Skip to content

Snow Day!!

10/12/2009

Like most of the rest of the country we got hit with the nasty awful snow storm.  I snuggled back under my covers for an extra hour because it was cold and windy so I didn’t get any pictures of the beautiful snow cover.  But I imagine it looked something like this…

Not my pic but I have the same view.

This time last year I was not allowed to do any sort of snow stuff since I was in a large back brace and using a cane.  Everyone was just worried about me falling with my unsteady walk and cane.  They actually suggested that I get one of these….

for my cane to help keep me from slipping and falling.  Needless to say this year is quite a bit different.  I actually got to help out with all the snow removal and I was stupidly excited.  I love unexpected or non-traditional exercises sometimes.  It helps me to keep up with being able to do every day stuff.



First Hunni suited up…

My orange snow man 🙂

He got this snow suit from my mom last year.  It had belonged to her husband and she found it in the basement.  Last year he would come in cold and wet every time it snowed.  This year he was so toasty he was dripping with sweat and had to remove layers before going back outside.  Kind of funny to watch him strip layers then put back on the big orange suit.  It was super warm…it will be good for sledding 🙂



I suited up in my boots I’ve had for ages, two pairs of pants, a hoodie, fleece and fleece mittens.  I was a bit over dressed and sweating really quickly.  I also wore my Heart Rate Monitor and back brace for giggles.  The back brace was just for support (I also wear it when running) and the Heart Rate Monitor was to see how much of a workout I would get….600+ calories to be exact.



I started working the snow blower which requires so muscles that I’m kind of I’ve worked on hard in the gym.

Perfect form

I did about half the driveway before the thing just quit on me.  It was overheated and out of gas because the snow was so wet and heavy.  Hunni and I took a break for some lunch.  I grilled a pork tenderloin I had defrosted for dinner and made some veggie couscous and then wrapped it all up in some whole wheat tortillas.  This was my portion…

Goodness wrapped in a tortilla.

Hunni had about 4 times that.  He was hungry from shoveling for almost 3 hours at that point.



I also had a tortilla with some almond butter and an apple to fuel my hunger from the snow blowing and in preparation for the shoveling.



Then Hunni and I headed back out to keep at it.  I shoveled both sets of stairs at the entrances to our building and then decided to take my shovel and go home (inside).  I was happy to get in some exercise and help Hunni but I didn’t want to overdo it with the shoveling and screw up my back.



I must have worked hard because this is what I looked like when I came back in.

So instead I played the good wife and got the dogs dressed for their walk and made us some hot drinks.  It was the least I could do for my snow man 🙂

Swiss Miss for him...Wild Raspberry for me.

I did some work before Hunni and I played the fun game of trying to get the van out of the driveway.  Yeah we rocked that thing back and forth for about 20 minutes…several inches forward… STUCK…. Back…. SLIDE… Forward…. Back…. Forward.  Then I finally got out of the driveway and went to run errands that we had waited all day for since we were stuck.



I got to test out my high-stepping while wading the snow drifts to get to the post office.  All those high steps that Boot Camp Steve has me do really paid off.  Then I ran some errands to the mechanic and getting some cheap but necessary groceries (I only spent $20 or so) before heading to Target.  I got some unexpected exercise there as well.  I had to pick up Ice Melt that Hunni didn’t think we would need despite the huge storm.  So I grabbed a cart and pushed this around for the entire time I was shopping.

I tend to do several laps of Target each time I’m there just looking for great deals.  I picked up some stuff we needed like dishwasher detergent and dog treats and several other things I wanted but didn’t need.  I ended up putting those back which required another lap or two to get them all back (I used to work retail so I try to help out by putting stuff back where it goes).  And then I got to do an awesome part of my job and shop for a Christmas present for one of the kids in our church.  Don’t worry I already bought all the others but I just hadn’t gotten around to this one and it was the last on my list.  I got some cute shirts and a stuffed dog for a great little girl.  Then I had to push the cart with my purchases out to the van through the semi plowed parking lot.  Come on Target I think I did a better job than you here.



I managed to hit the gym for some hip strengthening exercises tonight as well since I knew I needed to do them even if I did melt some calories with the snow removal.  And the goofiest thing is that I got some other little exercises in during the day too.  While standing in line at Starbucks waiting for a woman to ask about EVERY.SINGLE.MENU.ITEM I did some hip rotations and looked like I had to pee again.  And I did some hip stretches in the shower while I washed the shampoo out of my hair.  I’ve exercised in some strange places and have little to no time so why not.  You really just have to embrace exercise in whatever form it comes in.



Did you get hit by the storms?

What kind of unexpected exercises do you get in?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/12/2009 3:54 AM

    Look at you, you work out woman. That looks like it was a great workout. No snow here..just sunshine 🙂

    • 10/12/2009 3:18 PM

      Awww to live in the southern Hemisphere and go to the beach on Christmas 🙂

  2. 10/12/2009 6:25 AM

    Looks like you had a pretty busy day.

    Like you, I embrace exercise in whatever form it takes. And wherever it takes place. For example, I love to do the laundry by hand. My biceps and triceps get a really good workout from washing clothes. I also like gardening and cleaning the house. The thing I do a lot even when I’m in public is stretch. I can’t help but stretch.

    -Denise

  3. Erin permalink
    10/12/2009 10:25 AM

    Wow, we didn’t get nearly as much snow here closer to Boston as you did – but it was coated with loads of rain and HEAVY.

    We still had work, but looks like you had a very productive snow day ! Great job w/ all the exercise 🙂

Leave a Reply

