Skip to content

Don’t eat that!

09/12/2009

The snow has actually started falling around here with means Peanut and Leo are dressed to the nines in coats and boots and all.  Dressed like that they love to frolic and play.  Peanut rolls on her back and Leo likes to stick his nose in the snow and sniff all that’s buried underneath.  I’ll have to take my camera with me sometime but its a bit difficult walking two dogs with a camera…if I drop it they can sniff it out for me right? 🙂  I like to giggle at them when they look like they sniffed something “really good” and go off zigzagging and trying to drag me all over.  Must be some interesting smells.  And to make it even better Peanut likes to taste test the snow.  Yep she takes big mouthfuls of it and gets a brain freeze from the cold.  No matter how much I tell her not to eat it she does.  Didn’t anyone ever tell her not to eat the snow.  I’m afraid one day she’ll eat yellow snow and that would be gross.  Peanut has her own issues of trying to eat things that do a number on her insides.  Grass makes her puke,  she tried to steal an empty Dunkin Donuts bag and of course the snow. 



But for me there are things I really shouldn’t eat.  I’ve been intrigued by the Blog world to try some new stuff and quickly realized my insides do not like them.  I finally figured out how to make oatbran and made some for a nice quick-lunch yesterday since Tuesdays are my busiest day.  Uh oh my insides did not like that and quickly told me so.  Now I have a ton of Oat Bran left and I don’t know what to do with it.  I think I’ll attempt to make some muffins and give it one more shot.  I’ll have to test them on Hunni to see if his insides react the same.  If so I might be making a nice care package to my inspirations HEAB or Bran Appetit.  It was a nice idea to at least try it.  But my stomach never wants to see it again.



I also was reminded that sugar is not my friend.  I wanted some lemonade when we ate out the other day and the second I took a sip all I tasted was sugar.  I had two more sips and the reminded myself that I would regret it later.  I changed it for water but it was too late.  While we did our shopping my stomach started doing the all too familiar *squeeze* *squeeze* *flip* *flip*.  I spent the rest of the evening curled up on the couch with the pups and my snuggie trying not to swear at the lemonade.  I can’t believe I lived so long believing that I could just handle these symptoms so I could enjoy things like cookies and cake.  Good reminder that my life is much better with out them. 



And finally I am reminded that while I am not lactose intolerant I am definitely lactose sensitive.  That reminds me to walk a fine line between just enough dairy and too much.  I love yogurt and cheese but man it does not seem to love me all the time.  I don’t have any magic chart that tells me how much I can have but I do know that I need to be careful because the amount that was okay the day before may be too much for that day.  I have to limit my overnight oats and yogurt mess bowls because too many just make my tummy very unhappy.



Basically I wanted to point this out because just because something tastes good doesn’t mean it is good for you or good for you in large quantities.  You should enjoy food but also know what your body can handle.  Just because you can eat it doesn’t mean you should.  There are lots of things I’ve seen on the Food Network that look great but would do a number on me.  Just remember to enjoy food and take it in moderation.  Learn what your body can handle and in what quantities.  You should enjoy food and your body…not just the food. 🙂



Are there any foods you can’t eat?

9 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/12/2009 3:24 PM

    oh no! I hate when I find out something just doesn’t agree with me, but I think everyone has a few things that do that, you know?

    Figuring that out helps so much!

  2. 09/12/2009 8:48 PM

    I can’t eat a lot of things. I have found out recently that I can’t eat fiber ontop of dairy sugar gluten etc. I am getting over rebelling against my body because it’s just not worth it anymore. I am instead focusing on what I can eat instead of what I can’t. There’s a great sugar sub. called xylitol that doesn’t affect me..you should check it out.

    • 10/12/2009 2:55 AM

      That sounds good. I would love to find a sugar sub that doesn’t affect my system like splenda does.

  3. 09/12/2009 10:53 PM

    I really shouldn’t eat red bell peppers, but I still do! They really hurt my tummy 😦 I’ve also lost the taste over the years for really sweet stuff, things like marshmallow peeps.

    • 10/12/2009 2:54 AM

      I make exceptions for wedding cake even though I pay for it later. I have a wedding in March that I’m excited for.

  4. 10/12/2009 12:35 AM

    There are no foods that make me feel unwell, but I don’t like some foods (blue cheese, oysters).

  5. 10/12/2009 6:27 AM

    I’m a bit lactose sensitive. Well, I guess just the smell of milk. It makes me wanna puke. That’s why I stick to non-fat or skim milk. They don’t have that creamy taste.

    I can’t (or shouldn’t) eat food with any MSG or vetsin. Makes me all gassy. Somehow, I never learn.

    -Denise

Leave a Reply

