :-/.

We had some fun photo shoots along the way too.  We were the dorks stopping every few feet to take more pics because it was so beautiful.

Showing off our water and snack bag.

Split in two 🙂

He fell over with this pose.

I've got Muscles 🙂

All in all we walked for about an hour and had some great conversation.  Everything from future children to what he would do with a million dollars (buy a red sports car).  Much better than the conversations we have while plastered in front of the TV which usually consist of “uh, huh” and “yeah”.  And to turn this into a date night we hit up Panera Bread for dinner and some warm drinks.  I got the chai tea latte and some french onion soup with half a sammie.  Filled me up and made the date complete.

Can’t wait to plan for our next one.  Now just to lounge around in my Bunnie Footies with Hunni watching Comedy Central.


What new things have you tried lately?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 18/01/2010 8:24 AM

    I LOVE snowshoeing! My in-laws gave us some for Christmas, and we are waiitng for them to arrive via Fed-Ex– can’t wait to take them out for a spin!

  2. 18/01/2010 9:40 AM

    Snowshoes have come such a long way. I’ve been wanting to try it again. Back in the day, the ones I used looked like tennis rackets. And they were huge! Glad you had fun.

    New for me- trying to eat healthy…it’s been so long that it’s like a new thing. LOL

    • 18/01/2010 11:12 AM

      They still make some that look like tennis rackets because we sawa the tracks. But you and Jake should do it.

      And good for eating healthy. One step at a time.

  3. 19/01/2010 7:19 AM

    Those pictures of snow make me feel jealous.
    New things I’ve tried lately? I slept over at a friend’s house and came home at 2 in the afternoon the next day. I never tried doing that before.

  4. trumanmeg permalink
    30/01/2010 12:34 PM

    I have never tried snowshoeing. It looks like Hubby and you had a blast! I need to get out of my rut and try something new. Hmmm. Now to think about what it is that I want to do.

    • 30/01/2010 12:50 PM

      There are lots of places to rent snowshoes if you want to try it. Or maybe kickboxing…that’s my next thing to try in the spring.

Trackbacks

  1. How is 2010 Going? | It All Changes
  2. Guest Post: Can the Holidays Be Healthy? — Savvy Eats
  3. How Do You Wear Winter Boots? | Legally Fit
  4. Date Night, Is Only Natural « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

