Skip to content

Woman Cannot Live on Bars Alone

15/12/2009

Just checking in with all you lovely bloggies to see how your holiday is going?  Busy, stressed, crazy….check, check, and check here for me too.  In fact things are so crazy that I’ve been living off my stash of Luna and Clif Zbars.  I keep them around for occasional on the go nourishment but this time of year they are almost essential.  I don’t have time to eat very often so it is good to have one in my purse…a few more in my desk…another in the van and some more stashed all around just in case I am hungry but don’t have time to eat.  Yeah this girl who loves to eat doesn’t have time to get much nourishment in lately. 



In fact yesterday all I had to eat was a Luna Bar for breakfast before church and then with some crazy, I am going to scream, things going on Hunni and I didn’t get to eat lunch until around 3PM.  So all I had to eat was that Luna bar and an emergency Clif Zbar while running out the door.  And today I didn’t eat breakfast until after I had already run around like a chicken with my head cut off…no I don’t have a head anymore…I’m operating without one right now.  So my quick breakfast after I realized I hadn’t eaten was another Luna Bar.  I’m sensing a pattern here.  Not time for Cynthia=mucho bars for food.



But then I realized I do not function well on bars.  Sure they taste nice and all but my body is used to way more food than that.  And I’m sure they are a nice nutritional supplement but its kind of hard to supplement food that you really aren’t eating.  I cannot live on bars alone and need to come up with a plan because I still have two more weeks of this insanity. 



Starting with tomorrow I need a plan.  So I’m going to make a tortilla with Almond Butter and an apple because I can throw that together in 5 seconds….okay maybe 6 but its quick.  And lunch will be Subway on the run but I can order that ahead tomorrow morning so that it is ready when I swing by to just pick it up.  And dinner is already preplanned and quick.  I’ll be able to throw that in the oven in 15 minutes.  Food real food just makes me drool just thinking about it right now.



Hopefully having a plan set in place will mean I do it.  I’m all for plans.  And I’m being realistic.  I know that cooking oatmeal in the morning or making a real lunch just ain’t going to happen with my schedule tomorrow so I’m planning them for on the go.  Hey its better to be realistic than disappointed right.  At least it will be food and not food substitutes right?



Do you get so busy you forget to eat or rely on substitutes for real food?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. louisianagrown permalink
    15/12/2009 2:12 PM

    It is RARE that I get so busy I forget to eat. Being hungry is up there on my list of fears – my family and friends make fun of me for it all the time. If I’m going to be super busy, I always pack something to take with me, and not just a bar either. You’d be surprised where sandwiches and little containers of salad can travel!

    • 15/12/2009 3:33 PM

      For me its the finding of the time to eat said salad or sandwich. I just now got a chance to sit still today and inhale my subway. I think this is why Salvation Army officers normally gain weight this time of year. I haven’t but still it’s hard to eat and run around all day.

  2. 15/12/2009 4:23 PM

    I always try and focus on eating fresh, whole foods, but sometimes you just have to rely on the simple grab-n-go options!

    ~new to the blog, and love it by the way!

    • 15/12/2009 10:53 PM

      Thanks. Except for this time of the year I’m a huge believer in whole foods and not the stuff I am eating now. And my body can feel the difference.

  3. 16/12/2009 11:08 PM

    My new business has caused me to forget about eating. And to think the business is related to food. =/ Anyway, try to eat some real food girl! Those bars are not enough especially if you’re doing something stressful or tiring. Take care of yourself.

    -Denise

Trackbacks

  1. Give It My Best | It All Changes

Leave a Reply

