Skip to content

I’ll Start Tomorrow

02/01/2010

With the new year starting I’m sure many people are starting with the best of intentions.  New Year’s Resolutions to lose weight, get healthy, exercise more, eat less junk….the list goes on and on.  And I’m sure we all have the idea that we will make it through this entire year and keep our resolutions.  How do I know this.  Well my gym was packed today and will be until at least Valentine’s Day when people are planning to enjoy copious amounts of chocolate and big dinners out with the works (appetizers, dinner, drinks, dessert).  And I’m scared of my Weight Watchers Meeting tomorrow and how many people will be there to start their Weight Loss Journey.  I may have to leave earlier so I don’t have to wait in a huge line for the entire meeting. 



But somewhere along this trail of New Year’s Resolution there will be some many who fall off the wagon and get sidelined.  I know I’ve been there done that.  And another thing I’ve done is say I’ll start back on track again tomorrow….no tomorrow…. no tomorrow.  And the days drag on until its been weeks that I’ve been promising myself that I’ll start over.  Sometimes I did and sometimes I buried my failure in more chocolate.  What doesn’t taste good covered in chocolate?  That I’ll start tomorrow mindset is so prevalent because we don’t really want to give up the “good” but not “good-for-you stuff.” 



Heck Hunni is of this mindset right now.  He keeps saying he wants to lose the weight he gained during Kettles but had 12 cookies for breakfast this morning (leftover from our party) in addition to his normal bowl of cereal.  Once he got out of the habits of eating healthy and exercising he’s had a hard time getting back into it. 



And don’t we all. It’s so much easier to keep going with the same old, same old than effect the changes we need even if we’ve done them before.  Heck when cheesecake and diet coke taste so good I really didn’t want to give them up.  My stomach be damned each time I give into my old habits and binge on them.  But I can’t just start tomorrow on that or on my goal with doing yoga more frequently or strength training….and all my other goals ad nauseum.  I keep telling myself that I’d start after kettles and then after the new year.  Soon that would turn into when work isn’t so busy or when I have more money.



But no more.  I’m committing to not say I’ll start tomorrow and I challenge you to do the same.  Tomorrow may never come for your new lifestyle.  We’ll just keep putting it off until it seems to late.  TODAY I’m committing to start on my plans.  TODAY I’m committing to do my yoga more frequently (I did it while watching a Criminal Minds marathon).  TODAY I’m committing to get in some strength training at least twice a week.  TODAY I’m committing to not put it off until TOMORROW.  TODAY IS THE DAY!!  Now that sounded real hokey but it is true.  Sure I may fall off and probably will.  And it may hurt to tumble hard.  But I need to pick myself back up and get back on track TODAY!  You can make today your day as well. 



How are you going to not put off to tomorrow what you can start today?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 02/01/2010 1:29 AM

    Great post! Today is the day and I totally agree. If not now, when? 🙂

    • 02/01/2010 12:21 PM

      That’s my philosophy. My mom always said why put of to tomorrow what you can start today.

  2. 02/01/2010 2:46 PM

    Love this post, Cyn! You’re right — “I’ll start tomorrow” is a really dangerous way to think, as tomorrow can get pushed into the future indefinitely!

    When it comes to Weight Watchers, I have to think in terms of meals, not days; if I have a “bad” breakfast I can start over with lunch — there’s no reason to wait until tomorrow to get back on the wagon!

    Hope you and Hunni have a great weekend 🙂

    • 02/01/2010 11:34 PM

      Thank Kara. I indulged tonight and I’m back to at breakfast tomorrow and no snacks tonight. But it was worth it.

  3. 03/01/2010 10:15 PM

    TODAY not tomorrow! It’s also hard for me to get back to exercising if I have stopped for a long time. I’m trying to run again and to start practicing Yoga and Pilates again.

Trackbacks

  1. That Number Scares Me « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

