Skip to content

Thank you for…

07/01/2010

Wednesday nights is my women’s group.  It’s a small group but we have fun.  We do stuff like learning to quilt, Bible Study, movie night, scrapbooks, etc.  It’s just an all around good time with the ladies in my congregation separate from the boys.  Well tonight I was doing some fun activities about being content with yourself and what you are thankful for.  I know Thanksgiving was months ago but like everything else in my life Women’s Ministries stops for Kettles.  Tonight I wanted to share with you about what I am content with and What I thanks God for… 



*I know not everyone who reads is Christian.  But I hope that even if you aren’t you can find something you are thankful for in this.*



 

So often I thought I had to be something I wasn’t but for me right now I’m content/happy that I’m in this place right now.  I’m healthy (for the most part), I’m happy (Thanks Hunni), and I’m whole (okay so it’s not another H but so what?).  I’m right where I need to be for now using the gifts I’ve been given to make myself happy and to make my little bit of the world a better place. 



Now onto the list…

Thank you God for:



A – apples.  I eat at least one a day and they fill me up.  They are so good in sweet and savory things and are super cheap.  I miss them in the warmer months and look forward to them each fall.

B- Brittany.  She is the only teen in my group and she is a delight when I don’t want to ring her neck.  She calls me her best friend and actually likes hanging out with me even though I’m twice her age.  Kind of makes me feel young(er) again.

C- Candles.  I don’t light them enough and I have way to many but they are a nice addition to my house.  I love the smell of them and I actually like the smell after they are put out.  And playing with the flame by swiping your finger though it is kind of fun too.

D- Dinner.  The best meal of the day in the It All Changes house.  I have more time to prepare and cook so I am more willing to take a risk.  Sure it turns out burnt sometimes and inedible others but most dinners end with a “This is good HunniBunny.” 

E- Earth.  Okay I was never one of those kids who wanted to live on the moon.  I love Earth and I love doing things to take care of it.  I wish I were better but I’m getting there.  We have to keep the earth around because as of yet there is no colony on the moon and I really don’t want to make the trip to live there…too long of a flight.

F- FOOD!  Serious who isn’t thankful for food.  That’s why so many of us read and write blogs.  We love the different sights, smells and tastes that food brings.  I’m even a science geek when it comes to food and want to learn about where it come from and what it looks like under a microscope.  Thank you Mr. Donnelly my High School Biology teacher for that bit of fun.

G- Gym.  I’m thankful that the gym exists and that I have a membership.  I’m too big of a wuss to go out in the cold and run not matter how much I love it.  Sure sure they say you warm up after you get started.  But at my Turkey Trot my fingers were still cold at the end.  I’m just happy that I can go run like a hamster on the treadmill until the weather warms up.

H- Hunni!  He is my live in comedian and best friend.  I miss him when he’s not around and I really do genuine love.  Okay enough with the sap…I just am very thankful to have him in my life.

I- Ice.  I love ice cold drinks even in the winter although I shiver constantly in my office and have to balance it with hot tea.  And I really like ice skating.  I actually went “ice skating” in my patent leather mary janes when I had the day off of school as a kid. 

J- Job.  Okay my job is more than a job.  It’s my calling from God to follow Him in His service.  I love all the highs and lows it offers…okay maybe not the lows but they make the highs that much higher.  I love that I get to work and do what I love everyday instead sitting in a cube farm which would DRIVE ME BATTY!

K- Kids.  I don’t have any yet but I’ve kind of adopted the 7 that come to church.  They keep me on my toes and drive me nuts some days but they are bundle of fun.  And eventually Hunni and I want to adopt some lovely children of our own.  Until then I’ll play with the church kids.

L- Love.  Okay this is going to sound like a big sappy mess but I love LOVE.  I love feeling loved and protected and I love loving others.  I’d much rather be a happy loving person than the grouch I am some days.  Showing Christ’s love is what keeps me going some days.

M- Momma.  She’s my best friend and has been with me through some of the lowest times of my life.  She is my great support because she calls me at least once a week.  I love our weekly chats because it keeps me centered and gives me a reference point.  If you are reading today Momma I’m thankful for you!

N- Noise.  I must have some sort of noise at all times because my brain doesn’t stop.  I’m the girl who listens to music constantly in my office and has the TV on at home while working.  I think I would go insane if I didn’t have noise going on.  Who knows what I would think of.

O- Ocean.  I admit I’m loving Jersey Shore for all its stupidity.  Who doesn’t want to spend the summer at the shore…just not doing the dumb stuff those kids are doing.  As a kid we normally went to the Chesapeake Bay when we went to the beach but I remember the bug eyes I must have had when I got to see the ocean.  So pretty with the waves and it smelled so good.  I just love the idea that on the other side of that water is an entire other continent.

P- Puppers!  These two nut jobs keep me on my toes.  Sure they think they are the boss of the house and in some ways they are but I love them to bits.  And Peanut’s just got a new hair cut.  She went to the dog spa this week and has been strutting her stuff.  Poor Leo couldn’t go because he’d freeze to death if we got him trimmed.

Q- Quiet time.  Just sitting still reading is great.  Especially when there are bubbles and a bathtub involved.  I don’t do this enough and thinking about it reminded me I want to do this tomorrow or Friday.  I have a great book to keep reading.

R- Russell aka Hunni.  Okay so I already said Hunni but I am really thankful for him.  This past year we went through a lot together and came out on top.  I don’t know what I’d do or where I’d be without him.

S- Sleep.  After getting about 10 hours last night I am so thankful for sleep.  I’m thankful for that moment I stop tossing and turning and my brain just shuts off for several hours.  I’m thankful that I usually wake up refreshed.  And I love to enjoy an occasional nap when my schedule allows it. 

T- Teachers.  I was one and I still am one in many ways.  I teach children or adults about God every week and I love it.  And I loved teaching Spanish and French before becoming a pastor.  Have I told you that I was a Middle/High School foreign language teacher.  Yep I was thankful for that job too and miss it some days.  But I’m thankful for many wonderful people who continue to educate me even if they aren’t doing so in the traditional classroom sense.

U- Unknown.  Sure the unknown scares the bejeezus out of me and I am always trying to figure it out but I actually like the unknown in a strange and twisted way.  It reminds me I’m not in control all the time as much as I’d like to be.  Now if only there were a little more known than unknown and I’d be a happy camper.

V- Van.  Our van is huge and annoying and not easy to go unnoticed.  But I love that I can use it to help friends move…take my bikes to the trails…travel with Hunni, my two cousins, two dogs and all our stuff…transport our entire congregation to and from church and events… and so much more.  Sure it looks like the conversion vans from the 70’s that should have a double bed in the back but its a great ride.

W- Water.  My main source of liquid.  It helps me stay hydrated and have decent skin.  It is great in tea or in those bubble baths I wrote about.  And it is so much fun to play in when it is raindrops on a warm summer day.  I could deal without the solid (snow) version but I don’t mind to look at it.

X- X-rays.   Have you ever seen an x-ray of your back?  I have in many different forms.  During the whole back surgery thing I had done September 2008 I got to see many different types of x-rays.  I’m definitely thankful for those because that helped them figure out (FINALLY) what the problem was.  I even got to see the cool x-ray of what it looked like when the catheter broke off in my back and looked like spaghetti wrapped around my disc.  I should have been a doctor if I could handle the blood.

Y- Youth.  Sure I feel old since I’m turning 28 and I’m one more step closer to 30…oh that dreaded number but I don’t mind it so much anymore.  I feel younger now that I did when I was young.  Guess that goes along with being able to do so much more at 28 than I could do at 18 and 100 pounds heavier.  I am so thankful that I can act like a kid with all the kids we work with and go for days on end with all my youthful energy.  Now if only I could continue feeling younger and eventually I’d be a kid again.

Z- Zippers.  When I was heavier I always was wearing elastic waisted things because I couldn’t zip things up.  Pants and skirts just didn’t look right at the size I was or were too expensive if they did.  But now I happily wear tons of things with zippers and the only elastic waisted things are my workout clothes and PJ’s.  If the zippers wouldn’t hurt in those I think I’d have zippers in them too.



So there you have it.  A very belated Thanksgiving style task.  But I’m so thankful for all GOD has given me, both big and little.  And I’m thankful for all you lovely blog readers and the joy you bring to me through your own blogs or the fact that you care to read my blog.  Thanks!



What are you thankful for this day?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/01/2010 12:06 PM

    Loved reading your alphabet list of Thanks. :

  2. 07/01/2010 5:46 PM

    Hi Missy, I just came across your blog the other day, and I’m loving it. One of my daily devotionals this morning was on being content in spite of any circumstance, and I love how much this reflects that. It’s always great when God speaks to us through so many different sources in one day to help us grow. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • 08/01/2010 1:33 AM

      Thanks so much for the comment Kim. I love when God uses multiple mediums to help us see him and grow.

  3. 08/01/2010 4:03 AM

    I’m thankful for the life I have today. Even though I’m sick, I’m still alive.

  4. Toby permalink
    08/01/2010 5:56 PM

    I love your list, Cynth! (and I can’t speak for ALL the non-Christians who might read your blog, but I certainly appreciate your post and have lots to be thankful for regardless of religion)

    Miss you!

    • 08/01/2010 7:37 PM

      Awww Toby I miss you too. And thanks for the comment. It makes me feel loved 🙂

Leave a Reply

