Skip to content

Crank Up the Competition

09/01/2010

Competitive…who me?  If you didn’t get that from my Trivial Pursuit post let me just reassure you I am one of the most competitive people I know.  In school I was never a good athlete but I was super competitive in academics and even competed on the Science Olympiad team in many categories and often won.  Yep I was a science geek.  And I can still quote much of the Periodic Table that I memorized for one event.  Hydrogen, Helium, Lithium,….yada yada yada.



But now that I’m a good athlete (*hehe Me an athlete hehe*) I’m even more competitive.  I’ll never win any races I run but I always want to challenge myself to run faster than before.  That was my be goal post surgery was to get back into shape and beat my earlier 5K time.  And I did.  And in races I’ll pick a person after I get started and push myself to get past them and then another and then another.  I’m playing mind games in my head but it pushes me to do better that I would if I just sat back and ran.



And my Momma fed into this competitive spirit by buying Hunni and I the Wii EA Active for Christmas.  This game is awesome!  You can compete against someone in all the exercises.  Sure the trainer says that we are a “dynamic duo” and working together but no way.  Hunni is just as competitive as me.  We compete the entire time we are playing.  He often ends up passed out on the floor from pushing himself so hard to try to beat me.  But I still win every time 🙂 



And yesterday on Tina’s blog I saw this awesome Hills Workout for the treadmill.  I tend to do the same run on the treadmill all winter because I feel like a hamster running on the wheel.  Sometimes I push myself to run longer than the guy next to me on the treadmill to keep my mind going.  But today I ran using Tina’s format. 



I warmed up for 10 minutes at 3.5mph and then did Tina’s 24 Minute Treadmill Workout.

  • 3 minutes: 4.7 (incline 1.0)
  • 3 minutes: 4.5 (incline 1.5)
  • 3 minutes: 4.3 (incline 2.0)
  • 3 minutes: 4.2 (incline 2.5)
  • 3 minutes: 4.1 (incline 3.0)
  • 3 minutes: 4.0 (incline 3.5)
  • 3 minutes: 3.9 (incline 4.0)
  • 3 minutes: 3.8 (incline 4.5)

I finished drenched in sweat after this workout and felt awesome.  I had already done the Wii EA Active with Hunni earlier (and kicked his hiney) and then did this workout.  It tired me out completely but felt great.



I love being so competitive because it pushes me to not be status quo.  It pushes me to not just sit back and be okay with being good.  I want to be the best I can at what I love to do.  If I just sat back I would never have learned to run and enjoy it so much.  I would never have been in good enough shape to rebound so quickly from major back surgery.  Being better than I was before forces me to keep going with eating healthy and exercises instead of going back to the me I was before.  I want to keep moving forward and being better.  And gosh darn it I am better and will be better yet.



Are you competitive? 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/01/2010 2:33 AM

    I’m very VERY competitive when it comes to board games – and watching Jeopardy on TV, but when it comes to exercise/sporting things? Not so much.
    Ps; i added your blog to my GoogleReader, it’s a great read! 🙂

    • 09/01/2010 12:50 PM

      I am so competitive with Jeopardy on TV too. I wish I was smart enough to go on it.

      Thanks for adding me to your reader. I’ll check out your blog.

  2. 10/01/2010 10:01 PM

    Uh-oh. Competition between me and my significant other is not good. Because I always lose. Hehehe. Especially in thumb wars. It’s not my fault he has the biggest hands in the history of the world.

Leave a Reply

