Skip to content

Things I Won’t Miss

06/01/2010

So often I think about all the stuff I want to go forward towards in my Weight Loss Journey that I don’t think about all the stuff I’m missing out on.  Sure I’m missing out on lots of ice cream parties and the dessert after every meal (but I’m working on making this healthier).  But there are tons of things I’m not missing AT ALL!  I don’t think I’ll ever miss them.  So here ya go.



  • Being out of breath after one set of stairs.  I had a set of stairs to get to my apartment and classroom but I would be tired after climbing them…especially with my bag full of school stuff each day.  I don’t miss having to take a breather at the top of the stairs.  I actually counted this as exercise in my past…after all I was breathing heavy so it counts right?
  • Food comas after each meal.  I would eat and stuff myself like a turkey at each meal…mmmm turkey.  It was like eating Christmas dinner and the triptophan doze.  Then I would need a mini nap on the couch after eating any meal.  I actually scheduled those into my day.
  • Only being able to shop at one  or two stores.  I lived in a tiny town, went to college in a tiny town, and moved to a tiny town after graduation.  There was nowhere to shop.  I didn’t like the only being able buy a few things and they were all stretched to the max.  Buttons popping, zippers straining, elastic stretched.  And I had no money to pay the big prices at the few stores I could shop in.  I was living in 2 pairs of pants and t-shirts under the same huge men’s buttoned sweater each day.  No wonder my students were shocked the fall after I lost most of the weight and took off the sweater.
  • No sleep/rest.  Okay part of this was my bipolar disorder but even when I fell asleep I wouldn’t sleep well.  I had a sleep study done that said I didn’t have sleep apnea but my body didn’t ever really sleep well.  I missed the sleep of my youth…I missed youth.  I hated sleeping but no rest.
  • No dates.  I was the funny fat friend.  I wasn’t the girl guys went after.  They would talk to me to get to my girlfriends.  They couldn’t look past the rolls to see me.  I actually considered online dating because then they could get to know me before they saw me.  I’m a great girl after all.  Who wouldn’t want to date me?
  • The talk.  Y0u know what I mean.  Every visit to the doctor’s office was met with, “You know you would be healthier if you’d lose a few pounds.”  In fact I heard that talk from friends and family all the time too.  Of course I knew that but wasn’t ready to do so.  I wasn’t ready to give up the known for the unknown.
  • Increasing medicines.  As my weight increased so did my need for higher doses of medication.  And with more medication came more side effects.    There was the needed medication and the medication to help with the side effects.  I was taking handfuls of pills twice a day.  Such a vicious cycle.

 


But to not leave this post on such a down mode here is something I love since I have lost the weight.

My puppers!  We played in the snow today as we trudged through snow drifts.  They were tired when we got home and we snuggled for a nap.


What don’t you miss from your unhealthy lifestyle?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/01/2010 8:30 AM

    I don’t miss Lane Bryant

    • 06/01/2010 10:45 AM

      I don’t miss it either. I remember jumping for joy the day I couldn’t fit in the smallest size. Although now they have some cute stuff. Darn!

  2. 06/01/2010 8:04 PM

    I’m so happy for you for overcoming and letting go of all those things!

  3. 06/01/2010 11:06 PM

    Hey there! Happy 2010 and best wishes on your journey! I’ll have to try the TJ’s yogurt sometime!

  4. 06/01/2010 11:34 PM

    I hear ya … especially with the food coma part!

Leave a Reply

