Skip to content

Beware of the Monkey! + Goals

14/12/2009

If you don’t know much about me, I’m a pastor and proud of it.  So it might seem kind of strange that I got a kick out of reading the Chinese Zodiac paper when Hunni and I went out for sushi/chinese this afternoon.  We don’t believe in it but seem to always do it even though we know what is says.  I think it’s because we get a kick out of the fact that the matches always say he and I are destined to be together but should have gotten married a lot sooner.  He’s a Horse and I’m a Dog and we go perfect together 🙂  I get a laugh out of the fact that the blurbs about our signs speak to us but so do all the other ones really.  They are pretty generic enough to speak to anyone who may fit in those signs so I could be a rat or snake just as much as a dog.



For some reason it got me thinking about all the troubles and excuses I gave for why I couldn’t lose the weight and get healthy before.  I thought that I was too poor to afford healthy food, I had medications that caused me to gain weight, I worked long hours while in college and as a new teacher that made it difficult to get to the gym, I couldn’t afford a gym membership even if I could have gotten there, I didn’t like vegetable except covered in cheese, and the list went on….and on… and on.  I thought that with all my problems were unique to me and that they added up to just being fat for the rest of my life.  But all my problems could have been for anyone and I’m sure that others have a longer list than I did.



Going back to the zodiac I realize that many people live their lives based around what the horoscope or zodiac says.  It says they are going to have a good day so they do and it says they are destined to marry someone of a certain type they do.  Same with weight problems.  If medications make them gain weight or  they don’t have a lot of time in their schedule to get to the gym or they lack funds to pay for a gym or certain types of foods they use them as excuses to not do anything about it and be miserable.  Sometimes we let outside circumstances control who we are or what we do. 



Now I’m not saying that they are valid excuses to make it difficult to lose weight but it is not impossible.  I’m going back to the cheerleader in me to say that you don’t have to be the sum of all your problems.  Even with all of them adding up you can change your circumstances.  You don’t have to let them hold you back from changing your life for the better.  I could have let any one of those hang ups hold me back.  But it took me awhile to realize I was in control.  I could cook healthy even on a budget, I could get in workouts even in my busy schedule, and I had other options besides the gym for workouts if I couldn’t afford the gym.  And with the meds I just talked to my doctor and let them know my desire to lose weight so they could help with medications and dosages to make is a tiny bit easier.  No matter what your circumstances you can make choices for you to be healthier even if you’ll never be skinny.  Just be you and do what you want to be better for YOU and no one else!



What excuses have you overcome on your path to health?  How do you combat all the excuses?



Okay enough of the my daily random thoughts and onto the goals.



Last week’s goals:

  • Get that budget done.  Yep I didn’t do this again.  But I am doing well with spending little to no money.  I only spent an additional $21.36 on groceries (total of $31.34 for the month) and bought a few things we had already planned for so we are doing well with spending less.  I’m thinking that this will be my goal for the rest of the month and I’ll wait until after Christmas kettles to start budgeting for January.
  • Run minimum of 3 days this week.  I rocked this even with the craziness of this week.  AND I ran for 30 minutes on Saturday which made me feel great.  I’m almost ready to start my training for my 10K that I just realized is the day before Easter….Good planning Cynthia.
  • Eat 4 of 7 dinners at home.  I ROCKED THIS!!! I actually made dinner at home 6 of the 7 days.  Sure one day was oat bran and the other was a veggie platter with hummus and some fruit.  But they were AT HOME!  I really thought hard about this goal this week and did well.  Perhaps I could use the same mentality when it comes to the first goal I keep failing on.
  • Do Physical Therapy homework 2x.  I did them once at the gym and got funny looks.  Boot Camp Steve said that is a good thing because that means people are wondering what you are doing and if they should be too.  I also did some of them at home but not the full circuit.  But I’ve got plans to get them in this week for all 3 times even with the busyness.  Boot Camp Steve even made me cool little stick people drawings to help me remember them.
  • Clean my apartment!  I kind of got this done.  I didn’t watch much TV at night so my plan for cleaning while watching TV didn’t work too well.  But I cleared some of the clutter and cleaned the kitchen and straightened up the bedroom.  At least I’m not going to go nuts from the look of it but the full on cleaning is going to take place on 26 December.  Hunni promised we’d do it together since I can’t stand it too much longer.


 



This week’s goals:

  • DATE NIGHT!!!! Hunni and I took a date night last night and saw the blind side and just enjoyed ourselves.  I’m thinking that we need another date night even if it is jus a movie marathon at home or something.
  • Plan workouts for the rest of December.  I started this but really need to finish it since the month is getting away from me and the days are getting busier.  Having a plan always leads to me doing it more likely than if I don’t have a plan.
  • Mini grocery shopping for staples.  I’ve been taking this eat what I have at home/grocery challenge almost too literally and haven’t spent much.  But I’m out of carrots, hummus and tortillas.  So I need to make a small list and go buy some stuff that we use almost daily.
  • Do Physical Therapy Exercises 2x.  I want to say 3x but I think that would be too ambitious for this week with final preparations for our Christmas distribution.  So I’ll say 2x and if I do three I’ll be super happy!
  • Yoga 2x at lunch.  I realize that yoga at lunch always made me feel good so I need to do it at least 2 times this week.  I won’t be able to do the 5 days a week I was used to but 2 times will help center me in the craziness.
  • Pre-journal lunches for this week.  I will be eating out most days this week for lunches so I need to point them out ahead so I don’t make bad last-minute decisions.
6 Comments leave one →
  1. 14/12/2009 9:11 PM

    I know about excuses and using them to not get things done. Like how I’m so busy I can’t exercise. Or how I need energy so I can’t be picky about what I eat. The list goes on and on and on. But now, I realized I was being silly. I could fit in exercise even 10 minutes of Yoga for a start. Or walking home instead of commuting. And I could eat always choose to eat healthy. No matter where I am or what I’m doing.

    -Denise

  2. 14/12/2009 9:42 PM

    Date nights are essential! 😀 Blind Side was SUCH a good movie!

  3. 14/12/2009 10:19 PM

    I love the idea of a Date Night. I think the keeping relationships alive like that are so important. Can’t wait to read all about it.

    • 14/12/2009 11:55 PM

      Aww thank Mish. It is so easy to get into boring routines because you are married. I love nights with just me and Hunni.

Leave a Reply

