Skip to content

Who Am I?

11/12/2009

I was reading Runner’s World on the treadmill yesterday and came across an interesting article in the Newbie Runners column.  The author was taking about the new roles he’s taken on since becoming a runner and I loved the idea.  So I thought I’d point out some new roles I’ve taken on since getting healthy.

I’m a Cheerleader–  Since I did it myself I believe anyone can get healthy and change their life.  Why not?  You are in control of what you do with your own body ad habits and you CAN do it.  I’m not all Rah, Rah, Rah or maybe I am :-).  I love empowering people to take control of their own life and health and do it for them.  Each of you readers needs to know that you are strong and powerful and can do anything!  Rah Rah, Sis boom Bah!

Food Critic–  I’m not all Toby Young from TOP CHEF.  I don’t think I’ve ever called something cooked for me “cat food” but I am pretty snobby about what I put in my mouth.  I am supersensitive to flavors now and love spices.  I guess because I’m watching what I eat I want it to be darn good if I’m going to eat it.  No point in wasting WW Points on crappy food.  I love food and want it to taste good.

Nutrition Info Sponge–  If I was going to do this Weight Loss/Healthy living thing right I had to know how to do it right.  So I subscribe to multiple fitness magazines, pick up the new healthy books at my favorite place Target (that’s one of the reasons why it takes me so long to shop there), google healthy facts and read the blogs.  Knowledge is power and I want to know it all to be really strong 🙂

Clothes Whore–  When you are a size 24 you don’t really like to go clothes shopping. Heck there are only 2 or 3 stores you can really shop in and besides I was always “losing weight” so I didn’t want to spend money on new clothes.  My mom about had a heart attack when I went shopping at Lane Bryant before my student teaching because I hated shopping.  I actually wore that same wardrobe for 3 years before I started losing weight for real.  Then there was no stopping me.  I was constantly coming home with new things and trying on new clothes to see what size I fit in.  I even bought cool style in a size smaller one season so I could wear them when I got to that size.  Now that I can shop in any store I want I do ….all the time!  I tend to be a workout clothes whore the most but I love to just look around the stores at least once a week.

Dear Abbey–  Several of my friends are super proud of me and my accomplishments and actually started asking me questions and for advice.  I have no idea what to say so I tend to just tell them what I did.  I’m not a professional…I just did it.  I tend to revert back to the Cheerleader in me and just let the know they can do it to if they want.  I’m happy to share my story but I don’t by any means have all the answers unlike Dear Miss Abbey 🙂

Athlete–  Who me…an athlete?  Apparently the girl who never aspired to play any sport and thought that football games merely existed so that I could play in the band at half time is now an athlete.  Yep I’ve had multiple people call me that and I always laugh it off.  But then I have to remind myself that even if I’m never going to be the fasted runner or the strongest weight lifter I do more in a day than most people and I enjoy it.  I like the challenge and push myself to be better at the sport I’m chosen.  So Gosh darn it I’m an athlete and love it!

Picky Eater–  As a kid I would eat anything…except maybe cauliflower which I still hate.  Come on they look like little bleached trees and smell, and no they are not a substitute for mashed potatoes.  But Now I’m pretty picky with what I eat.  Not only am I a food snob and want good food but I don’t eat certain things that I know just are not good for me.  But there is so much stuff that I do eat so I don’t really miss the stuff I don’t.

Substitute Cook–  I was never a substitute teacher but I’ve learned to a substitute when it comes cooking.  I love flavor in food so I learn to substitute lots of stuff.  Just because food is healthy doesn’t mean it can’t taste good.  Things like applesauce instead of oil or greek yogurt instead of sour cream are some of my favorites.

Penny Pincher–  Things like races and my clothes whoredom and healthy food addiction can get expensive if I were to let them.  So instead I choose to pinch pennies by bargain hunting.  Just because I like nice things doesn’t mean I have to break the bank. Heck I don’t have much in the bank so it wouldn’t take much to break it.  Being healthy doesn’t have to be expensive and I like it that way because it leaves more money for my Starbucks addiction 🙂



I kind of like these new roles and it make it easier keep it up.  They aren’t just roles I play they are part of me now since I’ve been doing this for so long.  I’m sure there are so many other roles I play but there are some of the most evident.


What roles do you take on in your healthy lifestyle?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/12/2009 9:25 AM

    Ha, I Love this! I’m all of these things, too 🙂

  2. 11/12/2009 2:50 PM

    That sounds like a very interesting article.

    • 11/12/2009 9:18 PM

      It is. It’s in the new edition of Runner’s World. You should check it out. So funny. I love that column because it speaks to the kind of runner that I am. 🙂

  3. 14/12/2009 2:28 AM

    Wow. I’m all those things too. Before, I was constantly sad, angry, hating the world, etc. All negative. Now that I’ve decided to have a lifestyle change, I have become a more positive person.

    -Denise

Trackbacks

  1. Beware of the Monkey! + Goals « It All Changes
  2. You’re Amazing « It All Changes

Leave a Reply

