Skip to content

Feel Good Fun

15/01/2010
I’ve felt so weak and sick all week.  I have the nastiest of colds that feels like I have a flame thrower in the back of my throat and popping going on in my ears.  So needless to say I haven’t gotten in my desired workouts for the week.  I was totally hoping to start my 10K training this week but cutie pie Patrick decided to play with me while visiting my friends and got me sick.  I guess it was worth it since I don’t see those cute kids too often.  But the fun of exercise had to be replaced by something else as my body fights off this bug.  And I hope my body wins soon because I have some workouts to get in and some new snowshoes to try out.

 

Anyway my fun for the day was doing something good for others.  My friend Sally Anne let a bunch of us know over the holidays about a great program for the recycling of used holiday cards.  Last year I just left mine up until right before the holidays this year.  I then just took them down to replace with this years cards.  But this year I wanted to do something good with them and I kind of needed my bulletin board back.  I was loved so much with cards this holiday season that my board looked like this…

 

I felt loved but I couldn’t see the notes I needed to do my job.  Kind of hard to shuffle around the cards to find the notes I had posted to myself.



So down came the cards that could be recycled and I only left the ones with pictures of my friends and their cute kids.  These few only took over the top right corner of my board but still made me feel loved. I like looking up to see their smiling faces when I’m having a rough time.

Cutie pies.

Then I read Chelle’s post about sending them to St. Jude’s and I was inspired this morning.  It reminded me of Sally Anne’s original plea that I had completely forgotten.  

Stacked and ready to go.

 So they are packed and ready to go to someone who will use them more than I will.  Not saying I’ll get more work done now that I can see my board but I feel more organized and have that feel good feeling that someone else will benefit from the love others showed me this holiday.  Hopefully I remember to do this again next year.  And I plan on saving cards throughout the year to have even more to send next year.

You can send cards of your own to:

St. Jude’s Ranch for Children

Recycled Card Program

100 St. Jude’s Street

Boulder City, NV 89005

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

On another feel good note I was nominated for my first blog award by my friend Kara at Karathon.  My stupid websense thing for work doesn’t allow me to see the graphic but I’m sure it’s adorable.  It is the Beautiful Blogger Award and it just made me smile.  The rules state that I have to share 7 random facts about myself with you lovely bloggies and then tag 7 bloggers.  So here we go.


  1. My birth certificate is on the back of a french map.  My parents were US Military and they were saving paper at the time so they printed my dependant born abroad certificate on a french map.  Makes for a great party story.
  2. I haven’t had an alcoholic drink since my 21st birthday.  I grew up in a culture where it was normal and drank with family but for religious reason chose to stop after my 21st birthday.
  3. I rarely watch a movie twice.  I have a few favorites that I’ll watch over and over but I don’t buy movies since I won’t re watch them.
  4. I graduated from High School a year early but still went back for prom to spend time with my friends who were still in HS.
  5. The first week Hunni met me he told me he’d never date me but then started to pursue me sneakily.  When he finally asked me out I was shocked.  I thought he was joking and told him not to ask unless he thought he was going to marry me.  He said yes and the rest is history.
  6. I’m a work-a-holic.  I sometimes work 12-18 hour days and don’t normally mind.  I usually work well into the evening just to make sure it gets done.  Lucky for me Hunni is a work-a-holic too and we understand when the other is still working.
  7. I’ve never lived in one place for longer than 7 years.  My parents were military and we moved a ton as a kid.  And when my parent left the military I stayed in PA for 7 years before I started moving again for college and post grad.  I am kind of happy with changing and I picked a good career for it since I’ll probably move every 5-6 years for the rest of my life.

 

Now to pick the 7 bloggers.


Enjoy ladies and find some feel good fun of your own  today.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 15/01/2010 5:13 AM

    I love your love story!!!

  2. 15/01/2010 6:15 AM

    I love what you said to him. 🙂

    Also, I’ll crank out days like that as well.

    Thanks for the award. Someone nominated you on Catilin’s HTP blog for the travelling pants post she wrote.. congrats. 🙂

    • 15/01/2010 10:09 PM

      Yeah I just saw that. I didn’t think I’d ever get nominated for something like that.

      I love what I said to Hunni too. Makes for great stories. WE have lots of goofy ones 🙂

  3. 15/01/2010 8:36 AM

    Feel better soon!!! 🙂

  4. 15/01/2010 9:22 AM

    what a great idea to send the cards there!

  5. 15/01/2010 10:12 AM

    Awww…#5– so sweet! What a great idea to send your Christmas Cards to St. Jude’s…I’ll have to remember that next year!

    I just found your blog, and can’t wait to keep reading!

    • 15/01/2010 10:08 PM

      Thanks for stopping by. I’m so happy to do it this year and for years to come.

  6. 15/01/2010 1:36 PM

    Your birth certificate does have an interesting story to go wit hti.

Leave a Reply

