Skip to content

Drive-thru Diet?

01/01/2010

Happy Hangover Day!  I was watching TV most of New Year’s Eve before church and kept seeing the commercial for The Hangover (the movie).  It said celebrate New Year’s Day as Happy Hangover Day by watching the movie.  I don’t drink, and haven’t for about 7 years, but I might have to go get it from the regular movie rental place and get it for us to watch while relaxing today.



And what goes best with a hangover… FAST FOOD!!!  Oh yeah I don’t drink now but I grew up in Europe and studied in Sevilla, Spain and did plenty of drinking then.  During my four-month study abroad lots of weekends involved botellonas and clubs.  Basically drinking in a park or parking lot with friends before heading out to the club because it was legal and way cheaper than buying drinks in the clubs.  And my girlfriends and I had some very generous guy friends who like to buy us the good stuff before heading to the clubs.  I only ever had one hangover but after many long nights of hanging out there was always a trip to McDonald’s.  Who doesn’t love greasy fries or apple pies deep fried in olive oil.  Anything with olive oil is awesome.  And if there had been a Taco Bell there I probably would have enjoyed some mexican goodness deep-fried in olive oil.



But Taco Bell has gone to far.  They actually have started calling their Fresco Menu the Drive-thru diet.  ARE YOU FLIPPING KIDDING ME?!?!?!  They act as if taking out some of the fat or sour cream from the mystery meat products makes it a died food.  That’s just absurd.  Less fat =/= healthy.  It equals a better choice but not a diet food.



It’s like they are trying to jump on the Jared Subway Diet of the 1990’s.  Sure Subway is a healthi-er option but that doesn’t make it healthy.  I can’t eat anything on their menu and lose weight.  Sure there are some good options on their menu but the all-so-tasty meatball and steak options are not among them.  It may be my go-to for a quick and budget friendly meal but it will not be the mainstay of my meal planning. 



Eating fast food is just like eating out at any place.  It can be a part of my eating because it’s not a diet.  It’s a healthy lifestyle.  If I’m going to eat fast food I want to enjoy it.  I’ll be much happier with the Grilled Stuffed Burrito if I plan for it than some lame boring taco on a whim.  I just need to budget the 21 points it will take to eat it (EEEEK!!!).  Instead of eating something with little flavor because of all they have taken off of it I would rather make it at home on Taco Tuesday and enjoy every bite. 



These options might work at Taco Bell in a pinch but to call them a diet is ludicrous.  Be who you are Taco Bell…good tasting bad food that makes your stomach hurt.  Own it but don’t try to turn into a diet plan that people are going to get ticked off if they gain weight.  Not everything in this world has to be healthy or diet food.  There has to be some splurges left for the days we want to just give into the cravings.  I for one will enjoy the regular old Taco Bell once a year more than the ‘drive-thru diet’ food on a regular basis.  That’s just me.



What do you think of the Drive-thru Diet?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/01/2010 7:35 AM

    I COULD NOT BELIEVE THAT WHEN I SAW IT.
    (yea Im screaming :))
    I had to rewind the tv and eyeroll.
    and rewind the tv and EYEROLL.

    (speaking of which—have you seen jared lately?)

    • 01/01/2010 12:04 PM

      I yelled at the TV too. I think I still yell at the TV everytime.

      I saw Jared on a commercial with some Football player this fall. He’s still around but not as often. Maybe they got the idea that Subway isn’t a diet.

  2. 01/01/2010 1:26 PM

    Ha, that is pretty crazy!!!!

  3. 01/01/2010 7:24 PM

    That is really interesting! I remember Jared but haven’t seen him around in a while…that is the great thing about a DVR, forwarding through commercials rocks!

    • 01/01/2010 8:11 PM

      But you miss such fun with a DVR. I wish we had one though. I miss to many shows without it.

  4. Mandy permalink
    01/01/2010 8:20 PM

    I just saw this too! I can’t believe it!

  5. 03/01/2010 10:16 PM

    Drive-thru Diets don’t work for me. I get all farty from the food these places sell. I’m sorry for being disgusting.

Leave a Reply

