Skip to content

Be Prepared

05/01/2010

Okay confession time….I didn’t workout at the gym yesterday.  So that green and yeah for getting in the strength training 2x last week should have been yellow since I got in one instead of both.  I’m a big fat fibber.  You see I had every intention of getting in a great workout at the gym after Momma left for home and before I went to visit my friend Chelle for some quilting.  In the effort to be time efficient I wrote the post early and scheduled it to post for Monday morning.



Then the weather happened.  To be more specific we got a horrible, no good, rotten snowstorm.  So nasty we had to cancel church due to unsafe roads and Momma almost couldn’t leave.  She left eventually around 1Pm and made her way slowly toward home.   I had to cancel my trip to see Chelle and take another rain check.  Eventually I’ll get out there; hopefully sometime before the spring.  But I’m stubborn as a mule and really wanted to get in a run and some strength training.  I can’t exactly run around my apartment without my dogs chasing me and I’m not gutsy enough to run outside and slip like a hockey puck.  So I bundled up and headed out the door to the gym ready to get my sweat on.

All bundled up.

I got to the gym ready to get on the treadmill for my first workout of the New Year and then looked down and saw this….

Yep I had put on my boots to trudge through the snowdrifts and slush but had forgotten shoes.  I remembered everything else I’d need but didn’t think to grab .  but I forgot the most important thing… my sneaks out of the closet.  Duh Cynthia!

I’m ballsy and all but I can’t run in snow boots.  In fact my gym doesn’t allow it, it’s a big no-no.  I couldn’t even do weights due to the rule.  So I gathered back up my stuff and headed out to Wal-Mart for some necessities (read: snacks and magazines).



I decided to make the best of a bad situation and walked around the store for 30 minutes while carrying all my purchases.  It was no run but I did burn 100 calories lapping the store several times.  I looked stupid passing the electronic section about 4 times but I figured it was better than nothing.  I should have done Wii Active or something when I got home but I was tired and hit the hay at 8PM instead.



But one purchase I did get at Wal-Mart made me really happy… I got a gym bag.

Packed and ready to go.

I’m not all about the typical gym bag…too black and boring. I wanted something fun and pretty.  So I picked up this bag that I guess was supposed to be for the beach for $2.00…talk about responsible spending.  And I definitely will be using it for the beach at least once this summer.  Who doesn’t want to be happy when going to the gym to grunt and sweat out all their frustrations?  I sure do.



I decided to channel my inner Girl Scout and Be Prepared for the gym in the winter months.  In the summer I have no problem sweating my hiney off and then going out into the nice breeze to get a good chill after getting really hot and sweaty on the treadmill.  But in the winter I have some parts that would fall off if I went outside in the blistering 9 degrees we are supposed to be having for the next week.  I kind of want all my parts to stay attached.  So I took my new pretty pink bag I decided to keep it packed.



So here is what had to pack in order to make it through these freezing months so I actually get my hiney to the gym and have it not fall off.

Back brace, magazine, sweat towel, headphones and water.

Change of clothes.

My back brace is key to running.  I’m healed from my surgery but like to stay that way.  The thing makes me sweat like a pig but at least I’m getting out there and loving it.  And besides it gives me a nice little fake waist when I cinch it tight enough to support my back.

Look at that waist.

And look at this cool shirt I got.

It says Motivate-Dominate.

I totally bought it in the Men’s section but I love it.  It is funny to see the look on people’s faces when I wear it.  I don’t know if they are looking at me thinking “Hey that’s a men’s shirt.”  or “Who is she going to dominate?”  Either way I love this shirt and wear it as often as Hunni washes it.  Makes me feel like a bad a$$.



I got in a great workout today and some good stretching while watching the Bachelor.  I’m a reality TV junkie and it kept me running for over an hour.  Sure I was running on this schedule…

I’m trying not injure myself my first week back so I warmed up for 10 minutes and then alternated running 10 minutes with walking 3 minutes.  Then I cooled down with a 5 minute walk and some hip stretches.  I don’t want to end up back in Physical Therapy although I miss the push and the great atmosphere at my PT office.  I think Boot Camp Steve would kill me if I ended up injured again just to hang out.



So now my gym back is packed and ready for tomorrow.  I’ll be packing it as soon as I get home from the gym to have no excuse not to go.  Sorry for the fib…I’ll promise to try to not do it again.



How do you prepare for the winter weather?

15 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/01/2010 10:14 AM

    great job getting prepared! I’ve forgotten socks in my gym bag before – not fun.

    • 05/01/2010 11:25 AM

      Thanks Brandi. I figured I’d rather be over prepared than do that again.

  2. 05/01/2010 10:49 AM

    I like your gym bag! I need a new one too…I swear it makes you more motivated. 🙂 Happy Tuesday!

    • 05/01/2010 3:47 PM

      I love it because it is so big that it fits it all and can go over my shoulder. Thanks for the comment!

  3. 05/01/2010 12:33 PM

    Just saw Jenna’s post…Teavana is the best. Have you tried their Earl Grey Creme??

    We don’t really get much winter weather here in California. When its raining and below 60 degrees we pretty much stay at home. 🙂

    • 05/01/2010 3:46 PM

      I haven’t but I saw your comment and it is on my list for when I go to the store soon. I love earl grey!

  4. 05/01/2010 5:12 PM

    I totally dig your shirt!

  5. 05/01/2010 5:50 PM

    We don’t have too much winter weather here, but if I ever move to a colder climate I’m going to remember this post and be prepared! We did have a low of 12 today which is really, really unusual!

    I love that you walked WalMart – that store is gigantic and great for doing laps!

    • 05/01/2010 6:17 PM

      Thanks Diane! I heard about all the colder weather down your way. I’m sure that isn’t fun to workout in for a southerner.

  6. 05/01/2010 8:08 PM

    Loved the recap of your day! It was such a fun read. Especially about the shopping. Teehee. It gave me an idea to find a gym bag that I like and to fill it with the things I might need when I decide to exercise. I don’t go to the gym; I go to our battered running track. But still, I need those things. Thanks for the fun read!

  7. 05/01/2010 10:10 PM

    Great job making the best of a bad situation!! I love getting cute new workout-related items; it really helps me get motivated to go to the gym!

    Also, send me your address so I can send you Ali Vincent’s book! 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Bag Lady + Goals | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

